Seaside, CA 
CSUMB Cypress Course Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #13
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
#13 Basket from 14 tee. #13 is 340' up hill, on a mound of Iceplant



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Cypress course "new" layout

2-4    3/29/2016   4/2/2016
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 210  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 22.1 Years
Pros:
-DGA Mach 5 and X baskets
-Usually tee signs with distance and OB descriptions
-Several holes used in 2011 PDGA Pro World Championship
-Shot distances are variable, from about 225 ft to 681 ft
-Cement tee pads on several holes (a circle tee) and large swaths of astroturf for other holes
-Generally good flow, ending near where you start (and you can start on any hole)
Cons:
-Tee signs have multiple "signs" on them, some original and some from the World's layout, some from local events, and so the numbering and distances are really odd
-No on-course amenities (e.g., bathroom, water)
-Parking fee required, up to $4 for a day pass (good until midnight) at a ticket dispenser (cash or coins). Fee parking in front of University Police building is in the middle of the course. You can start on hole 19 or 9 if you do not want to walk to hole 1
-Allows for a wide variety of shots since there are many wide-open holes
-Low chance of losing a disc on most holes unless you end up in a Monterey Cypress tree
Other Thoughts: Some distances are estimated (~). Others were taken from tee signs.
Hole 1 (~375'): Round cement tee at corner of Divarty St and General Jim Moore Blvd. Pin framed by large eucalyptus trees about midway down the fairway. Usually a strong headwind and OB road to left. As you tee, white chapel is at your back and Divarty St (OB) on left.
Hole 2 (~300'): Astroturf tee that is just past pin 1, tee points downhill to pin 2, which is partially obstructed by large cypress tree. Usually a big spike hyzer and skip gets you in putting range.
Hole 3 (~260'): Astroturf tee back up hill from pin 2. Flat mid-range shot between cypress trees to pin 3 downslope.
Hole 4 (~330'): Astroturf tee to left of pin 3. Basket is up the hill on a mound of ice plant just past a yellow hydrant. Big air shot to either side (or over) the cypress in the middle of the fairway.
Hole 5 (~400'): Round cement tee on raised area right of pin 4 (World's tee). Basket is down the slope, protected by a row of cypress trees on right and a pine on the left, and surrounded by OB. White lines on roads indicate in vs. out and drop zone is about midway down the slope.
Hole 6 (~300'): Round cement tee to left of pin 5 (World's tee). Uphill with big trees blocking most flight paths, and OB road on either side. Drop zone marked. Big arms go RHBH hyzer bomb with wind pushing disc right to left.
Hole 7 (~270'): Round cement tee to left of pin 6 (World's tee). Uphill with a few trees blocking most flights, and OB road on either side, on a raised platform and drop zone marked. Most go RHBH spike hyzer with wind pushing disc right to left.
Hole 8 (~420'): Round cement tee to right of pin 7 (World's tee). Similar to hole 5, but trees mostly on right. Drop zone about 200 ft from tee. OB to either side of fairway and marked with white lines on asphalt.

Holes 9-18 are "new" holes, placed after the removal (2015?) of several buildings, parking lots, and asphalt roads. The removal of these military-base buildings gives this section an odd look, since the trees were preserved, and many roads are now gravel paths. For those of you who played the original course, or the world's course, you will be surprised at the difference but eerie familiarity. All tees from 9-18 are astroturf pinned into the sandy soil.

