Philadelphia, PA
Sedgley Woods Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #3
3 / 190ft.   3 / 192ft.   3 / 174ft.   3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Review after 3 months of playing here.

5+    8/21/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: jparent
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think one of the pros here is the amount of people that play on this course. There are always people by the basket of 18 often willing to play a few rounds with you (if you come solo). There are 3 different tees and one pin placement per hole. The course doesn't seem to favor RHBH or LHBH, there are clear distinct flight paths for all different throwers. The course was originally designed for big lids so the front 18 may seem short if played from the blue tees. The red tees may only be 10-15 feet further back from the blue tees but they can be extremely more difficult because of the new lines and angles. Without a doubt this course is worth it just because of the people that play here. There are tag rounds 3 times per week (Thursday 5 hours before sunset, Sat 12pm, Sun 11am, with 2$ doubles to follow). The course is very clean, and with the addition of holes 19-27 can really add a challenge to your round. The monthly tournaments are also fun, as you can't complain about 7$ entry for a chance to win some prizes and CTP's. The course is dog friendly and beginner friendly. There are usually people by the entrance of the course with a few boxes of discs for sale or to answer your questions. There are two practice baskets by the parking lot. Very dog friendly.
Cons: For the most part the front 18 are easy par 3's. You can pretty much always salvage a 3 out of any drive. One of my cons is that there isn't any public water fountains. The closest place to get drinks is about a half a block away at a ball golf driving range, or 1.5 blocks at a water ice stand. Some people may not like the amount of people or how close the tee pads are from the previous holes pin. The porta potties smell like .... crap, and they are right by the parking lot (they do have a ladies only porta potty though).
Other Thoughts: The front 18 can be played with mostly mid ranges and putters. There are rarely any chances to air out a big driver. This can be a good thing as it gives you a chance to get a lot of practice out of your short game. There seems to also be a lot of distractions while on the course since the fairways loop back and forth. Listen, if you haven't played Sedgley I would highly recommend it, especially if you are a new player. The course pros are extremely helpful and without a doubt have increased my skill exponentially over the past few months. I'll add more to the review when I think of it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Second Oldest Course

2-4    7/29/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I finally got to play this course all the way through for the first time. Every time I was in the Philly area, it was to cold to play. There are 27 holes of pure Disc Golf pleasure. There is a nice kiosk and a lost and found disc drop box near hole #1. There is also three practice baskets to warm up with before your round. The are three different tee positions to choose from blue, yellow, and red. The front eighteen is mostly wooded and short with very tight fairways and the outback is more open with some nice longer holes and a few dogleg left and right shots. The are a few chances of some Ace shots on a few holes on the front eighteen. The locals seem to be very friendly here and will help direct you around the course, even though there are maps available at the kiosk. There are rubber fly tee pads on most holes which has decent grip and the baskets are in good shape. They have weekly events throughout the year here if you want to get in on the tag leagues.
Cons: I heard it can get really packed throughout the week so it is best to play early if you can because it can get really crowded. The navigation of the course can be a little tricky, so watch your signs as they will direct you to the next tee. The outback does not have any tee signs so watch for the hole numbers that are placed on some trees. Some holes don't have flypads and are just regular dirt tees. There should be some more trash cans throughout the course. I only seen a few at the beginning of the course.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes on the front eighteen are really short because the course was designed for the regular frisbees. this is supposed to be one of the first disc golf courses ever installed on the Eastcoast and has a unique feeling when playing here, If you are in the Philly area, you should try to make some time to stop by and check it out. You should not be dissapointed.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 an awsome technical old course

2-4    7/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: an awsome course with lots of diffrent shots and diffrent tee pads for diffrent skill levels they even have a lost and found for discs there they are very trustworthy people there the first 18 is an easy walk then 19-27 is sort of a work out most of the holes are short with yellow and blue tee pads u can get them with your putter and midranges but u will have to be very accurate the red tees are even more tight and even further it is very challenging course
Cons: theree are some very high bushes and thorn bushes that occur on 3 and 4 it will be very hard to find luckily i found mine but some1 told me there was poison ivy
Other Thoughts: definatley play with the locals there they are the only one's who sales disc anywhere around there and they have doubles there tuesday thursday im not sure what time but when u go there u will meet one of them at least they are all very freindly

