Boiling Springs, PA 
Spring Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #2 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 548ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Where to go when the kids are driving you crazy

1    9/11/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: crusadersounds
Played: 81  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: -Nice concrete teeboxes
-Great place to stretch out the drivers
-Good for a RHBH player who has good distance but always fades out hard left.
-A lined football field next to the 9th fairway in case you want to find out how far you are driving
Cons: -VERY long for a 9-holer (I only say this because its length is comparable to a short 18 and perhaps 18 would make more sense in this park)
-Flow is very difficult to say the least. I took a picture of the course map and needed it after almost every hole
-Not a lot of variety. Pretty much throw a 400' straight line shot for every basket
-Almost a half mile walk from the 9th basket back to the parking lot. I was tired when I got back.
Many holes either run parallel and right next to the walking path (and I saw probably 50 walkers) or cross said path. I realize that as expansive as these paths are within the park this is a difficult problem, but I think an effort could have been made to minimize this problem.
Other Thoughts: I HIGHLY recommend this course if you have kids that are driving you insane. First, it will allow you to let out some aggression by hucking plastic as far as you can. Second, because you'll walk so far, you'll have plenty of time to cool down. And third, you'll get so ticked off at trying to find the next tee, that you'll forget how bad your kids are.

I probably won't go play here again. There are better 9 holers in the area and Coyote Hills isn't that far away. That is the better course to play if you're in the area.

Walk-A-Long

1    9/14/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
4'x10' flat concrete tees and new yellow-banded baskets in a nice multipurpose park

Length (average ~400').
Cons:
Quite the walk from basket-9 to the parking lot.

Popular walking path paralleling/crossing most of the fairways.
Other Thoughts:
Courses wends its way through the various playing fields and along the walking path of a nice, but flat, public park. Some of the fields could come into play on wayward throws, but for the most part, are a decent distance away

Minimal obstacles - a few trees on a couple of holes. About half the holes have a treeline running parallel along the rightside of the fairway.

If you like your courses long and open

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A Good Start

1    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: VctryLnSprts
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course to try your drivers on, with wide open spaces to throw into. The concrete tee boxes are long and flat for accurate footing, and the distances of the holes makes for a challenging round. A pretty quiet setting when there are no athletics going on, and not much risk of losing a disc.
Cons: At this point, the cons of this course are pretty significant, unfortunately. The course map is nowhere near the first tee, but yet you have to memorize it well or you'll get lost trying to find the next tee box throughout the round. Tees are not marked from above, so you can't see them from a distance (and many holes are quite a distance apart). The pars for the holes are not listed anywhere I could find at the course, so I didn't know how I was doing relative to par. The cinder pathways weave through the course, and it is unavoidable to have a disc land on them and get chewed up at least a couple times per round. Holes 6, 7, 8, and 9 have no variety at all, basically a block of trees on the right side of each hole. Finally, the ninth hole is easily a quarter mile away from the first tee, so you have to pick to either walk a long way to get started, or a long way when you finish.
Other Thoughts: If this expands to an 18-hole facility, that will help with a few things, like hopefully putting the 18th discatcher near the 1st tee to make parking easier. Labeling the tees would have made this round much more enjoyable as well, as I spent a lot of time wandering looking for the next concrete pad.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/4/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: Relayer81
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very good course to practice your tee offs. It is a nice walk around the course. It reminds me of Willow Mill but much longer.
Cons: If the park is being used heavily by other sports there is no way you could safely play it. Since there are only nine holes with nine ending at the other end of the park, it took me 8 minutes to walk back to my car. Unless you have a big arm there is almost no way for a birdie on most holes.
Other Thoughts: If you don't like wooded or technical courses this provides a nice break from that. I wish number nine ended closer to the parking area at number one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great open course

5+    3/25/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: farmer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/19/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Spring Meadows DGC is a nice open course, which is a good contrast to other local options. Most of the holes have good distance and present a challenging par 3. There are plenty of small trees and other obstacles to make for an interesting round, but also good opportunities to rip long drives. As the trees grow in this course will only get more interesting. Each hole is unique and presents a slightly different challenge, so despite playing this course repeatedly I continue to find it entertaining.
Cons: When the park is busy with other sports or walkers, you have to take your time to play safely. Usually with a little patience this is not a problem.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tees are in! Tee box maps to be added soon.

Hole 4 was recently changed to avoid some nasty OB around the well pumping station (this area is off limits, monitored by state police),

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.