Philadelphia, PA 
Sedgley Woods Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #12
3 / 356ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 First East Coast Pole Course

5+    1/7/2010   1/8/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.8 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Disc Golf club
27 holes with 3 tee pads per hole (blue, yellow, red)
League "Tag Challenge" 3 days a week
Thursday doubles all year
Maintained year round
many tournaments randing form competetive to casual
Locked Lost and Found for discs, that most members utilize
Discs for sale often times during Tag Rounds
Baskets are in great shape and catch well
Cons: The course is a little overcrowded. It was built in the '70s and todays plastic makes this course generally short and a little on top of eachother.
Some of the signs are old and could use updating (1-18) and signs have not been put in for 19-27, although the course is relatlively easy to follow.
I do enjoy courses that water comes into play, and this has none.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course located in Philadelphia, yet does not feel like it is in a city at all.
This course is beginner friendly as many of the holes are short (175-230 range) from Blue and the atmosphere is about having a good time. The people here play all year in all weather and are more than happy to lend a hand or advice to a new player.

This course is mainly set in the woods, so accuracy is much more important than power. An advanced AM can play the majority of the course with Mids with many drives under 250 ft. While it is set in the woods, there are several lines to every pin which makes the course fair. There are many birdie opps, but bad shots while be punished. Many times you can still recover for a par, but you will need to play smart to score well.
With so much play and maintanence, the course is very well groomed. The club does an excellent job of fighting back brush, poison ivy, etc.
The tee pads are mostly rubber fly pads and natural/gravel.
Several benches allow players to relax, taking a break if they would like.
There is a great variety of shots that are required. Anny/Hyzer, tommys, and elevation changes. Some holes have anny and hyzer lines giving you many options, especially if you want to practice different shots to improve your game.

Stop by for $2 doubles on thursday for a great time and way to learn the course.
There is also a "bush league" for women.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Slice of History

5+    9/20/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 37.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sedgley...what can be said about this place that hasn't already been said dozens of times. I used to drive 50+ miles nearly every day to play it back in the early 80's.
The locals are the best anywhere. They love their course, and keep it maintained beautifully, especially considering where it is. Back in the day, it was quite common to find the place littered with crack vials, hypodermic syringes, live ammo, dead dogs, and on at least one occasion a crashed car. Part of it's charm, really.
Those days are gone--the place is, if not immaculate, darn close. Gone are the prostitutes who used to stroll up and down the sidewalk abutting holes 1 & 2, some of whom weighed as much as a small car. The place is pretty safe.
The course itself is fun, varied, and can be had if your game is on. Local knowledge is a huge plus. You don't need a huge arm to score, and most holes are not too tight, after you've played a few rounds. The place grows on you, and you need multiple rounds here to really get the feel. I once played 12 rounds in a day, but the course was shorter back then, and I was much younger.
I believe every disc golfer should make at least one pilgrimage to this holy place, if for no other reason than to pay homage to a course that has stood the test of time proudly, despite monumental hardships.
Cons: Lock your car. It's still a rough neighborhood. Some of the holes are close together, but it's not the big deal others seem to think it is. Just be aware.
Unfortunately, the most beautiful hole there, #13, has been allowed to become overgrown, turning what used to be one of the most classic ace runs in the world into a huck-and-pray. Ten minutes with a chain saw could return this hole to its former glory.
Wear socks you don't care about. Fine black dirt will work its way through your shoes- I think its car exhaust residue.
Other Thoughts: I love Sedgley. I will always love it. Give it a shot and you will too.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    10/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: rbtrizzle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: established in 1970 this course has acool atmosphere and greatr people. This is only 5 minuts from inner city philidelphia. alot of ace runs here
Cons: a little scrunched up but not to bad
Other Thoughts: definetley a must play if you are in the Phili area!!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bump for Action

