Newton, KS 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish   (Taken 3/2012)
Park Entrance Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cool little course

1    10/28/2014   10/28/2014
Review By: zeerobb
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I liked this course. Helped me finally get under course par. What's not to like? Brand new baskets! its easy, fast and can stroke your ego! great for beginners. I have to give it a very good rating.
Cons: would help to have another tee box placement, so you can go another 9 in a different manner.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in Newton, I would be playing here or Peabody, or even a short trip to hazernaut... Camp hawk was falling in disrepair and I was more frustrated playing there than here. Local club really needs to clean up Hawk..I played there 2 hours and saw NO ONE,,,came to centennial and 6 players were playing there on a weekday afternoon.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/10/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: BCpreheim
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is not busy. Disc golfers will typically have plenty of time and space to throw. Course designers did the most they could with an area that does not many obstacles or elevation changes. This can be very nice for players just beginning.
Cons: It is boring and has heavy winds. The baskets are usually located around a tree or two but drives are almost always open. Not only does this hurt the challenge element but it allows winds to come across the fairways at 20 mph consistently

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Drive across town instead

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: DD-Smitty
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Pros of the course are simple.

It has cement tees and manufactured baskets. It is a good place to practice but kind of dull to play.
Cons: Cons of the course are many. The holes are boring. The flow is lacking. There are some dangerous holes to play while others are playing, the playground off 2 could be a big hazard in a headwind.
Other Thoughts: I have lived in Newton for several months and have only played this park once. I would rather drive across town and play Camp Hawk. It has a much better shot variety and is much more fun to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Centennial Park DGC

5+    10/17/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: nat16dick
Played: 46  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Legit tee pads/baskets. For a course in a fairly open park, there is a surprising amount of diversity in the 9 holes. There are some shots which require finesse, as well as a good number of wide open shots which test your distance. When the course is dry, especially in the spring, the view is spectacular - long grass outside of the fairways present a look of a well-manicured course, and it really is a pleasure to walk through the nice scenery.
Cons: Only 9 holes, but you can play it twice if you want to. I played after some heavy rainfall in the area, and a few areas of the course were damp to the point of swampy. I imagine this would not be an issue most of the time, and it just added another challenge.
Other Thoughts: The course is located in a region of the park which does not see much traffic, so us golfers are out there pretty much alone. It is a nice little course if you are in the area. This course is worth a trip, but don't expect to be wowed with perfectly manicured fairways. But overall, a nice course, especially in late spring and summer when it is dry.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.