Platte City, MO 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: oshavy Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 225ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short but variety of elevation

1    6/19/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 108  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.9 Years
Pros: I loved the elevation change on this course, nothing is flat. Great baskets
identifiable teeing area. Giant field you just have to throw in
Cons: Terrible Teepads (eroded gravel) Super short, tough to find the tee box for 1
Other Thoughts: Tee from NorthWest corner of parking lot. Throw from parking lot into giant soccer field

Not a bombers dream

2-4    3/20/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 247  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: This course has gravel tees and adequate signage.
There are technical holes and a couple of open holes as well. Good elevation here.
Rounds should play quickly here and there are other amenities like a playground and rest rooms on site.
Hole observations:
1-downhill shot
2-uphill shot with cedars on the left of the fairway
3-downhill with cedars upon approach
4-up and down terrian
5-slight dog leg to the right, slopes downhill behind the basket
6-uphill has a narrow gap to hit
7-has a gap between 2 cedars or you can throw a big spike hyzer RHBH
8-downhill with a nice window to hit
9-uphill with a slight dog leg left
Cons: It appears that 1's tee box and signage are missing. It appears that there was some recent dirt work/sodding done so maybe thats what happened? I teed off from the corner of the parking lot so.
There is entirely too much litter, mainly beer cans, scattered throughout this course. Maybe some trash cans would alleviate this littering, one can wish at least.
The walk from 9's basket to the parking lot is pretty lengthy.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course that has nice challenging holes with good elevation. This is a course that will challenge your shot shaping abilities in certain spots. If you are looking for something more technical than the flat/open park style course, but don't want a super narrow and technical course, then this is the place for you. There are gaps that must be hit to score well here.
If I were in the area again I would play this course again. It has enough of a challenge to keep you interested I just wished there were another 9 holes.

Short and sweet

2-4    8/13/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great variety of shot paths, including the open holes and technical holes. Holes 1, 6 and 7 are right to left, while 3, 4, and 5 are left to right. The other 3 are pretty straight. 10/10

The tee pads have nice hole maps that direct you to the hole. The first pad is missing altogether, but the first basket is visible from the parking lot so after you pick a spot to throw from it's fine. 10/10

Navigation between holes is easy after the first hole. Hole maps have an arrow pointing to the next pad. 9/10

Fairways were well mowed, brush isn't too thick to find discs in. Bathrooms on site but no water fountains. No trash cans on the course. Missing tee pad. Course maintenance 7/10

Obstacles are used pretty well here. There is not much room at this park so several holes are short trails through the trees. Some of the holes have the same feel, like 3 and 7 or 4 and 5. 7/10

There is good variety of openness on the holes. The first few are a little longer (220-280) with a few trees to guard baskets or force a ceiling. Four of the last five holes are shorter (150-200) and very technical. 7/10
Cons: No alternate hole positions 0/10

Only a couple of holes require deicsionmaking, the most significant of which is 6, which is an interesting shot with a ridge of trees between the tee and the basket. 2/10

Not much variety in distance. I only threw driver on hole 2 and for a spike hyzer on hole 7. Most of the rest feel about the same since the longer holes are a little downhill. 2/10

I had trouble with the footing on the gravel tees, they were pretty slick. The baskets are pretty good discatchers though. 3/10

Grass was pretty well mowed in the fairways. Brush isn't too thick on the ground but there were tons of spiderwebs as the course does not get much traffic. No benches but at least it's short and there's some shade. 3/10

Not too much elevation present after the first 3 holes. They do a good job with what little they have. 3/10

Discs weren't too bad to find in the brush except maybe around the edges of the park. The cedar trees will eat them like crazy though, I had one stuck in about 5ft up and I almost couldn't get to it. 3/10

This is a good course for beginners to work on their accuracy without worrying about distance. Experienced players can practice their approach shots on tight holes, but the open holes won't challenge them at all. Challenging all levels 4/10
Other Thoughts: Overall Challenge - 2/10

I was pleasantly surprised by this course. It was a fun little course to practice approach shots of all kinds. Open and tight, left to right or right to left.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Once is enough

1    6/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: oshavy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signs at tee boxes are helpful in determining line and direction to next hole.
Baskets are easy to see.
Good course for sharpening your midrange game.
Cons: If you stray from your line you will find yourself in the woods with some very untamed undergrowth -- this makes it hard to find your discs.
Most holes play the same; there isn't much diversity in strategy when attacking each hole.
Other Thoughts: I would not go out of my way to try this course for the first time. St. Mary's or English Landing Park are good alternatives for a 9 hole course -- they are more open and provide a variety of hole types for a more rounded experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly fun little 9-holer

1    5/24/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 101  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and lines for such a short course. Have to learn to control a mid down hill, up hill, curve through woods. Flick shots are very helpful on a couple of holes, and a sky hyzer deuce was doable for weeny like me on hole 7.

Well mowed, at least when I was there.

Great Houck Design signs. Tee signs are also numbered on the top on all four sides of the pole. First I've ever seen like this - very cool.

Cons: Holes could be longer. It seems like there is plenty of rooom here, but it would reguire a lot of work to cut the holes out of untamed woods.
Particulary holes and 4 & 8. They are just really too short, nearly a Par 2.
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised by this course. It is now tied for my favorite 9 hole course (the other being Sertoma Park in Sioux City, IA)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First time on course

1    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: WillCW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy beginner course. Short holes. No need for a big driver here. Mid-range and putter are all that are needed.

Easy to see the basket from the tee box. Tee boxes have new pea gravel.

Hole 9 is through a narrow S opening. Most holes (except #2) are down hill from tee to basket.
Cons: Muddy through the woods.
Other Thoughts: A easy 30 minute play, unless you throw it in the woods like I did.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center