Brattleboro, VT 
Austine DGC Share
Uploaded By: DeafDiscGolfer Hole #3 (Taken 12/2011)
4 / 435ft.   4 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Extremities

2-4    10/13/2013   4/4/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two tees per hole (except #9).

View from the hill.
Cons:
Wide Open or Quite Tight.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays within the edge of a woods, and in the broad open space, of a very large-n-long hill at the back of a small college campus.

While the course averages 250'/300' from the short/long tees, the majority of this distance comes from open-and-upslope #3, and open-and-downslope #8 - take these two holes out of the equation, and the averages drop to 200'/240', so the course is on the shorter side

For the open holes (3, 7-9), basket-3 is actually located within the treeline, with challenging entry points, number-7 needs a right-turner around at the edge of the treeline, and number-9 has a major elevation drop.

For the wooded holes and their extremely short lengths, you'll need to throw straight or right-turners, and be very accurate, as the throwing lanes can be quite narrow - doing so should yield plenty of birds.

Number-6, from the long tee, was probably the most interesting hole, with it's ~340' length, needing an elongated S-shape around the scattered tree, and the protected basket.

An okay (just a tad closer to 1.5 than 2.0 for me) play/course to add to your collection.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My home course

5+    9/3/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am bias as I play this course regularly. I find a fun quick 9. Great scenery and great mix of hole types.
There is a rarely played alternate tee for 3 that is from the far side of the pond over the water.
Great mix of ego boosters and challenges.
Take a picture of yourself putting on #8 for your FB pic. Great views.
Green (short) and White (long) tees on almost all holes except 9 which doesn't need one IMO.
Cons: I can see how people who have not played the course could get a bit lost. Next tee box is not always obvious. ( when you finish 4, tee 7 is right there but you need to walk up the path to tee 5 and 6 and then come back down for 7.
More trees than some courses I have played but you can find lines. I play cautious in the woods and let fly in the fields. Pray to the tree gods before and hope the branches and trunks don't swat you down and away.
Natural tee boxes can be great one day and torn up the next. A few collect water after storms so beware or throw from next to the tee box.
Salvaged baskets so don't be thrown by the odd numbers on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: I play this course most days after work. It's popularity has grown massively this past year. I used to be all alone out there most days and now it is not uncommon to have groups in front and behind me.
Mix of tight wooded holes and big open fields. 1&2 are turnover shots RHBH (or flick)through the woods in tight corridors. 3 is a par 4 up hill battle. 4 is a tight path but if you can throw it straight you will be ok. 5 across a swamp is an ace run. 6 is wicked from the white tees as it is a big S turn through lots of trees.
7 is a fun right sweep around a clump of pines. 8 is a downhill bomber but don't over shoot or you are rolling down a big drop off. 9 is a fun ace run land up hill of the basket for a no fear birdie shot as there is a building behind the basket.
If you play this course, please be considerate of the fact that you are on a school property and leave the "substances" at home. Hasn't been a big issue but beer bottles and school grounds don't mix.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Challenging and Convenient

1    8/31/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Austine DGC is a 9 hole course designed up and down a large hill on the campus of the Austine School for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing in Brattleboro, VT. The terrain on this site is fantastic. While the tees are natural, they are well defined with logs and mostly flat and free of debris. There are a few different types of basket here, but they don't seem to affect how the course plays. Most tees have signs with the hole # and par info. The course flows well starting with two challenging holes in the woods, and uphill bomb that finishes in the woods, three more tight, technical shots, one open hole to a basket well protected by trees and then two downhill bombs finish out the course. The layout goes up and down the mountainside and minor elevation changes are utilized as well. The wooded holes here are incredibly tight and challenging. The course has several signature holes including a hanging basket by the pond (#3), a tight ace run (#5) and 8 and 9 are the downhill bombs that I love to throw. The wooded holes here are extremely challenging and #3 requires some precise placement in order to get your disc through the gap in the trees to get to the basket. The hole lengths are varied between 137 and 600 feet. The scenery here is gorgeous with Vermont's Green Mountains all around. The course is also a very convenient road trip stop as it is only a couple miles off of I-91, which runs from New Haven, CT all the way up VT into Canada. According to DGCR, this course is only open on the weekends, but we asked the School staff if we could play on Friday afternoon. They were nice and friendly and allowed us to play, but I would suggest calling ahead if you wanted to play outside of the listed hours.
Cons: The course could use more signage. Some hole signs were missing and next tee signs could be better utilized as well. I could not find the Alternate tee for the basket for 3, but I also didn't look so hard. It would have also been nice to have had distances on the tee signs. The long tee for 7 needed to be week-whacked, as did many of the wooded holes. Maps on tee signs would also have been helpful. That being said, I didn't have much of a problem with navigation. However, with many baskets not being visible from the tee, maps would have gone a long way.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play with a lot of different kinds of shots. This course featured some of the most challenging wooded shots I've seen as well as some of the most exciting down hill grip-n-rips too. This course definitely has some issues, but this is an all around enjoyable experience, especially when you factor in the proximity to the highway and the beautiful view. If you're in Southern Vermont or just passing through, this course is a must-play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Found all nine holes!

