Pensacola, FL 
Hitzman Optimist Park Share
Uploaded By: MikeK Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
-- / --   3 / 330ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun 9 hole

1    12/22/2013   12/26/2013
Review By: madasfire
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had great baskets, signs and directional markers to the next basket. Holes were short and required multiple shot types. Good course for beginners or for working on mid range shots. It was winter but, there were very few places to lose a disc.
Cons: The tee boxes were really bad. This was the biggest con on this course. Most times I would tee off from the side.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and would like to play it again. It was a great quick course to play if staying in Pensacola. I wish I had a course like this near home

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Par Three

2-4    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Clean course
-Nice tee signs at each hole
-Looked to be a nice family area
-Lots of shade
-Good map and description of how to play disc golf at hole 1
-Good for novice and pros
-Easy to navigate
-Nice combination of shots to use on this course
Cons: -no concrete tee pads as of yet
-not the best place to play after a good rain
-no long distant shots to work on (all shots to the baskets are peppered with trees)

Other Thoughts: I have to say i really enjoyed this small 9 hole course. The first tee is between the parking lot and the road which you enter the park on, so you really can't miss it. The map was nice and new, and the rules ffor disc golf were also good to see. Each tee pad had a good descriptive tee sign which showed direction(s), distance, and par of each hole. There was a kids playground there, plus a couple of pic nic tables and I believe a pavillion w/bathrooms, I did not go there so I am not for sure. A few people playing while I was there. Being a 9 hole course you can navigate your way through a quick game in about 20 minutes. Nice clean park. The only debris was natural from all the rain happening in the area lately. No concrete tee pads which made for some wet and slippery tee pads. Some were really just puddles. For tee offs there are yellow tee blocks in the ground to mark the hole and boundary for each natural 'pad.' This was really my biggest concern, the non concrete tee pads, which may come in the future. Really good shade throughout the course. I did enjoy the different combinations that could be used at each hole. There are opportunities for aces on this course for sure. Birdies for am's and pro's shouldn't be much of a problem. If you can shoot straight and far, you will master this course right away. I believe the farthest holes are just over 300', however the trees can make it interesting.
Hope to play this course again, and the only reason I did not give this course a higher rating was because of the tee pads and it being a short course. There are other courses in the area, but stop by and play this one to get in a good short game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/29/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: dggator
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Great for those trying to learn the game and try out different shots. No underbrush to deal with so it's easy to navigate and forgiving of errant shots ;). Clean and well-kept.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Some tees were not marked very well, but on the other hand it's impossible to get lost.

 Very Nice

1    3/29/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: westflagator
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course. You will not lose your disc. No under brush/thorns to deal with. Clean bathrooms and fountain. Nice for practicing, you can easy get around trees.
Cons: Tees are hard to find for the first time you play. Very small.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hitzman Optimist dgc

1    3/8/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 258  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean park with virtually no underbrush, making it easy to get around and difficult to lose a disc. Decent shaded canopy of pines and live oaks. Several holes have multiple natural alleys to the pin. Restrooms, water fountains, benches & picnic tables along with some playground equipment. None of which should come into play.
Cons: "Natural" tees are marked with painted landscape timbers. No rules, map, directional or tee signs until early April 2012. Minimal room for expansion.
Other Thoughts: Designed as an introduction to disc golf rather than a course for advanced or pro-level play, but still fun for any level of play. Some lights around the course for night-time play. Great for a quick "lunch-time" round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.