Myrtle Beach, SC 
Socastee Rec. Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #2
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better Than Nothing?

1    3/8/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: vansmith
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets.
It's the only 18 hole course in Myrtle Beach.
Cons: No tee pads.
Holes are not marked.
No distance markers yet.
Tons of ankle breakers.
Too many trees still.
Need to know the par for each hole.
Other Thoughts: First, I'll say, thanks for the effort in building an 18 hole course in Myrtle Beach. It's a great effort and the course does have a lot of potential.

Having said that, I'm assuming they're still working on the course. In its current condition is it ROUGH to say the least. There are very few hole markers and no tee pads. There are orange flags marking the tees, however. If you need to get to the next tee, follow the orange tags in the trees.

As mentioned, the course is very rough. There are huge sticks, limbs, and ankle breakers on every hole. I realize that cutting trees on every hole to build a course is no easy task, but that doesn't make it any less rough. I tripped or twisted my ankle on every hole.

Needs as of March 2013: tee pads, hole descriptions with distance markers, directions to the next hole, clean the course up a lot by getting rid of all the limbs, branches, leftover trees, and definitely by grinding up all the ankle breakers. There are also lots of unnecessary trees still in the fairways. I understand that trees are necessary to make the course harder, but there are still tons of trees that need to come down. Leaving trees is good, leaving too many trees makes the course unplayable.

About the best I can say in its present condition is that it's playable. Perhaps with a lot more work, time, and betterment it will be worth playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I See Potential

2-4    2/5/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: nc-hyzer1
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An 18 hole course in Myrtle Beach. Short and long holes. Park is clean. By reading the course description I was able to navigate pretty easy. new baskets
Cons: Tripping hazards everywhere, no signs with footage or next tee markers would help. Some tee lines are off center or only provide one option to throw.
Other Thoughts: Thanks for a new course. I do understand that this course is new and the funds may not be there yet to complete everything that needs to be done quickly. The course at this time seems to lack an identity. The holes have a good basic design and appear to have been worked recently. I played the course two consecutive days and instead of stating the obvious from the other reviews I will give my feedback in a constructive manner. As stated I played two days and saw no one on the course, with the lack of courses in the area I was confused as why, I would tailor the course to stay challenging for current players, but inviting to attract new players to grow the sport in the local area. Please don't take this in a negative way; these are just my opinions from two days. Your plans may not been seen yet since the course is not complete.
Hole 1- Short but ok
Hole 2- Feels like it is there to make 18 holes. I would remove and make hole 3 the new 2
Hole 3- not bad, I would move the cage back towards the road on the edge of the tree line
Hole 4- the distance is good, I would remove a few trees to the right for an optional throwing lane. Would add a mental approach to the hole. (This is repeated a few times)
Hole 5- short, need s some clearing around cage.
Hole 6- Slide the cage to the right.
Hole 7- Poor throwing lane from box, center the tee and removing a few trees to the left will provide a second option and make players decide on a lane and increase challenge.
Hole 8- Same as hole 7, and Tee box should be moved up 20-30 feet, to close to 7's basket.
Hole 9- Tee box needs alignment or remove last to trees on the stump at tee box where the others have been removed.
Hole 10- worthless- could not play do to lacrosse practice both nights. Move tee to 11's spot
Hole 11- Move up around ditch then basket back to the left.
Hole 12- I like it, options are there, hit the basket with a "tomahawk throw"
Hole 13- current hole could stay if trees were thinned around 90 degree turn. I would make this 2 holes , I placed two orange wraps on a tree inside the turn where I would put the basket, and some just past it where I would put the new 13 tee. This would make up for removing hole 2
Hole 14- Good
Hole 15- Good, short but requires a straight shot
Hole 16- Nice long hole, move the basket back 100 ft. and tuck into trees, marked with the orange wraps. This would keep the integrity of the hole and allow the basket for 16 to become tee for 17
Hole 17- too easy, moving to 16's basket adds difficulty and makes the ditch become more of an obstacle. Leave other tee as alt.
Hole 18- This hole felt like it was long to say this course has a long hole; it did not have a good flow. I would move the tee up 100-150ft and the basket up 50 ft. (marked with a stick in the ground with orange wraps) and use the dirt around the basket area to make a new the elevated basket.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unacceptable

