Philadelphia, PA 
Sedgley Woods Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #5
3 / 278ft.   3 / 241ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Piece of History

1    4/1/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded and technical 27 hole course in the middle of Philadelphia with three possible tee areas (red, yellow, blue) at each hole. Short, yet challenging layout which utilizes all available space. Baskets, though older, work well. All holes are numbered, and the well-worn paths between holes make navigation pretty easy. Primary tee pads made of rubber and of sufficient length. Very good use of elevation on numerous holes and occasionally tight fairways add to the challenge. Benches exist at most holes. A practice basket, porta potties and nice information board with lost disc slot are located at the main entrance to Fairmount Park.
Cons: To no one's surprise, graffitti and broken glass mark the course. Many holes play in tight quarters and errant discs from a nearby hole are not uncommon and require a "head's up". Secondary tee pads not in great shape, and colored stones designating all tee areas should be repainted and set in the ground. Can be very crowded at times. Will not appeal to the guy who wants to grip and rip all day.
Other Thoughts: I do not like the city, but I'm glad I played here. Built in 1977, Sedgley Woods is a piece of Disc Golf History and has withstood both time and advances in disc technology. It has a decidedly "city" feel, with railroad tracks, the crumbling foundation of a house and the occasional odd and colorful character on the premises. An old seat from a van sits at one tee, and even the tee signs- asymmetrical painted concrete slabs- perfectly capture the environment in which this course sits. With 3 tee off locations at each hole and safari holes at various tournaments, there is no shortage of playing options. The "fun factor" here is tremendous, and a large and loyal club supports and maintains the course. Any serious DG'er must make a visit to Sedgley!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Disc Golf

5+    3/17/2012   3/17/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 61  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are 27 holes and 3 sets of tees at each hole so you can play the holes differently each time. Nice Flypad Tee Pads at the longer tees. Good mixture of short and long holes, The back nine can be really challenging, which is a good thing in my book. There is a really cool scene at this course which makes it a lot of fun to be there
Cons: Sometimes the tee to the next hole is close to the basket for the hole before it, and some of the holes are right next to each other so occasionally there are distractions and stray throws coming your way, but other then that, this course is great. People complain that the holes are short, but the reason it is like that is because the first 18 remain relatively unchanged from 1977 when this course was made. This course is one of the oldest courses in America, and was put in when people played disc golf only with a Wham-O Frisbee. If you play the red tees it makes the course more challenging.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play disc golf in Philly and have an awesome time check Sedgley out

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sedgley Woods

1    3/12/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There's something to be said for having 27 holes of disc golf in Philly.
- Hard to lose a disc
- Atmosphere, It is always buzzing when the weather is near decent. I started playing alone, and by the 5th hole I had joined up with a couple of people and we played in a 4 some.
- Lots of options, 3 tee pads for each hole. each hole gives you a different line to hit so it tests your ability somewhat.
- If you want you can play the first 18 and not 19-27. I would actually suggest playing 19-27 if you don't want to play the full 18. It was less crowded when I went, a longer walk, but it was more challenging and more scenic at the same time.
- It's easily the best course within 30 miles of Philly... Maybe because it's the only course, but it is still nice regardless.
Cons: - Fairly short, I always like my courses to have one or two holes that you can open up and throw one hard, there wasn't that here. Each shot demanded finesse and line shaping (which isn't bad, but gets frustrating having to throw every other shot around a group of trees or over some bushes).
- There are a few challenging holes but for the most part everything should be a pretty routine 3 unless you grip lock one OB or clank and early tree.
- Absolutely packed, I went in February and there was a wait on every hole on the front 18 (but there are benches and seating all over the place). Not really for 19-27 when I went (will probably be different in the summer). One group actually let me play through which was nice.
-Sometimes there were guys just practice putting on the cages I was teeing off to but they just kinda stood there and watched as I threw and continued after I was done? never seen that before. Also I felt like I was going to hit someone with every shot. The holes are so tightly packed that tee boxes are close to each other and also awkwardly close to pins.
Other Thoughts: - I wouldn't bring your full tourney bag to this one. I did and dropped it off at the car after hole 9 (and played with 5 discs for the rest of it). It could easily be played with a mid or even a putter. I threw nothing faster than a teebird all day.
-A couple of homeless guys there (Not a con for me because I'm fairly used to it and it doesn't really bother me).
- Definitely a must play if your in the are, its a good course, very historic, and has good atmosphere, but I'd take my home course over this any day.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good for such an old course

1    2/21/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Great disc golf scene
-Can play the front 18 with just a mid
-Classic course, one of the oldest in the nation
-The back nine and so much better than the rest of the course
Cons: -The front 18 are very crowded. Tees and pins VERY close to each other.
-Can play the front 18 with just a mid
-Plenty of homeless just dicking around on the course, slowing up the flow of the groups playing
-The other courses close by suck so this is the best place to play in Philly and that is just sad
Other Thoughts: Play it once so you can say that you have, but it's not a challenging course.
I can't deal with having to wait to play 18 because 5 guys not even playing any other holes are just unloading there bags at the pin. Have some disc golf etiquette guys.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Course

