Franklin, TN 
Cottonwood DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 755ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Simple - Used for pratice

2-4    9/24/2014   10/22/2014
Review By: Sethpen
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simple course to learn on. Look to the other reviews for details. I am starting out and this is where I like to practice.
Cons: Basket directions are confusing.
Other Thoughts: Great place if you just need to improve your game as a beginner. Intermediate to pros would not like this (Discussed with an actual semi-pro).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cottonwood DGC

1    8/18/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cottonwood Disc Golf Course is situated in the grassy common area of a nice neighborhood community center. At only nine holes it boasts a pretty decent mix of lengths from the 154' hole two and stretches out for its 755' hole eight. Overall you'll play 3363' with a posted par of 31. An info box with printed maps greet you at hole one's tee pad and on your first visit you'll be thankful for that. Though not terribly difficult to navigate, a couple of unconventional design issues will have you looking around a bit. Small concrete pads, maybe 2'x3', give a nice firm place to plant your foot. They are level to the ground so no worries about a trip hazard. I like them better than no pad at all. They are marked with tee numbers and arrows towards the basket. Speaking of baskets, Discatcher Sports, though somewhat fatigued, are on ever hole. Their stands have been locked into place with concrete for something you don't see every day but it seems to work here quite well.

As far as the layout goes there are some pretty fun holes. I thought hole one with its nice 311' downhill shot was a good way to start. Hole seven was another slightly downhill shot with a guarded basket. Finally hole eight's 755' shot was a great hole that anybody will be happy scoring a four on. A little imagination would allow you to come up with a few safari holes and probably even nine more for a full eighteen hole experience.
Cons: The baskets have had some paint touch up and maybe some minor repairs hinting at periodic maintenance but overall they are showing their age. Some rust and loose connections along with some leaners will be noticed. Beyond that freshly cut grass leads me to believe that the overall course gets at least some attention from at least someone if not the neighborhood association.

I didn't think the layout was that great on at least holes two-five. Hole two, while admittedly interesting, was kind of a weird hole. The only viable chances at a two are a luck shot or a gimmicky spike-hyzer. While fun a time or two that hole would get boring if you played the course a lot. Hole three crosses five's fairway but the nice punch in cave in the tree line made up for it. Hole five in turn plays across hole three's fairway and then crosses a pedestrian path, another no-no. There are also areas where the tee pads are just feet away from the baskets. Granted the course is probably not ever busy enough for these to be a problem but it's just a bad design trait.
Other Thoughts: I think it's awesome to have a neighborhood course like this. I wish my neighborhood had enough room to install a course.

Though it's technically a private course, I think any golfers could find their way on to the course without any trouble as the community is large enough that it would be hard for the folks to distinguish those who belong and those who don't. With that said, I think you're going to sneak your way on the course you should conduct yourself as an ambassador of the sport and be respectful, clean, and courteous.

If you are trying to play as many different DG courses as possible this one is good for another ding on your list. If you're looking for quality courses and you have limited time in town, keep looking for better courses in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent 9-hole neighborhood course. This would be a good place to introduce someone to disc golf or would be a good place to practice all kinds of shots without fear of losing discs, being penalized, or hitting someone else as most of the holes have wide open fairways. The basket locations are very good and use what few trees there are effectively. There is a little danger to avoid like thick rough or some backyards, but there is always enough room that these can be avoided.

The baskets are just single chain Discatcher Sports cemented in the ground (never seen that before) but they get the job done. The hand-drawn course map was very accurate (and is a must to find your way.) Maps were available in the info box by tee #1 or you can print the map from DGCR.

There is pretty good variety of holes here for such a simple layout. Straight holes, baskets tucked left and right, and a couple holes where tomahawks over trees are the best play. Distance is extremely varied from 154' to 755' and everything in between. The designers did a good job with what they had to make this 9-hole course.

You will probably have the course to yourself.
Cons: The concrete "tees" are just small squares- more of tee markers than actual pads. Many times the baskets and next tee are with a couple feet of one another- would be a dangerous situation if there were lots of people playing. (this could also be a pro, however, making the tee easy to find.) There are no tee signs, so finding a small concrete square flush with the ground below the grass height is difficult. I never could find the tee for #9. I looked everywhere for several minutes in a wide open grass field and finally just made up my own.

A few of the fairways cross, generally a bad idea, but again there probably won't be anyone else playing so probably not a big deal. #5's basket is a big problem, it is just across the road that happened to be pretty busy with cars and bikers coming and going to the clubhouse, and to make it worse there was a hill on the left that made it hard to see things coming.

Good for beginners, but this course would get boring after a while as it is pretty easy and does not force you to make any particular kind of shots. There is not a whole lot to challenge here.

Apparently the local discgolfers think the basket tops double as trash cans.
Other Thoughts: This is supposedly a "private" neighborhood course, but anybody could probably walk on and play it if you wanted to. (They won't have to worry about too many people wanting to come play here anyways!) You still might want to ask permission in the clubhouse before you begin.

However, there are two really good courses nearby (Crockett and Liberty), and this one is a ways out of town. My recommendation, skip it, and leave it for those that live here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lucky you

1    5/6/2012   5/6/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a private course in the Cottonwood subdivision. The biggest pros for this course are that no one is ever here..and it is a private course through a neighborhood...how cool is that? Lucky for you if you happen to live here...I live in the subdivision behind and have a friend that lives here. The mostly open layout has a wide mixture of short and long holes. A few are pretty interesting ...I have to say Holes 2 and 3 are quite unique. Hole 2 is a pretty short high floater drop-shot over some pine trees...a shot that I don't find myself having to throw too often...but this hole seems to demand it...or perhaps a well-placed short and wide spike hyzer. Hole 3 is marked as a par 4..intending a layup to where the fairway turns around the treeline...then an upshot to the green. But, for advanced players there's a high hyzer shot over the tree line to get you in position for a 2...I got over it and had a jump putt about 60ft out...which I missed by the way. This was probably my favorite hole on the course. At Hole 1 there are scorecards and course maps...grab one..you will need it.
Cons: The smallest tee pads I've ever seen, no tee signs, no benches, old rusty baskets, very few trash cans. Very poor layout and flow. Long walks to the next hole are frequent. The tiny teepads are often ridiculously close to the previous hole's basket...I'm talking like 15 ft. away. Many holes cross over another hole's fairway....which probably isn't ever an issue...I get the feeling this course rarely gets played. The other neighborhood facilities are all around...which doesn't impede too much except for Hole 6 which shares space with a soccer practice field.
Other Thoughts: There is plenty of room for 18 here..but judging by how the course seems neglected..I doubt anyone here cares to expand it. If you can acquire permission (or if you just play it guerilla-style) this is a course with some fun shots...worth playing if you live closeby...otherwise don't bother.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not bad for a POS course

2-4    3/29/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: simmons.dp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's outside.
Cons: Tees are 2'x2' concrete pads
Holes are poorly thought out
There is room for 18 but only 9
Poorly groomed and maintained
No trash cans for all my beer cans
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes are ok. Lots of open long holes. A few obstacles. Blah.....blah.. The best part is that no one else plays it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.