2-4    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: Ctrenta
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There really are nine holes to play! Once you find them all, it's actually a fun course. We'll be back.
Cons: The tees are hard to find for holes 3 and 7 (See other thoughts)

No maps which would've helped. Sinage needs improvement
Other Thoughts: Hole No. 2: Even though the basket says No. 8, that's hole No. 2. It's confusing at first but that's the one.

Hole No. 3: Don't play the basket right in front of you! That's hole No. 8! Hole No. 3 is a par 4 (really a par 5). Play along the tree lines to the top of the hill. Play past the path to the pond and then you'll see the Hole No. 3 basket suspended in mid-air.

Hole No.6: After you finish Hole No. 5, turn left for the Hole No. 6 tee

Hole No. 7: Go north from Hole No. 6 back out to the top of the open field. Take the path to get out to the field. You'll find the Hole. No. 7 tee. You'll play along the treelines to the left, play past the path entrance to the ropes course, and then you'll find the Hole No. 7 basket.

The rest of the holes are all easy to find.

It took me two times to find all nine holes. It may be the same for you. But they're there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Could Be Better

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: benjah
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee areas marked by logs were pretty good.

Liked the uniqueness of some of the hole placements, such as hole 3 being suspended on a wire was a great idea, though it's very hard to find initially due to the lack of signs.

Nice views.
Cons: Definitely needs signage and a course map for the tees, directions to the next hole, etc. Signs were present on holes 1-4 and that was it, and even then was only a par and no footage amount or hole layout on the tees, and a few stray signs leading you to the next hole. I had no idea where the 3rd basket was until I found it suspended through a narrow path behind trees. I spent 10 mins finding hole 5 and never found hole 6, and almost skipped hole 7, but the tee is there and if you look over the hill you'll find the basket.

Hole 2 has an 8 still printed on it (from where it belonged previously I assume) so for a first time player it was confusing.

Hole 5 has no clear walking path between the tee and the basket, and in between is very thick brush. Definitely would be better if it was cleared.

A kiosk with a map of the course and such would be nice (not essential, just would make it better)
Other Thoughts: I love the potential of what this could be, and some minor changes could make this a pretty decent local course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  a rainy confusing fun day

2-4    6/2/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: edp1321
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course with a good mix of open holes (4) and wooded holes (5). Beautiful views of the Brat area.
Cons: This course is in desperate need of a map or tee markers that show you, where the basket is and the next hole. Spent a good part of the first round walking around just trying to figure out where the baskets are.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a fun alternate to hole 3 that involves a low shot over the length of the pond. Fun to try on a warm day, but i wouldn't recommend it on a cold one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good course, watch for ticks

1    3/24/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: duderduderson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The last three holes are all out of the woods in an open hilly field. Hole 8 in particular is very challenging; very long and all uphill. Very pretty area and few people around to bother you. The holes that are in the woods are short but challenging due to the heavily forested nature of the area.
Cons: Pars and hole indicators aren't posted for all holes and it's easy to get lost around hole 7...the course is marked pretty well for the first 4 holes with semi-permanent hole indicators and pars, but either markings were not completed or some villainous scamp has removed them.
Other Thoughts: Only open on Sat/Sun, but works well with my schedule, so doesn't bother me. Got some dirty looks from people when I parked. I didn't get the feeling that outsiders are all that welcome. Finally, wear long, tight clothing and bug spray, as ticks seem to be prevalent, and one errant disc puts you in the areas where they can get at you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The First Permanent 9 Holes in Brattleboro, VT!

5+    2/26/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 114  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow.
Only need to carry three or four discs.
Nice tee placements for beginners and advance players.
Awesome views of downtown Brattleboro and Wantastiquet Mountain.
Its Free!! (Donation appreciated!!)
Cons: Not open to public during the week but only Saturdays and Sundays.
Its private school property.
No public bathroom or water access.
Can do more holes on this nice large property.
Other Thoughts: Its a great course to stop by for a quick round of 9 holes in southern VT right off from HWY 91.

Can do two rounds on two different tee sets in less than two hours.

Like the ALT hole (shooting across the pond to hanging basket) and #8A hole which you can bomb slightly downhill. #5 and #9 are very Aceable holes.

Looking forward to its course improvement when it gets more funding and manpower.

SPECIAL THANKS TO 2011 STUDENT GOVERNMENT OF KEENE STATE COLLEGE FOR THEIR INITIAL DONATION TO BUILD THE COURSE!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.