Hole 9 (330'): After hole 8, cross the street (Inter-Garrison Rd), walk along the front face of the University Police building, and the tee for 9 is across the access road. The basket may or may not be in place, which is up the hill. I have played this hole on three different occasions and it was in only once.
Hole 10 (327'): Tee is to the left of pin 9. Pin is between cypress trees and small pines block the way unless you go up and over them. Slight downhill.
Hole 11 (393'): Tee is right of pin 10 near edge of access road. Low ceiling off tee and one pine tree in the middle of fairway, slight uphill.
Hole 12 (357'): Tee to right of pin 11 and set back a little. Flat shot between cypress trees, right into headwind and along old roadway.
Hole 13 (330'): Tee to left of pin 12 and set back 100 ft. Flat shot again, right into headwind and pin on a raised bank near large cypress.
Hole 14 (~355'): Tee beyond and slightly left of pin 13, 200 ft walk. Shot parallels nearby road and drops over old parking lots.
Hole 15 (~225'): Tee past and to right of pin 14. Shortest hole. Rope behind pin is OB and close to pin. Two trees frame the basket.
Hole 16 (681'): Tee slightly right of pin 15 and about 100 ft past it. Longest hole of the course. Straight off tee and past large parking lot that is now gravel.
Hole 17 (381'): Tee right of pin 16. Shot heads through a stand of cypress trees. Pick your flight path but avoid the evenly spaced big tree trunks.
Hole 18 (370'): Tee right of pin 17 about 150 ft. Drive under (or over?) cypress trees framing the pin, which is downhill.

Once you finish 18, walk past the University Police building again, this time on the backside where all the police cruisers are parked. Cross Inter-Garrison Rd again and you will see tee 19.

Hole 19 (~340'): Round cement tee near street (World's tee, old #9). Drive slightly uphill to a pin with a slope backing it and a few trees to either side.
Hole 20(~380'): Walk up the slope behind pin 19 to a round cement tee near street (World's tee, old #10). Drive down to pin to left of a massive cypress tree.

No Poison Oak!

2-4    7/3/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: geodude
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17
Pros: the west section is nice, front 8 andmaybe 19 &20 if recall. good tees, cool clear air off the bay, no poison oak, fresh air if your allergies are bugging you, come here. good tees, good condition, college campus, former Fort Ord, some views, not busy
Cons: back 9 are repetitive with not enough technical and too much distance for non-pros. need to apy for parking.
Other Thoughts: a tree planting effort would help the back 9 and make this a great course.

 Course is changing.

1    1/19/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: KingGeorgeC
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: See bellow
Cons: See bellow
Other Thoughts: I pulled up to the course having never played before and ran into a group of locals finishing up. They informed me that the first 5 holes have been repositioned and gave me some directions. I was to play the new first 5 then continue to play from the old 6 -18. The first 5 were interesting and make better use of the area. I then started on 6 and could not figure out how the layou was related to the map posted in the "files" section so I gave up. It looks like the course is in the process of improving and I hope to come back at a future date and see how the course developes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not very exciting

1    5/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through mostly open fields on the CSU campus. Most of the holes have a few scattered mature trees to avoid, with several baskets placed close enough to a tree that you have to think a little about your shot placement. There are OB roads and other random strips of concrete to avoid, especially on the back 9, adding a little more shot placement challenge. There are some minor elevation changes throughout the course, and the last couple holes play up and down a medium sized hill for a little bit more fun. There is some distance variety, no real huge distance shots but a nice mix of short and medium length shots.
Cons: The course is very repetitive, especially on the back 9. It feels like you're throwing the same shot over and over, and players with only a hyzer shot will be able to score well at this course. There aren't enough obstacles to really challenge you, and there is no rough at all so it's easy to recover from a bad drive.

Navigation is a bit tricky, the original course signage is mostly gone, so only the holes that were used in the combined world's layout hae signs, and those don't match up with the numbering of the original course at all. There are concrete tees on those holes, but the rest are mostly deep soft sand which provides for terrible footing.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you print a map or you'll probably not figure out all the holes on this course, certainly not in the right order. Parking is difficult, I found it easier to just pay for a metered spot than try to figure out where it was legal to park for free.

Beginners will find this course very approachable, with reasonable distances and not much punishment for errant shots. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge or variety here. The other course onsite offers a little more length and a little more of a technical challenge.

(Note, my rating for the combined worlds layout would be higher than my ratings for either of the individual courses on site, it offers better variety and challenge and doesn't have the same tee and navigation issues.)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Windy Fun

1    6/12/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Magiken
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Baskets are in pretty good shape
Interesting terrain and scenery
A few fun/memorable throws
Plenty of room to warm-up/practice
Friendly folks
Cons:
Wind can be fun (not a true Con)
No restrooms/water that I could find
Tees are inconsistent
Signage needs attention in a few spots
Not easily navigable without a map
Other Thoughts:
Tips
Do take one of the fine Otter maps located here: http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../7dba6aad.pdf
Take water
I don't know what to tell you about parking. I just found a meter and fed it.

