Myrtle Beach, SC 
Socastee Rec. Park Share
Uploaded By: Hindenburg Hole #7 (Taken 3/2012)
4 / 495ft.   4 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fed the Addiction

1    8/12/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course had very nice discatchers and concrete tee pads on all holes. That alone makes me happy. There was alot of shot shaping and maneuvering through the fairway which provided a nice challenge. The course was well mowed and well kept along the edges, meaning a disc being lost would be hard to do. A good mix of pars, ranging from a 3 to a 5.
Cons: The course was pretty repetitive. No open holes. Just technical through the woods. A lot of spiders. Around the teepads I would ever so often find a broken chair or table, and a huge stack of palletes. Not alot of litter, just these large disposed of objects. The walk from hole 18 proved painful in 90 degree heat. No wow factor. I didn't find myself saying that one hole was among the best I have played, which I wanted.
Other Thoughts: If you are traveling to Myrtle Beach, then play Socastee uf you have discs and extra time. Don't go out of your way to play it, but it fit the bill.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pleasantly Surprised!

1    7/26/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: We had a lot of fun playing this course on vacation! The designers made up for the lack of extreme elevation with many interesting disc paths. One basket was elevated on a brick block which was neat to see. I enjoy the break on holes #10 and #11. Those holes play in the open, satisfying players who feel the need to rip one or two open shots. There were benches/chairs on about every hole. Most tees were large concrete slabs. The course is in a beautiful, clean park. There are many other things to do in this park, including baseball, tennis, basketball, soccer, and a playground for the kids. Blue trash cans were scattered throughout the course. The tee signs were very well done. They showed a detailed course map with the hole number, par, and distance. We were the only ones on the course(Played around sunset).
Cons: The course could use better signage, but most of it was straightforward. #18 ends so far from #1, it's about a 5 minute walk back. Didn't see any snakes, nor did we have problems with bugs. I'm sure that could change depending on when you play.
Other Thoughts: I came into this course with low expectations. I know that it can be tough to design a course in South Carolina because of the flat terrain, but the designers did an outstanding job. I truly had a great time playing here, and I would recommend it to anyone vacationing in the Myrtle Beach area.Happy discing!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Course at the Beach

1    6/15/2016   6/18/2016
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety. Hard to do with no elevation, but they did it. Each hole was a distinct challenge.

Challenge. Not any real "poke and pray" holes, but every hole held some challenge. Hit your line, and you're good. Miss that line, and you're in the mess. Errant shots will cost you a stroke on most holes.

Convenience. NOT too far from the beach, but far enough away that you don't see the tourists. Not hard to get to when you're on vacation, and a VERY welcome change of pace from mini golf and swimming.

Elevated baskets. Not too many of them, and one is JUST elevated enough for you to hit the cage if you aren't careful. But enough of them that they become gimmicky or old hat.

16 is a hole I expected to hate, but actually enjoyed. It's the most wide open of any hole on the course, and is the longest on the course. Captain noodle-arm here actually managed a par, so the rest of you should think of it as an impressive birdie opportunity.
Cons: I can't think of much I'd list as true cons here. I really didn't like 18, but that was just because I have trouble throwing straight. I ended up throwing 4 putters to get close enough for par, and then missed an easy putt. 18 IS, however, a very unforgiving hole, with trouble on both sides of the fairway.

The course could use some new tee signs, and a map (either something you can pick up at the beginning of the course or something you could print out here at DGCR).
Other Thoughts: Bug spray should be a no brainer for any course in this area, so don't forget it or you'll regret it. There is no map of the course, but the holes are pretty easy to navigate -- when in doubt, follow the worn-in paths.

The bar was set kind of low, with Loris, Coastal Carolina, and Tupelo Bay being the only other courses in the area. But Socastee is the best around, and would be competitive for that title in many other areas of the country. If you vacation in Myrtle Beach and miss this course, you missed out on a fun morning of disc golf.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course for all Levels

2-4    7/20/2015   7/20/2015
Review By: beardlikeabe
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played this course on vacation this morning and it was an excellent experience!

-The cement tee-boxes were in great condition and provided some excellent grip for driving the disc. Some holes had multiple tee-boxes for additional difficulty if desired.
-The baskets were practically new and had crisp blue paint to guide you through the course.

-The navigation was pretty seamless. Most of the holes had a visual representation of the hole layout and there were only a few holes that did not have such a visual aid.

I really liked the diversity in length. An excellent mixture of par 3's, 4's and 5's. I felt like each hole offered an individual feel. At some courses I feel like some of the hole layout can be quite repetitive. You will not find that here.

I started at 7:15am and the park was open. So, for the summer time at least, it appeared to be open from sunrise to sunset.

Cons: I didn't see any snakes, but the sign at the beginning of the course certainly kept me on my toes. There was not much in terms of elevation, but I do not have too many cons.

As I mentioned above, a few of the holes did not have a visual representation of the hole layout but that was few and far between.
Other Thoughts: Bring some bug spray for the bugs and you will be fine.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Hot Challenging Mess

1    6/26/2015   6/26/2015
Review By: RichinVB
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: trees, we like trees, you got lots of tree
Open long fairways, we like em, you got em
Dog- lefts and dog-rights plenty of both and not a lot of repetition
Lots of hole variety, baskets all in excellent shape, great basket placements, easy walking, and easy directions to next hole
Plenty of shade - your in the woods a lot but the back open up briefly before you head back in
June has been extremely hot this year so we were pouring by hole 3 but like I said plenty of shade and benches to rest on each hole
Cons: some very narrow fairways but this doesn't necessarily mean it is a con - it was for most of our group of 6 as half were first timers
Minor inconveniences = not all the course maps were posted at the start, no scorecard or map at the office, no water fountains or bathroom near the first hole or anywhere on the course -bring water or other beverages
Woods can be thick in places with lots of pine straw so check for buried discs
Other Thoughts: we were on vacation down from va beach and it was awesome to find an 18 hole challenging course close to our cottage

Bonus - found a lost disc and didn't lose one

If you are vacationing near and play take an opportunity to check it out

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    6/23/2015   6/23/2015
Review By: mazurka1
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course in a park setting. Course does not interfere with other activities.