1    5/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Bradshaw
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: $8 cab fare from downtown Philly. Beginner friendly. Don't need many discs to play it (a putter, midrange, over-stable driver for thumbers and tomahawks and a neutral driver for the NEW 9.) Birdies all over the place. But most of all a hell of a disc golf community.
Cons: Short. No food or stores in immediate area (so pack your drinks and food before you leave the city).
Other Thoughts: The new 9 (holes 19-27) is much longer and diverse. The property and walk is very nice. If you are a player and are in Philly, you have to get out for doubles on Thursday. A and B players are paired together encouraging all skill levels.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Dr.awesome
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course was awesome, so worth the trip!!!!!
the park has maximized the very little space it has to make an outstanding disc golf course. Park goers are not anywhere near you. Holes are well marked and each and every one is unique and memorable making for such a high rating. It is a challenge to play through this course even on par, let alone under. Great teepads that are easy to find. There is an area for lost/forgotten disc at park entrance. Great course!!!!
Cons: Very crowded, even in the frigid weather of PA. Holes can be very short.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great city course

5+    4/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging play that requires enough finesse to keep longtime players interested, but easy enough to attract new players. 27 pins, with 3 alternate tees on nearly every hole. Very convenient for city dwellers and visitors. Friendly, very active club which makes for a well maintained and safe course.
Cons: Entire course is relatively short and tight, so very few opportunities to really air it out with your drivers. Can be very crowded on weekends. Sedgley Woods is a part of sprawling Fairmount Park- the course is in one of the rougher neighborhoods that Fairmount touches.
Other Thoughts: Sedgley was my home course for 8 years. The more I played it the more I loved it. It is an excellent example of the value that an active and devoted local club can add to any community. Check it out if you are in town- it makes for a quick, challenging, and fun round of disc any time of year.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    4/18/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course while visiting Philadelphia for the weekend, and it was perfect. It's in the city, which made it really convenient to get in a round. It doesn't feel like a city course, though - it is very nicely secluded. I really liked the hole variety here - there's a little bit of everything: varied terrain, varied distance, varied pars, and 3 tees per hole. Signs (except for the back 9) on every hole made it easy to find the basket (at times there are several in sight). Not to mention that there are 27 holes here, which ought to keep you occupied for a while. This course makes an excellent use of space, and while it isn't the longest, there are opportunities to throw just about any type of shot.
Cons: Fairways are all pretty close together. I had read that I would need to be careful here, but it wasn't much of a problem. It was pretty crowded (to be expected on a weekend), but the locals were friendly and everyone seemed pretty alert about people playing around them. Traffic getting to the park was a little rough, but I had to contend with Saturday zoo traffic - if I knew my way around there area it seems like it wouldn't be so bad.
Other Thoughts: I'm really glad I was able to make it out to Sedgley. I was impressed with the course design, and I was surprised to find it in such good condition after reading about how old it is. I definitely plan to make it back here the next time that I am in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, yet challenging course for all levels

1    3/10/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: LeftyToss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lack of length is compesated nicely with plenty of trees. No real straight shots from tee to basket. 3 sets of tees allows fun course for beginners, yet a challenge for more advanced players. Newer set of 9 holes is longer, yet a little more open which gives a good variety to the course. Every hole on original 18 has nice signs mapping out the hole. Good variety in the terrain. 3 practice baskets are nice and keep people from practicing on the actual course.
Cons: Tees range from dirt to pads. "new" 9 is quite an adventure through the woods (long walks from basket to next tee). Some areas that can easily be in play a little too overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. You really don't realize you're in the city at all. The course locals are all very nice and always willing to answer your questions or give you a pointer or 2. They have scorecards and maps at the first tee!!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Palestra of Disc Golf

