Philadelphia, PA 
Sedgley Woods Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #1
3 / 313ft.   3 / 201ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Blue Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Fun, yet challenging course for all levels

1    3/10/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: LeftyToss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lack of length is compesated nicely with plenty of trees. No real straight shots from tee to basket. 3 sets of tees allows fun course for beginners, yet a challenge for more advanced players. Newer set of 9 holes is longer, yet a little more open which gives a good variety to the course. Every hole on original 18 has nice signs mapping out the hole. Good variety in the terrain. 3 practice baskets are nice and keep people from practicing on the actual course.
Cons: Tees range from dirt to pads. "new" 9 is quite an adventure through the woods (long walks from basket to next tee). Some areas that can easily be in play a little too overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. You really don't realize you're in the city at all. The course locals are all very nice and always willing to answer your questions or give you a pointer or 2. They have scorecards and maps at the first tee!!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Palestra of Disc Golf

1    1/21/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2009
25 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The city of brotherly love...astoshingly friendly locals. The History here is unparalleled on the East Coast. First Pole Hole Course on East Coast Established in '77' the course has a rich tradition that gives it an almost shrine like feel. Where else can you play around an abandoned colonial era house that was the home of Ben Franklin's daugher. I could see Ben playing Disc Golf. The course is very old school. I was tempted to get my lid out and show my age. A tribute to a fallen DGer on hole #23, a nice touch....Got that before you step on the course there is an ambience here that is different...Now the course itself, It is very underrated I think. It is a very fun technical course. You will play plenty of old growth trees, up and down hills, over deep gorges, course is short but every hole will challenge your game. hard to explain but this course has a lot of exceptional features: tight lanes, fast greens, 2 or more options on your drives, trouble early, trouble late, multiple tees with permanent basket locations Amen! Often the tees are spoked off of different fairways and make the hole a completely different shot and experience...Great baskets all the tees are in good shape. Parking, Potties and Kiosk. Solely a disc golf dedicated area of Historic Park. Surprisingly Clean for a Philly Park. Informative tee signs. This course offers 27 holes in 3 configurations so there are 81 options off the tee. Good Times! The best course I have ever played as far as having to be creative. Reminds me of growing up and playing safari with my brother in the early 80s. The perfect place to introduce someone to the game and to hone your approach and putt game. Amazing view from the benches on hole #24. This is the ideal piece of property for disc golf. Course has 3 loops that end each time back at your car. The newer outback nine offer a less crowded more rugged and quite interesting experience.
Cons: It is short. There are no wide open chances to really grip and rip. Thankfully the local players are friendly because the stories of people being hit by discs here are unmatched any place in America. I heard a tale of a guy who got spiked by a driver...5 stitches! I guess the old lids never did that damage. Everyone seems to have a story of being thwacked or thwacking someone! Course is 32 yrs old and the growing pains are evident. The tees are usually just a few feet from the prior basket. Course is very cramped along the first 9 holes. It never criss crosses but fairways face each other and play is just too close to tee pads and other players. I played on a 10 degree day in the middle of January. I cannot imagine this play in spring/summer/fall when the crowds swell to close to a hundred or more. A very long walk from #24 to #25. The traffic to and from can be rough and the neighborhood just outside the park is true North Philly Ghetto...be smart and don't come here alone if you can manage it. No water available, bring your own drinks...you don't wanna be driving in North Philly as an outsider looking for gatorade after a round! Always seems to be friendly DGers in park though.
Other Thoughts: Despite the grievances and the typical urban problems outside the park this course is a must play I think. The tightness reminded me of Fenway Park...like the game has evolved beyond the course/ but the nuances and tradition still keep it relevant. It is close enough to east-west76 or north-south 95 interstates that I would recommend stopping by and playing it. The added outback nine has raised my score for this course and the fact that if I want to I can play all longer holes due to longer tees. It is not a world class course but it is a very fun slice of history to play. The course is underrated IMO. If you like finesse and old school golf this is paradise.

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/23/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sedgley Woods is a very short but fun course. The course is well maintained and kept very clean. The first 18 holes all have signs and are very easy to follow. Each hole offers 3 different tee pads for varying degrees of difficulty. Although the course was short, it did offer a good variation of elevation. The course also makes good use of vegetation and trees to add difficulty to the short holes. Most of the holes are relatively open but a few are heavily wooded.
Cons: The course is not only short but it is tightly packed ... very tightly packed. I played in the morning when the course was pretty empty, but I would never play the course when it was crowded. On one of the holes the basket for the previous hole was literally ten feet away from the tee pad.
The tee pads were different on every hole ... they include dirt, gravel and rubber. I would have preferred to have one tee pad type.
Philadelphia traffic can be an absolute bear ... so be prepared for some delays.
Holes 19-27 can be difficult to find and follow.
Other Thoughts: I met a few local guys playing the course ... they were incredibly nice and the Sedgley mini they gave met was awesome. Although the park is in Philly, the area of town isn't too bad. It is minutes away from the Philadelphia Museum of Art ... but as anywhere in Philly be street smart.
Overall a decent course. I really enjoyed playing Sedgley, but I wouldnt go out of your way to play it

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Nice piece of history!

