Seaside, CA 
CSUMB Cypress Course Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #2 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Course is changing.

1    1/19/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: KingGeorgeC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: See bellow
Cons: See bellow
Other Thoughts: I pulled up to the course having never played before and ran into a group of locals finishing up. They informed me that the first 5 holes have been repositioned and gave me some directions. I was to play the new first 5 then continue to play from the old 6 -18. The first 5 were interesting and make better use of the area. I then started on 6 and could not figure out how the layou was related to the map posted in the "files" section so I gave up. It looks like the course is in the process of improving and I hope to come back at a future date and see how the course developes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not very exciting

1    5/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through mostly open fields on the CSU campus. Most of the holes have a few scattered mature trees to avoid, with several baskets placed close enough to a tree that you have to think a little about your shot placement. There are OB roads and other random strips of concrete to avoid, especially on the back 9, adding a little more shot placement challenge. There are some minor elevation changes throughout the course, and the last couple holes play up and down a medium sized hill for a little bit more fun. There is some distance variety, no real huge distance shots but a nice mix of short and medium length shots.
Cons: The course is very repetitive, especially on the back 9. It feels like you're throwing the same shot over and over, and players with only a hyzer shot will be able to score well at this course. There aren't enough obstacles to really challenge you, and there is no rough at all so it's easy to recover from a bad drive.

Navigation is a bit tricky, the original course signage is mostly gone, so only the holes that were used in the combined world's layout hae signs, and those don't match up with the numbering of the original course at all. There are concrete tees on those holes, but the rest are mostly deep soft sand which provides for terrible footing.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you print a map or you'll probably not figure out all the holes on this course, certainly not in the right order. Parking is difficult, I found it easier to just pay for a metered spot than try to figure out where it was legal to park for free.

Beginners will find this course very approachable, with reasonable distances and not much punishment for errant shots. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge or variety here. The other course onsite offers a little more length and a little more of a technical challenge.

(Note, my rating for the combined worlds layout would be higher than my ratings for either of the individual courses on site, it offers better variety and challenge and doesn't have the same tee and navigation issues.)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Windy Fun

1    6/12/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Baskets are in pretty good shape
Interesting terrain and scenery
A few fun/memorable throws
Plenty of room to warm-up/practice
Friendly folks
Cons:
Wind can be fun (not a true Con)
No restrooms/water that I could find
Tees are inconsistent
Signage needs attention in a few spots
Not easily navigable without a map
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Do take one of the fine Otter maps located here: http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../7dba6aad.pdf
Take water
I don't know what to tell you about parking. I just found a meter and fed it.

Random Thoughts:
This course is a bit tough to review at the moment because when I was there, they were prepping it for the upcoming tournament so you had holes in fantastic condition with brand new big pads and then some that needed serious attention. But with that said, we had a good time out there. The area with all the abandoned buildings was an interesting place to play and had one memorable throw where you had to decide how close to those buildings you really wanted to get (#5 I think) and with the fences up it made things even more interesting. There are also a few memorable dive bomber shots on the back nine. Overall there are usually several routes to the basket with almost always a strategic tree in play, and the elevation changes also play a big factor on a number of holes.

Bottom Line:
I'll probably have to revisit this review when I return and the modifications are complete, but generally I enjoyed my time here and the three beginners I brought had a good time too. I would call this an intermediate style course due to the length, but I found it very fair to make par on. Do check it out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good day in Monterey Bay!