1    1/21/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2009
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The city of brotherly love...astoshingly friendly locals. The History here is unparalleled on the East Coast. First Pole Hole Course on East Coast Established in '77' the course has a rich tradition that gives it an almost shrine like feel. Where else can you play around an abandoned colonial era house that was the home of Ben Franklin's daugher. I could see Ben playing Disc Golf. The course is very old school. I was tempted to get my lid out and show my age. A tribute to a fallen DGer on hole #23, a nice touch....Got that before you step on the course there is an ambience here that is different...Now the course itself, It is very underrated I think. It is a very fun technical course. You will play plenty of old growth trees, up and down hills, over deep gorges, course is short but every hole will challenge your game. hard to explain but this course has a lot of exceptional features: tight lanes, fast greens, 2 or more options on your drives, trouble early, trouble late, multiple tees with permanent basket locations Amen! Often the tees are spoked off of different fairways and make the hole a completely different shot and experience...Great baskets all the tees are in good shape. Parking, Potties and Kiosk. Solely a disc golf dedicated area of Historic Park. Surprisingly Clean for a Philly Park. Informative tee signs. This course offers 27 holes in 3 configurations so there are 81 options off the tee. Good Times! The best course I have ever played as far as having to be creative. Reminds me of growing up and playing safari with my brother in the early 80s. The perfect place to introduce someone to the game and to hone your approach and putt game. Amazing view from the benches on hole #24. This is the ideal piece of property for disc golf. Course has 3 loops that end each time back at your car. The newer outback nine offer a less crowded more rugged and quite interesting experience.
Cons: It is short. There are no wide open chances to really grip and rip. Thankfully the local players are friendly because the stories of people being hit by discs here are unmatched any place in America. I heard a tale of a guy who got spiked by a driver...5 stitches! I guess the old lids never did that damage. Everyone seems to have a story of being thwacked or thwacking someone! Course is 32 yrs old and the growing pains are evident. The tees are usually just a few feet from the prior basket. Course is very cramped along the first 9 holes. It never criss crosses but fairways face each other and play is just too close to tee pads and other players. I played on a 10 degree day in the middle of January. I cannot imagine this play in spring/summer/fall when the crowds swell to close to a hundred or more. A very long walk from #24 to #25. The traffic to and from can be rough and the neighborhood just outside the park is true North Philly smart and don't come here alone if you can manage it. No water available, bring your own don't wanna be driving in North Philly as an outsider looking for gatorade after a round! Always seems to be friendly DGers in park though.
Other Thoughts: Despite the grievances and the typical urban problems outside the park this course is a must play I think. The tightness reminded me of Fenway the game has evolved beyond the course/ but the nuances and tradition still keep it relevant. It is close enough to east-west76 or north-south 95 interstates that I would recommend stopping by and playing it. The added outback nine has raised my score for this course and the fact that if I want to I can play all longer holes due to longer tees. It is not a world class course but it is a very fun slice of history to play. The course is underrated IMO. If you like finesse and old school golf this is paradise.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/23/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sedgley Woods is a very short but fun course. The course is well maintained and kept very clean. The first 18 holes all have signs and are very easy to follow. Each hole offers 3 different tee pads for varying degrees of difficulty. Although the course was short, it did offer a good variation of elevation. The course also makes good use of vegetation and trees to add difficulty to the short holes. Most of the holes are relatively open but a few are heavily wooded.
Cons: The course is not only short but it is tightly packed ... very tightly packed. I played in the morning when the course was pretty empty, but I would never play the course when it was crowded. On one of the holes the basket for the previous hole was literally ten feet away from the tee pad.
The tee pads were different on every hole ... they include dirt, gravel and rubber. I would have preferred to have one tee pad type.
Philadelphia traffic can be an absolute bear ... so be prepared for some delays.
Holes 19-27 can be difficult to find and follow.
Other Thoughts: I met a few local guys playing the course ... they were incredibly nice and the Sedgley mini they gave met was awesome. Although the park is in Philly, the area of town isn't too bad. It is minutes away from the Philadelphia Museum of Art ... but as anywhere in Philly be street smart.
Overall a decent course. I really enjoyed playing Sedgley, but I wouldnt go out of your way to play it

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.