Random Thoughts:
This course is a bit tough to review at the moment because when I was there, they were prepping it for the upcoming tournament so you had holes in fantastic condition with brand new big pads and then some that needed serious attention. But with that said, we had a good time out there. The area with all the abandoned buildings was an interesting place to play and had one memorable throw where you had to decide how close to those buildings you really wanted to get (#5 I think) and with the fences up it made things even more interesting. There are also a few memorable dive bomber shots on the back nine. Overall there are usually several routes to the basket with almost always a strategic tree in play, and the elevation changes also play a big factor on a number of holes.

Bottom Line:
I'll probably have to revisit this review when I return and the modifications are complete, but generally I enjoyed my time here and the three beginners I brought had a good time too. I would call this an intermediate style course due to the length, but I found it very fair to make par on. Do check it out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good day in Monterey Bay!

1    7/25/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Definitely has that beach feel, with the sand, grasses, bay winds, and gnarled cypress trees.
- A few chances to let your disc rip in the open air, although hole lengths aren't too long
- Loved playing by the abandoned military barracks. The uniqueness of this aspect was one reason I really wanted to play here.
- Not too hard to find off CA-1
- The front nine holes definitely have a little more challenge, as the elevation and wind come into play more, and the baskets are placed precariously by the trees to make upshots a little more tricky. The back nine holes, on the other hand, seem like the same shot 8-9 times over.
Cons: - Parking. You probably will have a hard time finding free parking. I didn't even want to chance it, so I just put two hours in the meter and then I could park wherever.
- Signage has seen better days; only some of the signs actually have maps, hole numbers, etc.
- Inconsistent tees. Some have those awesome circular teepads, yet others have uneven sandy tees that don't allow for good X-stepping.
- Navigation is a little tricky, and a map will probably help you out a lot.
- The Monterey Bay winds will torment your throws. I was throwing champion firebirds that were being turned over like sidewinders. After awhile, I found that the only way I could avoid the winds from thwarting my throws was to just throw thumbers and tomahawks.
- Finally, a word about the shot selection: it isn't too diverse. While it's true that there are some elevation changes, most shots are straightaway throws to the basket with little in terms of doglegs or technical wooded shots. Some trees come into play, but not enough.
Other Thoughts: I was passing through Monterey on my road trip and didn't have a lot of time, so I decided to play the easier CSUMB Cypress Course instead of the Oaks Course. The other reason was that I was excited to see all the abandoned military stuff around. All in all, I wasn't too disappointed about my choice, but it would have been cool to play both. Perhaps the best part about playing here was seeing all the stuff advertising the upcoming PDGA Worlds events! Just to play where all the pros are going to play was worth the trip.

The course is clearly worn, but it's not a terrible round. Wind will be a factor, so come on a less windy day (if that's possible in the bay area) or bring a bag of discs suitable for these conditions.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Otter play CSUMB Oaks instead!

1    11/23/2010   3/30/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 667  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 16.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Cypress course at CSUMB is nice open course that gets a lot of play from local students and casual players. Those looking for more of a challenge probably avoid this course with all of the other options in the area including the nearby CSUMB Oaks course. As other reviewers have said, there are some pretty interesting and unique features to this course, including vacant buildings right up next to the course and a great bomber finishing hole. For being relatively flat and open, the designers have done a fairly good job of utilizing the available obstacles and creating a variety of shots off the tee including pretty long doglegs and low-ceiling skip shots.
Cons: Tees: The tees can consist of any number of natural teepads, some of them are firm dirt (which may become mud on a wet day) and some of them are loose, fine sand or dirt which becomes slippery when moving over hard ground or when it is so deep as to shift on its own. I'm guessing with the upcoming Worlds tournament, we'll see vast improvements to the teeing areas.