1    7/25/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Definitely has that beach feel, with the sand, grasses, bay winds, and gnarled cypress trees.
- A few chances to let your disc rip in the open air, although hole lengths aren't too long
- Loved playing by the abandoned military barracks. The uniqueness of this aspect was one reason I really wanted to play here.
- Not too hard to find off CA-1
- The front nine holes definitely have a little more challenge, as the elevation and wind come into play more, and the baskets are placed precariously by the trees to make upshots a little more tricky. The back nine holes, on the other hand, seem like the same shot 8-9 times over.
Cons: - Parking. You probably will have a hard time finding free parking. I didn't even want to chance it, so I just put two hours in the meter and then I could park wherever.
- Signage has seen better days; only some of the signs actually have maps, hole numbers, etc.
- Inconsistent tees. Some have those awesome circular teepads, yet others have uneven sandy tees that don't allow for good X-stepping.
- Navigation is a little tricky, and a map will probably help you out a lot.
- The Monterey Bay winds will torment your throws. I was throwing champion firebirds that were being turned over like sidewinders. After awhile, I found that the only way I could avoid the winds from thwarting my throws was to just throw thumbers and tomahawks.
- Finally, a word about the shot selection: it isn't too diverse. While it's true that there are some elevation changes, most shots are straightaway throws to the basket with little in terms of doglegs or technical wooded shots. Some trees come into play, but not enough.
Other Thoughts: I was passing through Monterey on my road trip and didn't have a lot of time, so I decided to play the easier CSUMB Cypress Course instead of the Oaks Course. The other reason was that I was excited to see all the abandoned military stuff around. All in all, I wasn't too disappointed about my choice, but it would have been cool to play both. Perhaps the best part about playing here was seeing all the stuff advertising the upcoming PDGA Worlds events! Just to play where all the pros are going to play was worth the trip.

The course is clearly worn, but it's not a terrible round. Wind will be a factor, so come on a less windy day (if that's possible in the bay area) or bring a bag of discs suitable for these conditions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Otter play CSUMB Oaks instead!

1    11/23/2010   3/30/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Cypress course at CSUMB is nice open course that gets a lot of play from local students and casual players. Those looking for more of a challenge probably avoid this course with all of the other options in the area including the nearby CSUMB Oaks course. As other reviewers have said, there are some pretty interesting and unique features to this course, including vacant buildings right up next to the course and a great bomber finishing hole. For being relatively flat and open, the designers have done a fairly good job of utilizing the available obstacles and creating a variety of shots off the tee including pretty long doglegs and low-ceiling skip shots.
Cons: Tees: The tees can consist of any number of natural teepads, some of them are firm dirt (which may become mud on a wet day) and some of them are loose, fine sand or dirt which becomes slippery when moving over hard ground or when it is so deep as to shift on its own. I'm guessing with the upcoming Worlds tournament, we'll see vast improvements to the teeing areas.

Challenge: There are some pretty nice par three holes, a bit of distance, and some good tree obstacles to work with. Overall though, you get the feel of a pitch'n'putt with a bit more distance. There just aren't enough areas to punish poor shots though - most of the course is just wide open grass and trees, no 'rough' to speak of.

Replay-factor: The replay-ability of this course is pretty low with most holes so open that they require little shot planning except to compensate for the frequent winds. Play it more than a few times and you'll likely get bored.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth it for a quick warmup or cooldown but with the much nicer Oaks course just around the corner, you wouldn't see me here that often. The Oaks course is much better maintained and offers a much better challenge for experienced players without being too 'intense' for newer golfers.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Urban Disc Golf Feel!

1    8/22/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The California State University Monterey Bay Cypress Disc Golf Course besides having one helluva long name also features the occasional coed wandering by. Taking your mind off the coeds for a second, the campus sits right next to an abandoned military base. The US Army seems to just up and left leaving the buildings there. The first eight holes play around these adandoned barracks and whatnot. It gives you this urban guerrilla vibe. It's too bad they couldn't have actually played through a building or teed off a stairwell or something. Maybe incorporated some paintball into the fray as well! What's the sport in the Olympics where you snow ski and then shoot at targets? As it is, they did use the few existing trees as well as they could. This part plays as a kind of a recreational course. After the first eight, you walk a block to a more wide open vacant lot/park and play the last 10 holes. These 10 feature more distance, some elevation, the same scattered trees and a few more coeds! There are signs with the required down and distance. The pads are natural worn spots. # 18 is great fun! It's probably plays 400 feet down a gentle hill from the normal teepad but in someone's infinite wisdom they've deduced to move it back another 50 feet up the hill now giving you a 450 downhiller to end with. Wheeeeeeeeee!
Cons: It's not real pretty but the front 8 is real different from anything I've played before. The back 10 is pretty basic. Fairly windy! You're just playing across a vacant lot, really. It's a place for the recreational player/college kid to get a game in, not lose any discs and have a little fun.
Other Thoughts: This is not the type of disc golf course I envisioned at CSUMB. Maybe in New Jersey, or Beruit or Bogota or Belgrade. I thought gentle Pacific Ocean breezes, lovely green grass and palm trees.

