Disc Golf Store
Myrtle Beach, SC 
Socastee Rec. Park Share
Uploaded By: Hindenburg Hole #3 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 289ft.   3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Difficult course, with lots of problems

2-4    1/11/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: jacetheace517
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -The course is challenging. I like that.
-Basically every shot tests your accuracy
-Several legit par 4 and 5's
Cons: -This course is borderline dangerous. My first time on the course a partial tree fell on my ankle, then when I maneuvered around that, I put my foot into a sinkhole that was hidden.
-The teeboxes are some of the worst I've played. They are like a sand type mixture inside of a wooden frame. Problem is there's no way to really plant and pivot without slipping. At least for me. I may have pulled a muscle sliding around trying to get a decent run up.
-As has been said in other reviews. There is no tolerance for inaccuracy. 3 feet off of the fairway to either side and basically every hole will add at least 1 stroke to your score
Other Thoughts: Overall. I gave the course a passable. Because I had fun and it was challenging and I like that. But I was extremely frustrated by the tee "pads" and the unsafe footing randomly sprinkled throughout

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Better Than Nothing?

1    3/8/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: vansmith
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets.
It's the only 18 hole course in Myrtle Beach.
Cons: No tee pads.
Holes are not marked.
No distance markers yet.
Tons of ankle breakers.
Too many trees still.
Need to know the par for each hole.
Other Thoughts: First, I'll say, thanks for the effort in building an 18 hole course in Myrtle Beach. It's a great effort and the course does have a lot of potential.

Having said that, I'm assuming they're still working on the course. In its current condition is it ROUGH to say the least. There are very few hole markers and no tee pads. There are orange flags marking the tees, however. If you need to get to the next tee, follow the orange tags in the trees.

As mentioned, the course is very rough. There are huge sticks, limbs, and ankle breakers on every hole. I realize that cutting trees on every hole to build a course is no easy task, but that doesn't make it any less rough. I tripped or twisted my ankle on every hole.

Needs as of March 2013: tee pads, hole descriptions with distance markers, directions to the next hole, clean the course up a lot by getting rid of all the limbs, branches, leftover trees, and definitely by grinding up all the ankle breakers. There are also lots of unnecessary trees still in the fairways. I understand that trees are necessary to make the course harder, but there are still tons of trees that need to come down. Leaving trees is good, leaving too many trees makes the course unplayable.

About the best I can say in its present condition is that it's playable. Perhaps with a lot more work, time, and betterment it will be worth playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Still in the works

1    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: PMGinNC
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First of all thank you for creating another course!
pros; new baskets, park is easily found even with outdated GPS, facilities nearby.
Cons: cons: no visible markings other than faded out hand drawn hole diagrams if you can find them.
no indication where to begin.
no markers directing to the next tee box
could not find the following holes; 5 and 6, 12 - 14. 16 and 18
I only stumbled upon the basket for holes 15 and 17, picked a place to launch from and pressed on.
Other Thoughts: This could be a very nice short course when completed and broken in. The vegetation was so dense that I only used a single easily findable disk for all drives where tee pads could be found. The placement of a simple marker directing you in the direction of the next tee would have made this a much more enjoyable outing. Likewise, tee pad markers of any kind will also be helpful.
The supplied photos must have been taken when the fairways were clear; trying to use them during play was no help in finding locations.
Thanks again for another place to play. Please post when this may be ready. I will be back in Myrtle Beach area I'm sure and would rather spend a few hours in the woods than on the beach.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: themanlevan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the holes we played were decent at most. The ones you can find are fun, not challenging though. although the other reviewers mention its "in progress," I sure hope so.
Cons: the layout was kind of confusing without signs. The fairways were grown in thick. Low course traffic left spiderwebs everywhere and I personally HATE spiderwebs
Other Thoughts: I may return in a year or so to see if any progress has been made but it was a mess when i went

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.