Challenge: There are some pretty nice par three holes, a bit of distance, and some good tree obstacles to work with. Overall though, you get the feel of a pitch'n'putt with a bit more distance. There just aren't enough areas to punish poor shots though - most of the course is just wide open grass and trees, no 'rough' to speak of.

Replay-factor: The replay-ability of this course is pretty low with most holes so open that they require little shot planning except to compensate for the frequent winds. Play it more than a few times and you'll likely get bored.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth it for a quick warmup or cooldown but with the much nicer Oaks course just around the corner, you wouldn't see me here that often. The Oaks course is much better maintained and offers a much better challenge for experienced players without being too 'intense' for newer golfers.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Urban Disc Golf Feel!

1    8/22/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 865  Reviewed: 815  Exp: 37.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The California State University Monterey Bay Cypress Disc Golf Course besides having one helluva long name also features the occasional coed wandering by. Taking your mind off the coeds for a second, the campus sits right next to an abandoned military base. The US Army seems to just up and left leaving the buildings there. The first eight holes play around these adandoned barracks and whatnot. It gives you this urban guerrilla vibe. It's too bad they couldn't have actually played through a building or teed off a stairwell or something. Maybe incorporated some paintball into the fray as well! What's the sport in the Olympics where you snow ski and then shoot at targets? As it is, they did use the few existing trees as well as they could. This part plays as a kind of a recreational course. After the first eight, you walk a block to a more wide open vacant lot/park and play the last 10 holes. These 10 feature more distance, some elevation, the same scattered trees and a few more coeds! There are signs with the required down and distance. The pads are natural worn spots. # 18 is great fun! It's probably plays 400 feet down a gentle hill from the normal teepad but in someone's infinite wisdom they've deduced to move it back another 50 feet up the hill now giving you a 450 downhiller to end with. Wheeeeeeeeee!
Cons: It's not real pretty but the front 8 is real different from anything I've played before. The back 10 is pretty basic. Fairly windy! You're just playing across a vacant lot, really. It's a place for the recreational player/college kid to get a game in, not lose any discs and have a little fun.
Other Thoughts: This is not the type of disc golf course I envisioned at CSUMB. Maybe in New Jersey, or Beruit or Bogota or Belgrade. I thought gentle Pacific Ocean breezes, lovely green grass and palm trees.

But then I starting tallying. Add bonus points for Cali coeds. Deduct points for vacant lot feel on back 10. Add point for # 18 downhill throw. Deduct point for constant wind. Add points for Urban/Mad Max/Stephen King/Uniqueness of front 8. Deduct point for parking. Deduct point if some crazy looking Aussie guy in some crazy vehicle tried to run you down while you were putting.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 not too shaby

1    1/25/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: gianetics
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well laid out course. my girlfriend could actually par and almost birdie some holes.
i liked hole 18, wide open downhill with a tailwind. sidearm went 450ft for birdie. this is a good course to learn a new throw, bring a beginner, or if you just want to run a course in 1 hour. finally i like the abandoned buildings, its a mad max feel.
Cons: parking sucks. there is free 30 minute parking between the two sides of the course you can just keep an eye on you ride. the holes start getting boring after a while. especially with the oaks course nest door. You cant drink beer there.
Other Thoughts: just play it and check it off the list.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 an intro

1    10/24/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: starete
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I took someone here to introduce him to the game. We originally went to the oaks course but a local told us that we might be better off at the cypress. I think that was good advice. My friend had a good time and I got a chance to let loose from the T. For more of a challenge I guess the oaks is the ticket and it is right down the street, but I never played there. Almost impossible to lose a disc. You might not be able to retrieve all your discs if it gets caught up aloft a big tangle of Cypressness but at least you know where it is. The course is also set in the middle of an old military fort which is pretty cool.
Cons: Nothing real exciting about this course. Was never comfortable about where to park. Pretty flat. Weren't many trees but they made good use of the ones they had.
Other Thoughts: I guess if you are in Monterey check it out but maybe only if you are a beginner or bringing a beginner.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.