Woodland, CA 
Fern Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 215ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice course, should be rated higher

1    5/30/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: sumo21
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I like to play short courses as they help me with the putt and approach part of my game. This is a little longer so gives me more of a challenge.

-I live in Sacramento and go to the local community college, in which the bus pass is accepted on the area's local transit system. BIG SCORE.

-Nice area to play and have a BBQ at the same time.

-Bathrooms, kid's playground, tennis courts and water fountains. Bathrooms are a big bonus.

-Tee pads are decent size. Tee's 1 & 9 are white rectangles on the pavement.

-Signs give an aerial view, along with best direction to take when shooting at basket.

-Almost all holes are straight or hyzer type shots. Hole's 1 and 6 are shots that should break gently to the right.
Cons: -Baskets 2 & 6 are close together, so make sure you know which basket you are shooting at. Even if you shoot at wrong basket, it's about 20-30 feet from your target basket.

-Only one 300+ get hole (9).
Other Thoughts: I have been playing disc golf for a little less than 6 months. This is a perfect course for a novice like myself that wants a challenge, but doesn't want to be killed by a course set up for pro's.

On a scale from 1-10 on how challenging the course is, I would say it would be a 9 for a person just starting off.

For a person playing 6 months to a year, I would rate it as a 6-7.5.

People with over a year of playing time would probably rate it lower than a 5.

I really don't see why this course isn't rated any higher than it is. Even if I had a year of experience or more, this course should at least rate 3, give or take 0.20.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great practice course for beginners

1    2/10/2014   2/11/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 4/19/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - real aerial map at start and great maps for each tee
- not much interference with other park activities (i think they've reconfigured some holes such that there are no cross-path issues that past reviewers have mentioned with the jungle gym and bathrooms)
- nearly impossible to get lost on the course until hole 9
Cons: - it's just 9 holes in a typical mowed park setting, nothing really noteworthy
- hole 9 was hard to get to, and signs don't have a (next tee) pointer
- I know it's a beginner course, but calling several holes par 4? Par 4 isn't something you just bandy about in Disc Golf!
Other Thoughts: For just getting started with the sport, I can't really imagine a better course. Lots of opportunities for birdies for beginners, and the consistency of the course makes it easy to keep playing through.

I can't think of a way for the designers to have used this space much better than they have - trees and OB come into play on some holes, and there's not much interference with other park activities. I'd play here again, especially if I was with some beginners.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Typical City Park Nine Holer!

1    8/15/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just your fairly typical nine hole course that plays around and through a flat city park. The park offers enough mature trees to offer some resistance. Most of the holes have nice big, grippy concrete pads and the tee signs have nice pictures of the holes making for easy navigation. The baskets are older with big orange numbers. The grass was long making throwing rollers fairly difficult but most of the holes can be easily reached with a simple hyser or anhyser drive.

# 5 was my favorite hole. It's only 221 feet but the basket is set right behind a tree with a V shaped trunk. It's just a clever placement for this fun little ACE run.

The listed pars on the signs are perfect for junior high kids showing par 4's like # 8, a 241 footer. Most players would just play them all as threes. Myself, I like playing the listed pars, racking up eagles and shooting way under par. Makes me feel like a man!
Cons: The grass needed to be mowed. The flatness of the park and the lack of a serious challenge. There was basically no civilians in the park when I played on a Wednesday afternoon. Just lucky, I guess.
Other Thoughts: This is just one of those city parks that if you lived closeby, you'd figure the optimim times to play so as not to conflict with the mulitudes of park users. It's a decent little throw. You get just what you paid for here-A nine hole city park course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Fern

1    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Outstanding job of integrating 9 short, but technical holes around and through an otherwise great family park. The narrow fairways and tall trees beg for some accurate Tomohawk & Thummer teeshots. Very nice flow, and easy to follow even for a first timer.
Cons: Just ignore the Par 4 signage and play every hole as a Par 3. HOT. Those mature trees are quite sticky and hungry for discs. Consider going with low hysers, if the wind conditions don't allow for the proper overhand. Baskets have definitely seen better days!
Other Thoughts: I played on a Sunday afternoon with a couple of really large picnics going on, and a number of kids in the park. Even with all that going on, I didn't feel like my shots would get too close, although I did give heads up a few times before teeing off.
Why aren't there more of these type of courses out there in more neighborhoods???
=================
Uniqueness: A- (better than most courses of this type)
Difficulty: B (flat; hungry and grabby trees)
Fun Factor: B+ (fun to score; tough to bogey)
Aesthetics: B+ (clean & cute; mowed grass)
----------------------
Overall:B+

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the Fern's?

