Seaside, CA 
CSUMB Cypress Course Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #4 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 otters rule

1    8/10/2008   2/25/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Cypress course is easy to navigate, the baskets are not far from the tee boxes. Its very straight forward and open. The course has well defined fairways throughout and is easy to figure out. A player can get in a quick round here. The setting is sparse and natural in that it was once similar to an unnatural setting and then became abandoned, its very interesting. The abandoned buildings for me make this place special. I like holes five and six because they play close to the buildings, it had a sort of urban feel to it. It felt like the movie Full Metal Jacket to me, all it needed was to be on fire.

This course has signs and they are in decent shape, still functional, with important course information and par listed. Because of the signs, a map is not near as important here as it is at the Oaks course. I would recommend this course for beginners and recreational players and those looking to get in a quick round, and send the advance players to the Oaks course (with a map).
Cons: Parking was a little bit confusing, there are just so many potential parking spots that could turn out to be bad because of the abandoned buildings. Then, the parking spots that appeared to be good require you to part with some coin. The courses is split up in two separate halves with a city block long walk between numbers eight and nine. There are not many tress and only a few longer holes on this course. The wind can provide a challenge and be persistent. I played this after the I played the Oaks course and I felt a tad let down. The tee pads are "natural," also know as well worn dirt pits. The course ends nowhere near the first tee or where they have you park, it was tempting to just skip the last few holes. The course is mostly wide open and flat with only a few groups of trees per hole.
Other Thoughts: When comparing the two CSUMB courses, they truly are different and have completely different enjoyment factors. This course leans toward a traditional round where a player can work on scoring and get in a quicker round with little design confusion. The Oaks course is more of a hike, has longer holes and is more confusing with much more vegetation. In my opinion, the other course is better, but they are not similar and it would depend on what you are looking for in a round. I would like to play Cypress again someday. I wonder what its fate will be when the surrounding buildings finally get razed. When I played this course, there was a group of kids shooting out windows in the old buildings with a pellet gun. They had no regard for the police station only three blocks away, nor for the pictures of Steady Ed on the tee signs cautioning you with a reminder that the father of disc golf is watching you.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/10/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: tcecil
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I played this in the evening and next to the front nine are a bunch of old dorm buildings with broken windows and some boards over the doors. When the wind blows disturbing sounds come from the inside which makes it seem like a Stephen King story.

If you follow the dotted line on the tee box diagrams the course will be a lot tougher.
Cons: Many holes about 250 ft, scenery is fixed (abandoned military base).

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course to up your skills

5+    9/15/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: blackskies
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of open area. If you want to practice drives or new puts, etc; this is the place. You can take as much time as you want for the most part. I'm usually the only person out there when I play, except on Saturdays.
Easy to navigate. Markers are in place an accurate.
Cons: Wind gusts can ruin your day and/or test your skills.
The back nine has a few disc eating trees. Bring a sling shot.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course.
The front nine has old military buildings around it which is awesome I think.
Because if you accuracy is off you can smack into a building or break a window.
People are friendly on this course. They will let you play through, join or help you retrieve a disc.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Go Otters!

2-4    4/1/2008   4/1/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine is a lot of fun as you throw through the cypress trees and over the hot burning sand. The coastal winds play a large factor in one's score so controlled shots is a must. the course is a mixture of tight fairways with low tunnel shots at times while other holes are wide open allowing for big arm throws. The course for the most part isn't very long, but is still challenging enough to not be a waste of time. Some of the surrounding military housing buildings are abandoned and mysterious which make this course unique for the area. The baskets are in good shape and the layout of the front nine is well thought out considering the amount of land used.
Cons: The back nine seems redundant as they are all fairly straight and go back and forth. However, the slight elevation shots make for challenging drives considering the wide open land and gusts of wind taking hold of one's throws.
Other Thoughts: I am yet to play the new CSUMB course but figure that most of the concerns were addressed when designing the new course. Playing in the sand on this course is a lot of fun. However, the tee pads and signs need some work in order to make this a more legitamate course. The Cypress Course plays well for novice/amateur players but if looking for a pro course, I would skip this one and suggest heading straight for De LaVeaga. I love Monterey, and feel there is a lot of potential for this area. I anxiously await for the next time I have the opportunity to play here as well as the new course on CSUMB.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center