Every hole had a tee sign with a map of the hole and distance.

Most holes had multiple tee pads. The ones that didn't, really didn't need them.

The tee pads are concrete and huge!

Very nice, well kept blue baskets, that are always visable when you get within 100 feet.

Great mix of hole types and distances. There was one hole that was over 800 ft. By far the longest hole I have ever played. The first hole was aceable, which I love because I've played too many courses that have 500+ ft holes that kill you right out of the gate.
Cons: NOTHING, NADA, ZIP, ZILCH
Other Thoughts: I am on vacation with my family. I visited this course all the way from Kalamazoo, MI. Around there we have 12 courses within 20 minutes. I was quite surprised that this was the only 18 hole coarse around. This course would fit in well with the top five courses up there. I really wish it was closer to home.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bring the Bug Spray!

1    6/6/2015   6/6/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2015
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For an area that is very congested and doesn't have a lot of decent 18 hole loops, Socastee fills that gap nicely. It is a very nice recreational park with a ton of amenities, warmup fields, and other sporting events. You can tell that disc golf is becoming a higher priority here. There was a practice basket and a nice kiosk by the first hole.

Nice Discatchers...all decked out in blue!

18 holes, mostly through heavy woods, that are a very tough challenge of supreme precision.

Tee pads are beyond ample on every hole. Some holes have an alternative "blue tee" which largely adds only a bit of length, but even further increases the difficulty.

Great job of scattering in a few par 4s and 5s to break the monotony of what could have otherwise been death by short, narrow par 3.

Overall fairly good signage and navigation, but unfortunately some of the navigation signs from hole to hole have been moved around and are hard to see.

Very nice benches at most tees on the front nine.

I thought 10 was a really cool hole. After trudging through deep woods for the front nine, you get a reprieve of a really long, bomber's open field to a tucked pin which made a very nice par 3.
Cons: There are a lot of hole designs at this course that are really a bit lacking. Hole 4 shows on the sign two various lines to the basket, but the fairway is no more than 4-5 paces wide, and neither of those lines really exist. I don't find poke-and-pray to be a good hole design, and that is what I found on that hole.

11 was pretty bad too. It is supposed to be a long anhyzer from one fairway to another tucked behind the trees, but the line is a bit silly. It plays more like a throw straight down a creek.

17 - I appreciate calling the sporting fields OB, and using the little creek to make an "island" green. But there isn't a good line into the pin that won't either be blocked by trees or skip off of the hardpan green into the creek.

18 - The first 400 feet are a tunnel between trees and a retaining mound..and it was a total of about 10 paces wide with no room on either side. Then when you break out of the tunnel, there are still a ton of trees in the middle of the fairway. The poke-and-pray motif showed itself again here unfortunately.

A lot of the ground is very lowlying...a few holes we played were partially flooded and were most definitely breeding grounds for the many mosquitoes and horseflys.
Other Thoughts: This course has great ambitions, and with the time that has gone into it so far, I would anticipate it would continue to get better. There already looked to be a new tee pad being installed for another hole on the front nine, but it was in concrete tiles and didn't match the rest. With some selective tree trimming to make a few of the lines more defined, this course could be transformed from a frustrating trudge in the woods to a very nice wooded course.

The front nine had a lot of nice maintenance and upkeep. The back nine sported a walk through abandoned yard furniture, and a bench that was formerly a porch swing that was now up on cinderblocks.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Beast at the Beach!

1    3/26/2015   3/26/2015
Review By: Jgelband
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course. Tons of variety. I played after rain so the course was swampy but I'm leaving that out completely. The front nine was well laid out. I played the blue pads and there were straight shots and shots with specific lines required but I thought the holes were challenging and fun. I was really enjoying myself and then came the back nine. 10-12 started out really nice. more open and stretched out than the front then this course went from good to beast in a hurry. The final 6 holes are a true test of your DG game. Theres fairways but you've really got to hit your lines to get through this section at par. There are elevated baskets, twisting fairways and tons of trouble on both sides.
Cons: None-Top notch legit DG course. Loved it.
Other Thoughts: For a new course this is very polished. The local club or parks dept. has put a ton of work into making this a challenging and fun course. I cant wait to get back!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/19/2014   10/19/2014
Review By: jeffm22458
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great accuracy course. Distances seemed to match how tight each hole was. Perfect concrete pads and pretty good signage. Minor elevation changes. Dont remeber much trash at all, the park seemed very well kept. The par was something like 63. There were definitely 3 par 5s and some par 4s. So this course is beefy, good all around test of your golf game.
Cons: Only thing that would boost this course rating higher is if there were some water or real elevation change
Other Thoughts: Pro level course very much worth playing. Or driving a few hours to get to and spend the day.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it!

1    10/19/2014   10/19/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Challenging course. Good mix of short and fun, and long and punishing. Loved the holes that required placement shots. New tee pads are phenomenal.
Cons: Can't really think of any cons. The back 9 isn't as groomed as the front 9 but the locals are working hard to shape up the course. Id give the course a 5 based on quality of course on the property it's on.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.