Disc Golf Store
Woodland, CA 
Fern Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Typical City Park Nine Holer!

1    8/15/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just your fairly typical nine hole course that plays around and through a flat city park. The park offers enough mature trees to offer some resistance. Most of the holes have nice big, grippy concrete pads and the tee signs have nice pictures of the holes making for easy navigation. The baskets are older with big orange numbers. The grass was long making throwing rollers fairly difficult but most of the holes can be easily reached with a simple hyser or anhyser drive.

# 5 was my favorite hole. It's only 221 feet but the basket is set right behind a tree with a V shaped trunk. It's just a clever placement for this fun little ACE run.

The listed pars on the signs are perfect for junior high kids showing par 4's like # 8, a 241 footer. Most players would just play them all as threes. Myself, I like playing the listed pars, racking up eagles and shooting way under par. Makes me feel like a man!
Cons: The grass needed to be mowed. The flatness of the park and the lack of a serious challenge. There was basically no civilians in the park when I played on a Wednesday afternoon. Just lucky, I guess.
Other Thoughts: This is just one of those city parks that if you lived closeby, you'd figure the optimim times to play so as not to conflict with the mulitudes of park users. It's a decent little throw. You get just what you paid for here-A nine hole city park course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/7/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good hole design considering the landscape.
-Fairly well maintained
-moderate amount of technicality
-good amount of trees
-bathrooms
-usually not over crowded, great place to practice your game
-nice tee pads
Cons: -families with little kids nearby
-Sometimes the park may have some thug types
-no elevation change
-Fairly short holes
-Street often comes into play on hole #2
Other Thoughts: -I love this course for what it is. Short 9 hole course with moderate amount of technicality - great for practicing your game. With that said however, it does have a couple holes that are around 350 which allows you to throw a bomber.
-Most of the baskets are single chain which is kind of cool since this course dates back to 1980. You get a little bit of DG history at this course
-great place for a beginner

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Little Course

5+    5/3/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 5/10/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads for 7 of 9 holes
good view of all baskets
great park for the kids
great park for a picnic
Cons: only one basket has two sets of chains (9)
on sunny weekend days it could be crowded with little ones
Other Thoughts: The course has grown up since the pics were taken and some trees have been removed while others are bigger making for more challenging shots
Few if any of the holes are actual par 4's
Rarely crowded with golfers even on weekends--however, if you go on a weekend some holes may be unplayable due to crowds of park goers. I downgraded since my last review to a 2.5 because of this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Easy 2 Play

2-4    4/30/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: welshjohn74
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to play, there is no guesswork as to the layout of the course. Great for developing your long-range shots and rollers. Nicely manicured park.
Cons: Not the most challenging course, the majority of holes are straight shots, but it's far better than Oxford Circle Park in nearby Davis so if you are in the area and had to choose I would play this one first.
Other Thoughts: The tees list each hole as a par 4, but any player with experience should consider it a three at most. My discs got lodged in the trees on two occasions, but with the aid of my trusty Sigg bottle and a couple of dents later I managed to retrieve them :). I played through a couple of times and enjoyed myself. I went on a Thursday at noon and had the whole course to myself which was nice. I can see how on a weekend it could get crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.