But then I starting tallying. Add bonus points for Cali coeds. Deduct points for vacant lot feel on back 10. Add point for # 18 downhill throw. Deduct point for constant wind. Add points for Urban/Mad Max/Stephen King/Uniqueness of front 8. Deduct point for parking. Deduct point if some crazy looking Aussie guy in some crazy vehicle tried to run you down while you were putting.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 not too shaby

1    1/25/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: gianetics
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well laid out course. my girlfriend could actually par and almost birdie some holes.
i liked hole 18, wide open downhill with a tailwind. sidearm went 450ft for birdie. this is a good course to learn a new throw, bring a beginner, or if you just want to run a course in 1 hour. finally i like the abandoned buildings, its a mad max feel.
Cons: parking sucks. there is free 30 minute parking between the two sides of the course you can just keep an eye on you ride. the holes start getting boring after a while. especially with the oaks course nest door. You cant drink beer there.
Other Thoughts: just play it and check it off the list.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 an intro

1    10/24/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: starete
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I took someone here to introduce him to the game. We originally went to the oaks course but a local told us that we might be better off at the cypress. I think that was good advice. My friend had a good time and I got a chance to let loose from the T. For more of a challenge I guess the oaks is the ticket and it is right down the street, but I never played there. Almost impossible to lose a disc. You might not be able to retrieve all your discs if it gets caught up aloft a big tangle of Cypressness but at least you know where it is. The course is also set in the middle of an old military fort which is pretty cool.
Cons: Nothing real exciting about this course. Was never comfortable about where to park. Pretty flat. Weren't many trees but they made good use of the ones they had.
Other Thoughts: I guess if you are in Monterey check it out but maybe only if you are a beginner or bringing a beginner.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ghost Town

1    6/28/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course seems to be right near the hub of campus though obviously in a run down area. There were two tees for most holes one that was obviously for the casual player and one that was obviously for the better players out there. There was a good deal of challenge but the course was very fair in that it made you work for everything you got and punished you when you made mistakes. There were some good challenges as far as distance was concerned and some really fun down hill holes near the end.
Cons: There was lots of broken glass and the grounds were not very well kept up. The course is split in two sections with a good walk between them. There is not a good place to park close to this course for free though during the summer the campus is pretty much dead. The tee pads were dirt or sidewalk and hard to find sometimes. The tee signs were only somewhat helpful, usually as a marker as to where you might find the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I was pleseantly surprised by this course as I played it as part of my recent DG road trip. I actually saw the course getting a good amount of use but it felt a little scarry to be playing on a campus that was dead during the summer. The buildings that were close by look like they have been abandonded as there were several broken windows and the like. This is not a course that I would go out of my way to play again but defiantely my favorite of the two at CSUMB. I parked near the other course and just walked to this course and it was not too terrible. I did start at hole 11 as that is the closest hole to where I parked and then finished with hole 10. A map will defiantely be a handy thing to have.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 CSUMB Cypress

1    5/16/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fairly easy course that allows you to work on new shots or run for a great score using your best shots in your bag. unlike the oaks course the cypress course was very easy to follow. very fun play in an unusual setting, surrounded by abandon military barracks. long and normal tees allow for a varied round of difficulty. plenty of parking was available as long as you are willing to walk to the next 9 holes.
Cons: same as the oaks course the dirt tees are pretty bad, deep loose sand is not a good launching platform. some signs were missing but not a big problem because the course map helped.
Other Thoughts: i played a RHBH and a LHBH drive off the tee on all the holes to get a feel for both sides of the course. to be honest it was just about the same for both shots in terms of the difficulty of the course. over all i had a great time with this course because of it straight forward style of play. we got in a round in 40 mins and went over to the oaks course 6 blocks away. great place to get 36 holes in one location.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center