Pensacola, FL 
Hitzman Optimist Park Share
Uploaded By: The Miniac Hole #7 (Taken 3/2012)
-- / --   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun 9 Hole Course in the Woods

1    7/29/2016   8/8/2016
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 197  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From reading past reviews, the tee pads used to be egregiously bad. When I went and played, the course had nice concrete tee pads. The tee pads are not huge, but no holes on the course really need a long run up.

The course is easy to navigate and each hole has a tee sign on it. On most holes, there is a visible line off the tee (hitting the line is another story). There is a little bit of difference in shot selection, from straight to left and right holes. A good diversity is always nice to see on short courses like this.

Although most holes are short, the large number of trees scattered throughout the course makes low scores tough.

I played this course on my way to Fort Walton and wanted to take a quick detour and play somewhere in the Pensacola area. It was easy to access and easy to get back onto the highway.
Cons: The randomness of the trees is tough to merit giving this course anything higher than a 2.5. There are defined lines off the tees on each hole, but the lines are sometimes too tight or have a few random trees in the line that creates a bit of randomness off each tee, which I am not a big fan of.

When I played, there was a group of players that had just started playing. A lot of times their shots would land in other fairways, which could be a safety concern. I do not believe too many people play this course where this would regularly happen, but it is worth noting.
Other Thoughts: My experience met my expectations for what I had of Hitzman Optimist. A very decent nine hole course that will not blow you away, but has a little bit of fun involved. It is a quick play and a good stopping point on a long road trip down I-10.

I am glad to see concrete pads were put in before my visit. It seemed as if it definitely helped bump this course up a few points.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Basic course with some varied approaches to holes

2-4    8/15/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily accessible and fun for beginners to learn the game. Some of the longer holes allow you to let it fly with various routes to get there. Baskets are nice and finding your way around is fairly simple. The park is clean with a good family atmosphere.
Cons: Tee pads are sand and in terrible condition. Do not tee off from them...start from the side or back of them. The signs looked like they were nice at one time but are mangled now and some of the holes are without them. Beginners may throw near you because spacing between some of the holes is not far apart.
Other Thoughts: It is only a 9 hole course. I would not have a problem to play this course if I am in the area but would recommend the Gulf Breeze or Blue Angel courses for intermediate to advanced players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners course

1    9/28/2012   2/28/2013
Review By: Bimbambogart
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You won't have problems finding each hole.
Nor will you get lost.
There's signs.
Basic shots to get familiar with the game.
Cons: Possibility of throwing into yards past hole 2.
Other Thoughts: Theres tons of squirrels!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

1    5/2/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Signage- Best I've seen. Color graphic with distance, flight path, pin location and trees. Arrows on the bottom of some cages pointing the way to next tee.
2. Cages- Brand new annd easily spotted.
Course play/layout- Nice short beginner friendly course, but requires enough skill from a intermediate player to to score low. Mostly open except pine trees spread throughout course, but no low hanging branches to impede flight path.
3. Scenery- Nice typical family friendly municipal park with plenty of shade. Almost zero trash even though there aren't any trash cans on the course but, near it in the park.
4. Amenities- Restroom, picnic tables, ball fields and a playground that you could let your kids play at while you play DG around them if you so choose. Drinks and snacks within a block.
Cons: 1. Tee pads- There is a designated tee box area but, it is natural. These are already getting torn up and roots are beginning to be a problem with footing confidence.
2. Course challenge- Shot variety is severly lacking as you can play this whole course with the RHBH and FH shots. There is zero elevation change or hazards.
3. Amenities- Bathroom STANK! No discs for sale/rent in area if you're without and want to play. There were no bag holders or benches which isn't a huge deal but, nice to have.
Other Thoughts: This is not a destination course, but a fun, if you're in the area and don't have much time to play type of course. This is a very beginner and kid friendly course/park with other activies to make for a good family outting. This place was pretty much deserted when I played it so I don't think crowds are a problem. This course has room for improvement, but only minimally so it will never be more than a 3.0 in my eyes. Final piece of advice- If you're limited in time then come here...if you have the time and want a challenge almost any other course in the area would be a better choice!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.