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well Manicured park
- Signs on every hole (par's must be for kids though)
- Easy to follow flow
- Friendly locals
- Short drive off I-5, can help break up the long boring drive
- Bathrooms on site
- Concrete teepads
Cons: - Some baskets are only single chain
- Holes play dangerously close to a playground with little kids running around not paying attention
- One hole throws directly at a bathroom
- Risk of crossover on a few holes
- Very straight forward, it doesn't seem like there was alot of thought put into the layout of the holes here
- Multiple holes play close to the street with both parked cars along it and cars driving by often.
Other Thoughts:
A small city park course in the city of Woodland. The holes are mostly all pitch and putt short holes without a whole lot of variation. The park is well manicured and has bathrooms onsite (hole 8 throws directly at them). There is also a playground here for the kids, though it does come with the risk of kids being hit by a miss-thrown disc as one hole plays too close to it for my taste. It realy wasn't an overly exciting course, good for locals or people looking to break up the drive on I-5, but I wouldn't travel too far out of the way to play it. I was expecting to find some ferns in a course called Fern Park, but it's name is deceving. I did see some locals had set up some extra holes along a more wooded back area of the park, but they were all with portable baskets, so I figured that they were just some temp holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/16/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: EG ChainRacker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -good use of land
-bathrooms nearby
-ace holes
Cons: -parking sucks
-baskets are to close to each other
-baskets suck anyway besides basket 9
Other Thoughts: this was one of those courses that i would play one time. i really did not care for this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Use of Small Park

1    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 82  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement Tees on all holes (Holes 1 and 9 use concrete road)
Great use of the land!
Fun to play for beginners and advanced players alike
Great for working on short game
Awesome course to hit on a lunch or if in a hurry
Cons: Can be crowded as stated before

Other Thoughts: Overall I think this is a wonderful park for the amount of land and it being a public park, very well laid out. Was in Woodland to fill out papers for a new job and decided to hit this while in town. Glad I did :) Used a Squall and a Wizard and that was perfect!
Holes 1-8 are Mach 1's
Hole 9 is a Mach 3
People seem to have gotten better about not picnic'n in the fairways

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/7/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good hole design considering the landscape.
-Fairly well maintained
-moderate amount of technicality
-good amount of trees
-bathrooms
-usually not over crowded, great place to practice your game
-nice tee pads
Cons: -families with little kids nearby
-Sometimes the park may have some thug types
-no elevation change
-Fairly short holes
-Street often comes into play on hole #2
Other Thoughts: -I love this course for what it is. Short 9 hole course with moderate amount of technicality - great for practicing your game. With that said however, it does have a couple holes that are around 350 which allows you to throw a bomber.
-Most of the baskets are single chain which is kind of cool since this course dates back to 1980. You get a little bit of DG history at this course
-great place for a beginner

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Putting training

1    3/29/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: SuperSac916
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for practicing putting. I used my putter on every hole and still ended up with 3 birdies. Could have thrown a driver on 9 but elected to just putt to make this small local 9hole more fun. Bring newbies or kids to try disc golf for the first time and you can guarantee they will want to play again, cause face it this course is easy.
Cons: Missing tee pads, only 7 of 9 holes have tee pads. Not a good course to use your driver on. Also park can be seriously crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: If your stopping in woodland hit this course and practice your putting. If not don't waste your time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great 9 hole course

2-4    5/29/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: WilltheNurse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads. mature growth trees that provide obstacles. Good mix of shots. nice putting opportunities. a very nice park to play in. bathrooms and water on site. easy to navigate.
Cons: a big thick tree on the 8th hole like to eat my discs, spent like 20 minutes getting my driver out of there.
Other Thoughts: for a nine hole course, this is one of the best i have played. enjoyed it greatly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.