1    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice new blue discatchers.
Practice basket.
Lots of non-disc golf activities at park
just 5 miles from Surfside Walmart. Only 17 minute drive from my beachside hotel.
holes 7 and 15 were acceptable holes.
Cons: This is the worst 18 hole course I have ever played. nearly no signage, no tees, no flow, no navigational aids, and back nine is appauling:
1. was a short hole with no clear tee.
2. black mat as a tee, basket tucked blindly into the trees with fence on right.
3. blank sign just said "hole 3 par 3" no other info.
4. Someone drew flight paths on the blank sign. Narrow, but fair 300 foot hole.
5. Basket is missing. Their is a stick with a Pepsi can stuck in the anchor. I was not he only one who had trouble finding 5's tee.
"You need better signage please, could not find 5 or 6's tees. Thank you- Pittsburg, PA"
was written on 7's tee sign.
8's sign was degraded and the hole was not obvious to find. There was little to no fairway.
9 was tight right off the tee then opens up to an average hold.
I never found tees for 10 or 11, but I did find the baskets and made an educated guess. I back tracked down a path to the right of basket 11, looking for 11's tee and stumbled upon the tee for 12, which was just a 12 spray painted on a tree. 12 was possibly the single worst designed hole I have ever seen. you stand on the tee stairing at a wall of trees and over grown grass. There is a small trail to the right which is supposed to be the fairway, but there is no logical rhyme or reason to this hole. After 12 you have to wander down a trail on the right. eventually you will bump into basket 13. Look back from basket 13 and you will see no tee, no clear fairway or possibility of a fairway. After 13 you walk down a narrow path that is only 5 feet wide in some areas and realize this is the fairway for 14. It is very narrow with no tee. After 14 turn left or you will wander the woods for a while. 15 is a tunnel shot. One of the few acceptable holes on the course.
16 was no where to be found. I thought I found it and played from a bridge to a basket. The basket was 17. There was no visable tee area for 17. I then searched for 10 minutes and never found a tee or basket for 18.

The practice basket is against a fence so you can only shoot at it from one side. Just shows the thought process of the "designers"
Other Thoughts: Individual hole rating:
1 below average, 2 below average, 3. average, 4 average, 5 missing basket, 6 below average, 7 average, 8 below average, 9 below average, 10. below average. 11 below average, 12 HORRIBLE, 13 bad, 14, bad, 15. average, 16 WHERE IS IT? 17. Safari, below average, 18. WHERE IS IT?

I left wondering why anyone would leave the beach to play this course. I have played over 170 courses and am confident that this is the worst 18 holer I have ever played. Not even tee signs and large concrete tees can save this course. There is no signs of improvement or work, just signs of neglect.
Seriously, don't waste your time. I will upload pictures and videos to show how rough this course is.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Still in the works

1    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: PMGinNC
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First of all thank you for creating another course!
pros; new baskets, park is easily found even with outdated GPS, facilities nearby.
Cons: cons: no visible markings other than faded out hand drawn hole diagrams if you can find them.
no indication where to begin.
no markers directing to the next tee box
could not find the following holes; 5 and 6, 12 - 14. 16 and 18
I only stumbled upon the basket for holes 15 and 17, picked a place to launch from and pressed on.
Other Thoughts: This could be a very nice short course when completed and broken in. The vegetation was so dense that I only used a single easily findable disk for all drives where tee pads could be found. The placement of a simple marker directing you in the direction of the next tee would have made this a much more enjoyable outing. Likewise, tee pad markers of any kind will also be helpful.
The supplied photos must have been taken when the fairways were clear; trying to use them during play was no help in finding locations.
Thanks again for another place to play. Please post when this may be ready. I will be back in Myrtle Beach area I'm sure and would rather spend a few hours in the woods than on the beach.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: themanlevan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the holes we played were decent at most. The ones you can find are fun, not challenging though. although the other reviewers mention its "in progress," I sure hope so.
Cons: the layout was kind of confusing without signs. The fairways were grown in thick. Low course traffic left spiderwebs everywhere and I personally HATE spiderwebs
Other Thoughts: I may return in a year or so to see if any progress has been made but it was a mess when i went

