Seaside, CA 
CSUMB Oaks Course Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #6
3 / 445ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Fairway

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Seaside Enchantment

1    12/19/2015   2/15/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 86  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not

- Free course
- Full 18 and another Full 18 nearby
- Large circular concrete tee pads. They're my all time favorite pads
- Tee signs mapping distances and multiple pin positions
- Multiple pins
- Not a lot of underbrush to lose disc in
- Some variations in elevation
- Unique terrain
- Not crowded

- No current pin position indicator
- Rundown dilapidated course surroundings
- Tee signs were beat up, one was missing.
- Hard to see baskets need a splash of color
- Directional signage between holes was lacking
- Mostly open or hyzering around or up and over the landscape
- Windy course
Other Thoughts:

Let's start with the parking confusion. It's mentioned by other reviewers that parking is free at the vet clinic, but it was a little trickier than simply parking there and walking to the course. It was the weekend when I played the course and the clinic was closed, yet the prominence of the "towing of unauthorized vehicles" signage remained. I decided to just bite the bullet and pay the 4$ all day parking fee. It was nice that the parking pass dispensers took cash or card. Later, I ran into a local that confirmed that parking at the Vet clinic on any day of the week was a safe choice with no chance of being towed. There are campus police roaming around, so do be careful.

As for the course, it was fun, but kind of trashed. The tees signs were run down, and there were old neglected items throughout the course. It was kind of cool, kind of and eyesore. It didn't take away from play, just an observation. I liked how different the trees looked and those weird rubbery bushes were throughout the course. Poison oak wasn't as big of an issue as the reviews and signs made it out to be. It probably could be in non winter times of the year though. All the different terrain, variations in distances, and slight elevation changes made for a fun round, even if the layout was a little more open than I'd like. Also, those tee pads were legit. I loved them

With the amount of land that this course was built on I doubt it ever has overcrowding issues. In the middle of the course navigation became difficult due to the lack of directional signs, luckily we trailed a duo of players. At one point we they even left an arrow etched into the dirt/sand for us to follow. It's hard to pinpoint exactly what I didn't like about the course other than there were a lot of the same shots over and over again. To be honest, it got a little boring. I would have liked to see some more creativity on the course. Most holes didn't really punish bad drives off the tee. I think the course was between a 3 & 3.5 . The close proximity to another 18 may have influenced the my decision to round it up a little.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Course

5+    1/17/2015   1/20/2015
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 80  Reviewed: 27
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Park for FREE at the VA Clinic.

Mix distances for the shots. On 01/17/15, the two long holes were set at the longest distance, one at 700+ feet and the other just under 700 feet. The photos of the course are not current as they do not show the very nice large circle T pads at each hole.

2011 PDGA Tournament was played here and that is when all of the improvements took place. The signage is accurate and intact.

Holes 10 through to 27 are the best of the course.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: AWESOME views of Monterey Bay on a clear day.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pro Worlds 2011 Layout

2-4    6/18/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Discette
Played: 354  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was fortunate to play the 2011 Worlds layout in advance of the event with course designer Merle Witvoet. The map for the 2011 Pro Worlds layout (and the updated Oaks layout) should be available by 7-1-11. Many holes have been redesigned and new placements installed in the past few weeks in preparation for Worlds. Some holes were permanently relocated, especially around the "ropes area".

Land is dedicated to disc golf only, although there may be an occasional dog walker or hiker.

The new tees are 10 foot concrete circles. With constantly shifting winds and multiple pin placements these round tees allow for approaches from all directions. Definitely better than playing from the sand.

Multiple pin placements on almost every established hole with more to be installed on newer holes.

Course is built on coastal sand dunes. There are many oaks, ice plants and grasses. This is a rugged piece of property with its own special beauty.

Great variety of holes utilizing the elevation change, wind and vegetation.

Prevailing winds add to the challenge especially on more open holes. Windier in the afternoon or when weather moves in.

This course is challenging both in design and ruggedness of the terrain. Not recommended for beginning players or those with physical limitations. Course is sandy and many areas are covered with large patches of ice plants adding to the challenge. Oak trees are very dense and make it difficult to retrieve discs and to get out of trouble.
OB areas are well marked and add to the challenge.
Cons: Sand and ice plants make for challenging footing on the fairways.

As with all courses in this area, there is poison oak. Be prepared if it is a problem for you.

No restroom facilities of any kind. Ample opportunity to rough it.

Due to elevation changes and/or vegetation, some pin locations for Pro Worlds are blind. Designer is already working to install flags and trim vegetation to increase visibility.

Not recommended for beginning players or those with physical limitations. It would be near impossible to use a stroller or cart. Would recommend the CSUMB Cypress Course across the street instead.

Would not recommend playing alone. Vegetation can be very dense and lost discs are a definite possibility. Again, play the Cypress Course instead.
Other Thoughts: This course really is exposed to the coastal winds. Players not familiar with wind play will suffer. Bring a jacket or sweatshirt as the constant ocean breeze can get chilly after a while.

Pro Worlds will use the redesigned 18 holes for the Oaks course plus 7 from the Cypress Course across the street. Pro Worlds numbering is different, with normal Hole 1 on the Oaks being called Hole 11 for Worlds.

The hard working volunteers are finishing the installation of all new tees by July 1st.

I had a chance to play the seven holes from the Cypress Course. While they are set on more typical park land with grass and sidewalks, there was still challenge from the wind and elevation changes. OB roads and sidewalks are well marked and add challenge to these holes. (Other extra holes will not be set up until Pro Worlds.)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Print a map

1    8/22/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: acerunlou
Played: 70  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 27 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: multiple tees and pins. tee signs, but some were hard to read. challenging. some elevation changes.
Cons: some tees hard to find. poison oak in spots. tees are sandy and some were uneven. most holes were blind from blue tees.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.