Knoxville, TN 
Morningside Park Share
Uploaded By: DavidVol Hole #7 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 375ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Satisfying

1    5/23/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: optimalben
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of holes where you can let your drive rip. The hilly terrain makes for a nice workout. Intuitive layout and I really enjoyed myself. Would make a great everyday course.
Cons: All the yardage measures were exaggerated. Made for a challenging first round. The advertised views of the river were also exaggerated. Still pretty scenic though.
Other Thoughts: Rewards driving accuracy and caution in the putt/approach game. Most of the course is very uneven terrain and there are major risks of losing strokes when your disc rolls down a hill. I'm not that used to this kind of hazard and I could see it getting frustrating if you get victimized by too many bad rolls.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a lot of bang for the buck

1    11/25/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: MtnMan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -perfect tee pads, good baskets
-good signage
-really interesting mix of holes and shot types, particularly considering the course is on a city park
-excellent use of elevation and trees
-several very fast, challenging greens
-great warm up holes to start
-good mix of short and long
Cons: -condition of park in general. lots of trash, some of it pointing to illegal activity in the park. seems that this park doesn't get a lot of attention from the city.
-course throws over many other activity areas of the park
Other Thoughts: I really don't have much bad to say about the course itself. I found it to be really interesting and makes brilliant use of the available land. Great tees and baskets. Lots of fun/unique shots playing with the elevation in the park. Signage got us around the course even though there was no one else there and we had never played it before.

My "cons" are about the upkeep of the park itself. As others have said, it is in a rougher area right outside of downtown, and it seems maybe the park doesn't get the attention it deserves. Lots of trash, some of it sketchy. Ironically, the disc golf course is one of the nicest, most well kept things in the park (usually the other way around).

Some of the fairways go right over walking paths, but it was deserted when we played so this was not an issue for us.

I would highly reccomend playing this course. While the park leaves something to be desired, we never felt unsafe or unwelcome, and really enjoyed it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    12/1/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: honda50r
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Excellent Variation, some very cool holes
-Varying Landscape
-Visitors to the Park know Disc Golf
-Always other golfers playing
-One of the oldest disc golf courses around.
Cons: -Always other golfers playing
-Some of the latter holes (16-18) are not very fun, kind of seems like they ran out of room.
-Hilly
-VERY easy to lose discs
-Not excellent a pretty course, somewhat dilapidated
Other Thoughts: Solid course that is just minutes from beautiful downtown Knoxville. Great participation on the course with weekly doubles tournaments.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Much Needed Update

5+    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: sansho
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the completely new and redesigned Morningside course

Baskets 1 and 5 are still not there due to sidewalk construction, so this review is based on what is playable and considered the "course" currently.

-Brand new huge concrete tee pads at all holes
-Brand new yellow Innova discatchers
-Uses much more of the park than the old layout thus playing longer
-Four par 4s
-Lots of elevation change
-Great use of land
-The Charlotte course master/designer Stan McDaniel designed it!
-Lots of trees, meaning lots of shade
-Haven't experienced large crowds at all (possibly due to it being so new, but most Knoxville courses don't get nearly as crazy as Nashville courses)
Cons: -No permanent signage yet, and temporary signage is all just laying near the teepads under twigs and branches
-No signage means navigation is tough unless you have map or play with someone who knows
-Too many straight shots (even though these shots still have plenty of obstacles)
-1 and 5 still unplayable
-No practice basket
Other Thoughts: It's really hard for me to not compare this course to the old layout, which is why I like it so much.

Hole 2) Par 4 shooting gradually uphill, slight hyzer, over 350 foot of brush that can easily hide your disc. Then another 100ft+ shot to the pin

Hole 3) Gradual decline with a low ceiling becoming a problem 200ft after your drive. Pin on pretty steep slope so your putt can roll away easily

Hole 4) Shortish straight shot with low ceiling at 150ft after drive.

Hole 6) Plenty of airspace with this hyzer around a big tree 100ft in front of you. Easiest hole on course

Hole 7) Straight downhill shot with a menacing line of trees protecting the pin on top of a large sharp hill, so don't let your putt roll down.

Hole 8) Flat par 4 anhyzer with low ceiling. If your drive is even remotely close to good, it becomes too easy

Hole 9) Continual gradual decline of this straight par 4 playing the longest hole on the course. Power lines run down the left side of the fairway. If you miss the fairway it's better to miss left. Right of the fairway is a huge hill that eats discs

Hole 10) Par 4. Probably one of the cooler holes. 350-400ft flat straight shot to a wall of trees and the beginning of a hill. Then a shot straight up hill 100ft+ with plenty of trees to get in your way.

Hole 11) One of my favorites. Big elevation change teepad to pin. Anhyzer (RHFH for me on this shot) through small gap created by tree branches everywhere. Then pin on top of a hill with small drop off directly on one side.

Hole 12) One of the harder par 3s. Uphill most of the way. Have to hyzer at beginning of drive, then let it flatten out and go straight up the hill. Pin at top of hill.

Hole 13) Short hole shooting through a semi tunnel of trees and low ceiling. Anhyzer (RHFH for me on this shot) with the pin sitting in a corner of steep hills surrounding it. So even if you thought you parked a drive, it could roll quite a bit.

Hole 14) One of the two fully "wooded" holes here. Short, straight, and teepad and pin are roughly same elevation but you walk down to the "fairway" so you can easily end up with crazy difficult uphill up shots. Needless to say this hole is tough to get a drive to the pin. Ive played this course probably 20+ times now and I think I have had a respectable drive once or twice.

Hole 15) Awesome hole, but somewhat easy. Huge hyzer with massive high to low elevation change. Can't see pin. Way far left, and down the hill. Have to shoot low and hit the right gap to avoid trees.

Hole 16) Short straight shot but really low ceiling and easily can put it in the woods and have a hard second shot. Pin is on steep hill. I double bogged it when I had a 20 ft birdie putt because my putts kept getting longer and longer as they continually banged the basket and rolled away. Makes you really consider trying to lay up softly.

Hole 17) Straight, slight hyzer shot, but not the fairest of fairways with lots of trees 75-100 ft in front of the pin. Some good shots can feel a little lucky. Pin in hill so putts can roll.

Hole 18) Short and dramatically uphill, and the second fully "wooded" hole. Lots of trees but not nearly as unfair as 14 Anhyzer, straight, and hyzer lines all sort of exist, but I would say the anhyzer (RHFH for this shot for me) line is the best. Footing can be somewhat sketchy due to the steepness of the hill.

If it isn't already the best 18 hole course around Knoxville, when they get permanent signage and finally put in baskets for 1 and 5, it will be for sure. No other courses around here can offer the kind of variety and quality of holes and terrain.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.