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sedgley

1    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Doctor Whoov
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is my favorite type of course. Lots of up and down but not rediculously long. There are quite a few aceable holes here. It was pouring rain but there is plenty of tree cover so it doesn't get too bad. Did sit in the car a bit between the front and back nine. We didn't get to play the back back nine so next time there will still be some new turns.
Cons: A tight, crowded course. If you have a big arm and can't turn it down then you will have problems overthrowing the pin.
Other Thoughts: As far as the previous comment about the rudeness of the local players, I didn't see that. They were playing tags when we got there and were nothing but helpful. Guy selling discs too in case your bag feels a little light.
What else can be said about Sedgely Woods. It's one of the first courses that there was. Go play a piece of history!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Different DG Experience

1    3/11/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having a course (the only course) so close to Center City is a big plus. Philly traffic is usually a CF, but getting to Sedgley Woods is actually very easy and straight-forward. Despite the urban location, the course is tucked into Fairmount Park and is a green gem in a concrete jungle. Although there are plenty of trees and other vegetation, there is little to no undergrowth on the course itself. This makes an already small course seem much bigger.

Without a doubt, the local players keep this course relevant. Examples include the fact that the course was very clean with little litter, a lost disc drop box, a well-maintained course, and baskets that are in great shape. I believe that none of which would be possible without the folks that play Sedgley Woods frequently. Further, each group I encountered was extremely chill and friendly. This includes Kwick, one of the Sedgley Woods course guides, who did a great job of providing a background on the course and the local DG scene.

Three different tee pads (most of which are also in great shape, BTW) allow for a variety of different course layouts and levels of difficulty. Surprisingly, there are several different holes that have interesting elevation changes.

Overall, the signs were complete and helpful. For those that were visible, each tee was clearly indicated as was the distance, basket, and next tee.

Oh, and did I mention 27 holes? Yeah, a 27-hole course in a city setting. Holes 19-27 are newer, have a slightly different feel, and are a bit longer than the original 18.

Throughout the entire course there were several technically challenging holes that pushed drive/approach placement.

Despite a 27-hole layout, the course plays very very quickly. If I recall correctly, the first 27-hole round took around 75 minutes with two players.

Two practice baskets make warming up easy by allowing players to putt between the two.
Cons: This course was originally designed and installed well over 30 years ago. When you read most of my cons take into consideration the fact that there has been a lot of change in the past 3 decades.

Most of the holes (at least in the shortest position) were very short and birdie-worthy. But before I can completely slam the hole lengths, I remind myself that certain discs that were considered to be distance drivers 5-10 years ago have scaled down to fairway drivers and numerous are now considered to be mid-ranges. The short layout of the holes isn't a function of poor design, but of the technology that was available at the time the course was originally installed.

Although much criticism for the course length can be discounted, I do have some concerns with the way in which some holes are laid out on top of other holes. I frequently found myself on my toes looking around to see whether discs were flying in my direction or to make sure that I don't drill someone else on a nearby hole. I can see some potential safety issues with how the holes bleed into each other.

Without a guide, and despite the signs at most tees, it might be easy to get turned around. It could be easy to drive or putt toward the wrong basket.

While being the one and only course in Philly is a bonus for the Philly folks, in good weather I can see this course getting fairly crowded.
Other Thoughts: I've dinged other courses for short holes and layout issues, but, in general, Sedgley Woods gets a pass on these issues because of the pioneering spirit that went into the original course creation over 30 years ago.

I enjoyed the course because it focuses on the shorter portions of the game (as opposed to just uncorking discs) and forces you to fine tune the approach aspects that are crucial to all courses.

I will play this course again. If you're in the Philly area, I'd recommend giving Sedgley Woods a try and get a taste of early disc golf history.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 A good time

1    2/21/2010   2/26/2010
Review By: discchris
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A good course with alot of different shots involved 27 holes and in good condition
Cons: couldnt play hole 9 because the club was camped in front of the basket try not to play there when there present unless you are a part of the club other clubs will ask you to play or at least move for you and they were a little rude to tell me i needed to clear out for the tournament what is up with that?
Other Thoughts: The club players not all of them but the rude ones should help support the sport not want to run people off ive played alot of places and will say this club didnt give me a good first inpression

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 First East Coast Pole Course

