Oskaloosa, IA 
Edmundson Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/5/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park with rolling hills, with trees scattered throughout, as well as lining some fairways.
-Concrete Teepads, Signs with maps, pin location and distance,
-Beginner friendly, Alternating pin placements.
-Course has a couple very scenic downhill long distance drives.
-It's an old school course that offers a challenge yet maintains a good fun factor
-Open field course, so there are a majority of lines to get to the basket. It doesn't really favor RH or LH. There are options for players of all throwing styles.
-Hooked up with some super nice local guys to help show me around the course.
-Course is mostly open field, but there are a number of guarded baskets that will dictate how you should approach. Some of the guards include trees and low walls. (e.g. ped bridges) There are a couple baskets that are backed by that tall river grass, or concrete OB. So, it would behoove one to not over throw the basket.
-#13 is a cool Risk/Reward land-bridge shot that has you throwing between a pond and the road (OB). Once you are past the water, it's an uphill approach.
-#12 is a long distance valley shot, where you throw from a top of one hill, over the valley to a basket on the adjacent hill. (Beautiful fairway) *A group of people sitting across the street from the basket started applauding after I sank a long putt for 3. I had to give props for that! That really made me smile!
-IMO Edmundson had a big fun factor for me! I look forward to playing here again

FWIW
-This is a huge multi-use park, with a giant playground, fortress type thing near the first hole. I'm not sure what they call it, but it's wooden, it's big, and if I were a kid I'd want to play on it. …as an adult, I wanted to play on it! ;)
-A variety of other sports are here as well, basketball, baseball, etc There is also a nice ball golf course just down the road. I've played there as well.
-Shelters, picnic tables, and walking trails in the park as well.
Cons: -Map at start doesn't reflect the new layout changes. This adds a real element of first time frustration.
-Navigation becomes tricky when looking for 7. (see first con) You walk back up the hill towards the shelter.
-This course is in a very popular city park. Watch out for other park attendee's and other disc golfers.
-I was told that this course can get very busy the weekend.
-Most of the shots are straight forward shots. No doglegs or finesse shots. You can pretty much pick your path to the basket.
Other Thoughts: It is an open field course and you'll be in the sun the majority of the time, so bring plenty of liquids. No special clothing or footwear is necessary. There are a number of gas stations on the way to the course, nothing out of the way. You may want to check for leagues or tournaments before you show up. It is a popular course, and if you are looking for a non-rushed round, you may want to check the course page for any events that might be happening. I drove from Mt Pleasant, IA to play here, about 60 miles, and wasn't disappointed. I look forward to returning to play here again!
Growing up in Ottumwa, I used to hear local players about talk "Going to Osky to play Edmundson". It's been a course that has been in my "Want to play" list ever since I started playing. I finally got to make that happen and I wasn't disappointed! Edmundson does have its challenges, but for me, the fun factor was greater than the challenge factor. You will find yourself throwing over hills with blind baskets; Valley shots, Downhill shots, and a couple of holes where you have to finesse your way through some sparse trees. There were also a couple of downhill holes where I threw a few discs, just to watch them fly! That is always fun! I had a good time playing here

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open and fun

1    12/17/2011   3/13/2012
Review By: holein1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an open course with few trees that get in the way. It has a variety of hole lengths, few long...mostly shorter ranges. It is very well maintained. Signs at every hole, and concrete pads. Holes can move from time to time as the owner changes them, its shown on the signs as A B and maybe C! Very well put together!
Cons: There can be many people playing the course, so some waiting may occur while playing. If you've never played this course before, the holes change and you may throw in the wrong direction.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very good course! It's a lot of fun to play, whether is be friendly, competitive, or family play! Well put together so even better!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Edmundson Park Course

1    11/6/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: Berryiowa
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice large course sign at begining
* All 18 Holes have concrete tee pads
* All 18 holes have nice tee signs (9's was missing but they are planing to replace it soon.
* Nice course for begining players
* Course is well maintained
* Trash cans at all tee pads
* bathrooms at start and in middle of course
* Many areas to refill water bottle
* Great use of elavation on some hole
* One long hole to let it fly on (500+ feet)
* Not much chance for lost disc
* You end right back at the begining
Cons: * All but one hole are fairly short
* Not much use of tree (Most shots are wide open)
* Not a very challanging course for advanced players (Should par or birdie all holes)
* Not any real risk/reward shots (Two hole run beside the pond)
* Course flow is hard to follow on some hole ( I used the link to the course map)
* This is a very popular park so you must watch for other park users
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course not as much challange as others but still fun. I would like to have seen one or two hole have shots across the pond not next to it. I will make the 30 min drive to play this course agin it is well worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Osky DGC

5+    8/1/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long open holes with moderate amount of tree. The signs and the tees and very well kept and maintained. Most holes you can throw forehand or backhand because they are very open.
Cons: I would say that distance is more of a challenge than anything on this course. Birdies are sometime hard to come by if you can't throw very far. There are only two holes that are affected by water. I have seen many people throw in the pond.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It is very clean and easy to play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the visit!

5+    7/11/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout course with many unique shots that you would not see at other courses. Many of the shots are long and you can see the basket from the tee which is a plus when it is not a super-familiar course. The course winds around a large park which means that it is well groomed!
Cons: There is a pond that can eat discs in a hurry if you catch a bad wind or have a bad throw. Also, if it is a windy day the many open holes can be frustrating because most of the holes are very open with not much in the way of obstacles.
Other Thoughts: A very good course if you are looking for an open and well groomed course that is fun through all 18 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Edmundson

5+    7/5/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 50  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 8/13/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice long tee pads
-very open and well maintained park
-multiple pins
-well orgainized course so that it is easy to navigate
-you can throw forehand or backhand on every hole
Cons: -The pond is in play on a couple of holes
-it is almost too open and the only challenge that it really provides is length
-there is not much variety because there are not very many obsticles in the way.
Other Thoughts: It is a wide open course so it is good for players of all skill levels.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open Fun Course

1    6/6/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: TreeSkipper
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beatiful course! Wide open fairways with rolling hills and a few trees. Very well maintained park. This is a fun course for the whole family. Maybe not as challenging for the more experienced player. Very low risk of losing discs.
Cons: Some of the wholes are a little hard to figure out. There was a big billboard at the start that helped a little.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tidy Wide-y

1    6/23/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a clean park with wide-open holes. There are some risk/reward holes dealing with water and out-of-bounds. This course uses elevation to a great degree. There are cement tee pads and tee signs. Some of the tee pads have been incorporated into the steps and sidewalks. Bathrooms, trashcans, and drinking fountains are all available.
Cons: You will need a map for navigation for first time play here. Most of the holes are straight shots. The footage on some of the signs are not up to date. There are lots of people at this park, so extra caution is required.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor at this course seemed to be indifferent for me. I enjoyed a few of the holes and found some of the holes to be plain and boring. I enjoyed the long tee on #8 the best. It was a tee set atop a large step of a huge hill with a down hill slope to a basket across a street. Compared to the other courses in this surrounding area, I would say this is one of the better ones.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.