Disc Golf Store
Myrtle Beach, SC 
Socastee Rec. Park Share
Uploaded By: Hindenburg Hole #9 (Taken 3/2012)
-- / --   3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Solid Start

1    8/5/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wooded shots with some real technical challenge
-mixture of hole lengths
-some signage
-intelligent use of the space, with very few holes placed without thought
-fairway vegetation seems pretty well maintained
-not too far out for anyone vacationing in Myrtle Beach
-not crowded at all
-nice new baskets
Cons: -signage missing in some locations and lacking in all
-tees are mostly gravel, some are better than others
-vegetation off the fairway could be pretty snarly
-during my visit, lots of standing water
-decent amount of bugs
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course and a good start for the Myrtle Beach area. The holes were interesting and provided technical challenge without being extremely difficult most of the time. The vegetation generally was not a problem unless you strayed from the fairway, and in that case I mostly expect as much. When I was there, there was a considerable amount of standing water. This with the humidity makes for some bugs which weren't so nice, but you're in the middle of the woods. You have to be fairly tolerant of spiders to get through all the paths. In my opinion, this course makes great use of the beautiful forests I see all throughout South Carolina. One of the greatest indicators for me of a well-done course is one that makes use of the unique landscape of the area, whatever that may be.

My biggest gripe would be the signage- some holes had signs left over from a tournament in January 2014 but some of these are gone and the ones that are still around only give a hole number, length, and par. There is no map of the hole or permanent sign. Such improvements would be a great addition to this course. Navigation was fairly intuitive but not completely clear at some points, so a map online or near the course entrance would be an improvement as well. Also, the tees were mostly gravel, but at least were pretty uniform for most holes. There was at least one hole that because of lack of signage and clear tees I wasn't sure where to begin.

The flip side of this is that all of the baskets were pristine. Some elevation or added length could really make this course exciting, but I think with the space allotted a good course was assembled. For me, it is good, but not quite great. If you are in the area, it is absolutely worth trying out, especially since there isn't a ton else really close.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

There's Rough...and Then There's ROUGH

2-4    3/6/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Socastee Recreational Park is basically the only 18 hole option for disc golf in the Myrtle Beach area, and features a variety of generally well-designed holes ranging from 137 to 760 feet from the white tees. This course is clearly designed to be difficult, and it largely succeeds in walking the fine line between challenge and frustration. Most holes play in an "open woods" style, featuring light to medium obstacles in the fairway, with heavy rough (more on that below). This style is a hallmark of many beloved courses, and Socastee wears it well.

Navigation is fairly intuitive with some diverging paths, but following the one more traveled puts you at the correct hole with relative ease. When I played, temporary tee signs were still in place from a recent tournament, giving what seemed to be accurate hole lengths. A permanent installation of signs with this feature would benefit the course greatly.

All 18 holes play to newer blue Innova baskets that show no signs of wear, vandalism, or other disrepair.
Cons: The bugs have been talked about at length by other reviewers, but I played my rounds in the cold, so I can't speak to that. I can mention the disc- and player-eating rough, which makes any recovery shot a cruel misadventure. From a strategic standpoint, it is the most difficult rough I've ever encountered. Like most rec players, I'm typically of a "play it as it lies" mindset, but there were multiple times I had to give myself an OB penalty because it was better than a tomahawk attempt through the overgrown wilderness. Players should watch for occasional thorns, and watch their step as holes are often obscured by ground cover.

Some of the par 4 & 5 holes (chiefly 13 & 16) seem to be simply mowed out of the woods with no fairway obstacles until the approach shot. I had enough trouble keeping my discs out of the aforementioned rough, but this design element got rather tiresome after a while. I'm personally not a fan of length for the sake of length, and in my opinion almost all long holes at Socastee fit this bill.

Tee pads are natural, and are a type of thick sand. Okay for a forehander like me who only needs a limited run-up, but may be difficult to use for backhand players.

Many holes contained a lot of debris, both natural and manmade (the Hole 5 boat!). While this doesn't make the course feel trashy per se, it certainly doesn't give off a well-manicured vibe. Many lies can be a difficult play for those in tennis shoes because of the natural debris (downed limbs, trees, earthy low spots, exposed roots).
Other Thoughts: If you're vacationing in Myrtle Beach and can't travel as far as Wilmington or Charleston, this is about all you've got in the way of serious disc golf. Luckily, it's not too bad of a course to be stuck with. Although it can be difficult to the point of frustration due to the jungle-thick rough, it's still a round of disc that requires thought and strategy to often satisfying results.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

new course with a future

1    7/28/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: diskchucker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice location, plenty of parking, nice layout, challenging, unique pin placement, Variety of holes.
Cons: Hardly any signage, however we were able to navigate using common sense. If more people would come out and support this course im sure it will become a great one. To my knowledge there are only a handful of folks playing as well as doing maintenance. Come on people lets get out there and support this course! 18 is very straight and tight do not do what i did and hook one off to the right lol. The thick woods and ridge are hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in the area I would love to help with the signage among other things. We all should give this course some play time as it will help get things going there. If you are in the myrtle beach area, you should give it a try.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    7/11/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: cberney
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really liked this course, not too much walking, easy to find next tee pad. Has a great layout on the front 9 holes. Great technical course, must play for locals and tourists.
Cons: The back 9 holes too long, not easy to find next tee pads on some holes. Very wet on back nine.
Other Thoughts: Other reviews said they saw snakes. Didn't see any when I played, but a tick found me. So check everyone over when finished playing. I suggest playing the front 9 twice.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Coming along nicely

2-4    3/16/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: chrisjbarr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long holes. Only wooded course in the area. Not crowded
Cons: Still needs signage, but myself and some others have put up some directional signs at each hole. Kudos to the guys building this course, it is much needed around here and much appreciated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  The Rollers Course

2-4    6/14/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Dsavage
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if you roll like i do this is one of the best courses in the mb area
Cons: it looks as if they bush hoged the woods but they left ALL if the trees
Not well marked
Other Thoughts: this would be a nice course if there were marked tees and signs to next tee

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Socastee update - more baskets

2-4    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: dpduncan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1-4 and 6-9 marked with temp. tee signs and formal baskets. No tee sign for #5 and no basket either, although the mounting bracket in the ground is there. Holes are mostly par 3 with one par 4. Still very rough and many trees protecting the holes.
Cons: Baskets for 10, 11 and 12 exist (across the road from the front 9), but no tees marked and "fairway" for 12 is very, very rough. Found a basket marked #15, but never found a tee, and never found baskets for 13 and 14. Gave up after than, not sure how many other holes have been roughed out.
Other Thoughts: There is a new practice putting basket behind the park office building, just inside the gate. Hole 1 begins just across the main entry road from the park office building. This has the makings of a challenging, thread-the-needle course but needs finishing and needs more player traffic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 newest course in mb area

5+    3/12/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: Hindenburg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: holes are very diverse. lots of lefty friendly stuff. only 10 of the holes are playable but IMO they are some of the best holes that are playable in the myrtle beach area.
Is on a public park so has great acess to vending machines, bathrooms etc
Cons: not completed. 10 holes are playable at the moment

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.