5+    1/7/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Disc Golf club
27 holes with 3 tee pads per hole (blue, yellow, red)
League "Tag Challenge" 3 days a week
Thursday doubles all year
Maintained year round
many tournaments randing form competetive to casual
Locked Lost and Found for discs, that most members utilize
Discs for sale often times during Tag Rounds
Baskets are in great shape and catch well
Cons: The course is a little overcrowded. It was built in the '70s and todays plastic makes this course generally short and a little on top of eachother.
Some of the signs are old and could use updating (1-18) and signs have not been put in for 19-27, although the course is relatlively easy to follow.
I do enjoy courses that water comes into play, and this has none.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course located in Philadelphia, yet does not feel like it is in a city at all.
This course is beginner friendly as many of the holes are short (175-230 range) from Blue and the atmosphere is about having a good time. The people here play all year in all weather and are more than happy to lend a hand or advice to a new player.

This course is mainly set in the woods, so accuracy is much more important than power. An advanced AM can play the majority of the course with Mids with many drives under 250 ft. While it is set in the woods, there are several lines to every pin which makes the course fair. There are many birdie opps, but bad shots while be punished. Many times you can still recover for a par, but you will need to play smart to score well.
With so much play and maintanence, the course is very well groomed. The club does an excellent job of fighting back brush, poison ivy, etc.
The tee pads are mostly rubber fly pads and natural/gravel.
Several benches allow players to relax, taking a break if they would like.
There is a great variety of shots that are required. Anny/Hyzer, tommys, and elevation changes. Some holes have anny and hyzer lines giving you many options, especially if you want to practice different shots to improve your game.

Stop by for $2 doubles on thursday for a great time and way to learn the course.
There is also a "bush league" for women.


13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Slice of History

5+    9/20/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 35.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sedgley...what can be said about this place that hasn't already been said dozens of times. I used to drive 50+ miles nearly every day to play it back in the early 80's.
The locals are the best anywhere. They love their course, and keep it maintained beautifully, especially considering where it is. Back in the day, it was quite common to find the place littered with crack vials, hypodermic syringes, live ammo, dead dogs, and on at least one occasion a crashed car. Part of it's charm, really.
Those days are gone--the place is, if not immaculate, darn close. Gone are the prostitutes who used to stroll up and down the sidewalk abutting holes 1 & 2, some of whom weighed as much as a small car. The place is pretty safe.
The course itself is fun, varied, and can be had if your game is on. Local knowledge is a huge plus. You don't need a huge arm to score, and most holes are not too tight, after you've played a few rounds. The place grows on you, and you need multiple rounds here to really get the feel. I once played 12 rounds in a day, but the course was shorter back then, and I was much younger.
I believe every disc golfer should make at least one pilgrimage to this holy place, if for no other reason than to pay homage to a course that has stood the test of time proudly, despite monumental hardships.
Cons: Lock your car. It's still a rough neighborhood. Some of the holes are close together, but it's not the big deal others seem to think it is. Just be aware.
Unfortunately, the most beautiful hole there, #13, has been allowed to become overgrown, turning what used to be one of the most classic ace runs in the world into a huck-and-pray. Ten minutes with a chain saw could return this hole to its former glory.
Wear socks you don't care about. Fine black dirt will work its way through your shoes- I think its car exhaust residue.
Other Thoughts: I love Sedgley. I will always love it. Give it a shot and you will too.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  fun

1    10/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: rbtrizzle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: established in 1970 this course has acool atmosphere and greatr people. This is only 5 minuts from inner city philidelphia. alot of ace runs here
Cons: a little scrunched up but not to bad
Other Thoughts: definetley a must play if you are in the Phili area!!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bump for Action

1    5/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Bradshaw
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: $8 cab fare from downtown Philly. Beginner friendly. Don't need many discs to play it (a putter, midrange, over-stable driver for thumbers and tomahawks and a neutral driver for the NEW 9.) Birdies all over the place. But most of all a hell of a disc golf community.
Cons: Short. No food or stores in immediate area (so pack your drinks and food before you leave the city).
Other Thoughts: The new 9 (holes 19-27) is much longer and diverse. The property and walk is very nice. If you are a player and are in Philly, you have to get out for doubles on Thursday. A and B players are paired together encouraging all skill levels.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.