1    10/20/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course had lots of natural obstacles making you throw hyzers, anhyzers, tomahawks, and other throws that you may not need to use on other courses that are flat. People in the area seemed very nice (even helped me further develop my tomahawk throw). Clean and well maintained. Good mix of different hole types. Multiple tees make for people of varing degrees to have fun. Lots of activities at the park most of the week.
Cons: Holes are a little too close to each other so you may get hit or hit someone by accident. Back-back 9 are not marked yet.
Other Thoughts: I only got to play the front 18 because I couldn't get a guide and wasn't going to try it my self with no tee signs. This park has alot of history and should be on anyones list of places to play. I plan on tring to get back as soon as I can.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown

5+    5/18/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 281  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short, challenging shots with many obstacles, uphill, down and across small valleys. Many aceables, from the shorts and 3 tees to each pin. Sedgley will make you work your accuracy much more than your distance, but remains very beginner friendly as there is only maybe one hole, 8, on the front 18 that could be considered a kind of tunnel. The front 18 also gives throwing lane options. A majority of the holes have more than one lane to the basket, providing some descent decision making and an very 'lefty/righty' friendly course. The back back 9 plays longer, provides additional challenge, especially from the reds, and gives you the feeling of being out at a park in the country instead of next to a major city. Holes 19 and 24 sport greatly elevated pins and hole 20 is a great, tight tunnel shot from the red/yellow that will put you at a nice landing zone for you up shot. Thanks to a dedicated local club the course is continually improving. Rubber pads are slowly being integrated on the poorer natural tees, walkways built over muddy areas, and stairs on the steeper climbs. The back back 9 is also becoming easier to navigate. The addition of signs and the wearing down of trails is making it easy to figure which way to go.
This is also one of only two courses I've played that has duel practice baskets to back and forth at. A nice real feature and I'll never understand why most people throw at basket 18 for putt practice.
Cons: Many of the first 18 holes run right next to each other so watch for errant discs (I've hit players twice and narrowly avoided being hit several times) The course can get crowded on most days. Also, back back 9 (19-27) are hard to navigate the first time without someone showing you the way, but is steadily becoming easier to figure out, though, still no tee signs on 19-27.
Other Thoughts: Find an alternate route besides I 76, its easy to get to from the art museum area. The park and surrounding area is not as dangerous as its sometimes made out to be- I lived in the area for years and played the course by myself dozens of times.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of History in this park for Disc Golf. Trees and semi-open holes. (bad part of town, so be careful) Hard to find your way around the first time through. All around good course. (oldest permanent polehole course that still exists) Good use of the land available. Always people around. Holes can be kind of close to each other so watch out for errant throws. Everyone should play this course once, just for the history.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My local course

5+    11/3/2007   11/12/2007
Review By: Godard
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short lengths perfect for beginners. Many elevation changes, obstacles, left & right doglegs. Hardy locals are always a good time.
Cons: Poor teebox conditions. Crowded. Signage is rarely accurate, and there is no signage for the 3rd 9 (play with a guide).

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 27 Mach 3 baskets

1    3/3/2009   8/28/2007
Review By: discNDav
Played: 332  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 30.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2012
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 holels...lots of league play on Thurs, Sat & Sunday...discs for sale usually during these times...friendly local golfers...historic old course..plenty of league competition can be found here...mostly shaded in the hot summer times...being the 1st course on the east course it is historic like the rest of Philadelphia...scorecards with a map generally available at the kiosk
Cons: crowded course since it is the only one in the Philly proper...short course...lots of trees...outback 19-27 has no tee signs yet, but directional arrows pointing you along the right way.

Other Thoughts: just minutes from the Philly Art Museum...if just visiting, drop the family off and come play disc golf.

http://sedgleywoods.com

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Look out!

2-4    4/29/2007   6/4/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 91  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2010
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 27 holes with baskets in fair shape. Mostly shorter holes with a few longer holes (most of the back 9, 2, 12. Some open fairways and some tighter ones. 3 tees to a basket. No water, and the holes steer clear of the road. Easy to find and just minutes from 76.
Cons: The only real bad marshy spot I found was the pin location at hole 20. The back 9 could use signs, but i found my way through with no problem. The holes are tight together, so watch out for groups in front of you when teeing.
Other Thoughts: The camaraderie here is almost second to none. Even an outsider would certainly feel welcome at the Woods. It seems peaceful despite the fact you are mere minutes from 76, and downtown Philly. If you're in Philly or close-by, take the time to check out one of the oldest courses in the world.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.