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  The Rollers Course

2-4    6/14/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Dsavage
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if you roll like i do this is one of the best courses in the mb area
Cons: it looks as if they bush hoged the woods but they left ALL if the trees
Not well marked
Other Thoughts: this would be a nice course if there were marked tees and signs to next tee

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Socastee update - more baskets

2-4    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: dpduncan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1-4 and 6-9 marked with temp. tee signs and formal baskets. No tee sign for #5 and no basket either, although the mounting bracket in the ground is there. Holes are mostly par 3 with one par 4. Still very rough and many trees protecting the holes.
Cons: Baskets for 10, 11 and 12 exist (across the road from the front 9), but no tees marked and "fairway" for 12 is very, very rough. Found a basket marked #15, but never found a tee, and never found baskets for 13 and 14. Gave up after than, not sure how many other holes have been roughed out.
Other Thoughts: There is a new practice putting basket behind the park office building, just inside the gate. Hole 1 begins just across the main entry road from the park office building. This has the makings of a challenging, thread-the-needle course but needs finishing and needs more player traffic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: medic5888
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A course other than tupulo bay here at the beach.
Blue Discatcher baskets
Tight wooded fairways
Cons: Holes very short, nothing seemed to be past 250 - 300 feet.
No tee pads (i know its in the works)
No next tee signs very hard to navigate, a simple sign like the tee signs that are up would be perfect.
No course map.
Basket placement on some of the holes could be better, especially 1, 2, and 10 it just seems to be a straight shot and a basket 3 feet off the fairway. 1 is just a shot bad layout, 2 could be placed down the straight fairway another 200 + feet and be a better hole utilizing the fence as an ob, 10 could be moved out to the opening and down in that instead of the small cut out of the woods its in, would make for a great lefty or righty anhyzer.
Other Thoughts: I am reviewing this knowing its still under construction so when I return and its fully constructed I will give another review.

I think hole 4 should be a par 3 and not a 4, it was a very easy 3 for me, people with more experience could easily 2 that hole.

Like I said above make some temporary next tee signs as it appears that there used to be some spay pain on the ground making the path to the next hole but thats mostly gone now.

Some of the basket placement just seems thrown in and personally could be in better positions and not take away from the challenge of the hole.

I will say 4 and 9 were my favorite holes, the tightness you have to navigate was great and for people who dont have the confidence to throw straight and through those gaps it will get in their head and be tough.

I personally think there needs to be longer holes I never pulled out a driver other than just messing around, I threw a buzz the entire course (10 holes).

In closing I think this is a great first course for the guys from myrtle beach and look forward to seeing them build many more courses and look forward to seeing and playing this course when it is finished!


UPDATE!!!!!!!!! ok this is going to be bad..... I played this course 3 months later in july, alot of work could have been done to this place to make it a top notch course however that is not the case. the course is grown up with weeds and bushes, nothing has been done since I was there in april. I understand that this course is new and it takes alot of work to keep them maintained but come on MB discgolfers this place is terrible, I could only play 7 holes. This is a waste of baskets. Talking to some of the MB discgolfers the loris course is maintained but the club does not do anything here. I know alot of places that would love to have those baskets and put them to good use. I lowered my rating to a .5, very disappointing, I enjoyed my round at tupelo better than here

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Coming Along

1    4/11/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: Stairyo
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several of the hole layouts are promising. Should be a nice course when it's complete. Front 9 is in a nice shaded peaceful wooded area.
Cons: Most of the cons are due to the "in progress" nature of the course. Several of the wooded holes need some TLC to make them more playable. Course plays near walking paths so be careful of people and their pets. Signage and directions are poor at this point. Hole 2 plays into the wind along a fence with only one open door... make sure not to go right or you will be walking a long way to get your disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is still under construction but it shows potential. I was able to find 14 holes and from what I can see the back nine should be pretty interesting.

I met the course designer while I was there and they were getting ready to do some clearing for more fairways. It sounds like there is a lot of interest in the MB area and there could be a couple more courses coming in the near future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

2-4    4/19/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: dclogic
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun course even for just 10 holes so far. Look forward to playing it when I return on vacation next year. Holes are challenging.
Cons: Not much. If anything, still needs grooming more. You can't ever really have cons when there wasn't anything there before. Always good when a new course comes together.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully this will be a start of courses in this area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.