1    7/10/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: rickerbocker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of narrow holes that will challenge your short and mid-range game. The change in elevation and creative use of the paths/woods made for a fun and interesting game. The multiple tees to throw from also lets you change up how you play the course.
Cons: Several holes (in the first 18 holes) seem to be very close to each each other and nearly overlap. An occasional, "Fore!" can be heard now and then. Some of the tees from hole 19-27 were pretty muddy when I went. Can be a bit crowded.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course, and its convenient for those in the Philadelphia area. I will try to visit this course more often; otherwise I have to travel a bit further towards Allentown or Tyler Park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 classic

5+    7/4/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: krauset2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great scene and atmosphere, beautiful course, lots of shot variety, well-maintained, great use of the available space, nice people, lots of benches and break areas on the course
Cons: gets a bit crowded on weekends, easy to lose a disc, some teepads are breaking down,
Other Thoughts: sedgley is a great place for a casual round with friends or for a serious game.

you will need every shot in your bag due to the awesome variety of holes. the front 18 are straight-up fun. the back 9 offer an additional challenge and completely make you forget you are in philly.

anyone i have encountered on and around the course has been friendly. as a new player, this is a great place to learn and appreciate the game.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Traveler

1    10/17/2009   4/24/2011
Review By: Alex Torres
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one of the oldest courses I have played, it is a great course. Great people, that help thought out the coures. The coures held many different tournaments open to all players. They even had venders at each tournament.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you ever get a chance to play in the city of Philly, you have to go this course, it will not let you down.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic inner-city course

5+    3/21/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: mstrjollo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only course near Philadelphia within 20 miles. 3 different T pads. 27 holes! Great wooded shots, requires supreme accuracy especially on the back back nine.
Amazing disc golf scene, comparable to the west coast. Always heads hanging around looking to join a group, and someone usually sells discs on weekends and after four during the week.
Cons: Holes on top of each other. No shots over 300 feet, maybe 2 or 3, but not by much. Crowded on weekends with beer drinking bafoons who don't respect the game.
Other Thoughts: My home course. Not necessarily my favorite, or most played, but it is where I am from and I know it backwards and forwards!
People put this course down far too often. The first 8 holes were some of the first this country ever saw. That is very much like the entire history of Philadelphia, not the best city, but the first at a lot of everything.
The back nine is a relatively new addition. Still is empty anytime I want the freedom to throw, so I love it. It has some tight long shots, not typical for this course. Check it out. FOur holes have been there for years, then two were added about 7 years back, and then the combined the 6 extra holes, threw in 3 awesome holes, and Sedgeley is a full 27 hole course. I love it!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Soggy Augie and his Soggy socks

5+    3/20/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *27 holes
*Great variation and creativity
*Friendly locals sellin discs
*Its a classic, the second oldest, Built in 1977 and rivals if not trumps Morley Field
*Good vibes, sick shots and multiple tee spots
*A great place to spend the whole day grillin, discin and relaxin
Cons: *Alot of people, but its ok cuz you can always hop on the back 9
*Wouldnt mid seeing some more mound holes
*That i dont live closer to Fairmount Park
Other Thoughts: The back 9 is a lot of fun and alot more empty in comparisson to the open field starting on hole #1. Despite the occasional back up on the tees this course manages to use elevation, trees and other obstacles that most popel would be suprised to find in Philly. Deff a better course than Tyler State Park and alot more clever, classic course designing. You cant beat a classic! I played it for a week straight every day while visitng my friend, so i think that says something.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Home Sweet Home

5+    10/21/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: Djmutiny
Played: 38  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where do I start? This is my home course. I play an average of WAY too many rounds here a week (10+.) What this course lacks in legth, it makes up for in character (and characters.) With 3 tee positions on almost every hole, you really can play almost any layout you like and with any skill level. The front 18 were installed in 1977 and remain largely unchanged. 19-27 were installed in 2005 or so and are definitely more challenging. The course club, FSW, and volunteers do ALL of the maintenance at the course. Almost all improvements are paid for out of money generated by tag sales and disc sales proceeds. I have never played anywhere else that has even close to the camraderie of this course and these golfers. It should be a must play for anyone who is able. I recommend Thursday doubles as a great way to see what this course and these golfers are all about.
Cons: Short, but a result of a design when wham-o was the primary disc manufacturer.

Crowded - Philly needs another course!
Other Thoughts: There is a new long teepad on 22! Hopefully we'll be putting in new long pads on 23 and 24 soon!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.