Disc Golf Store
Myrtle Beach, SC 
Socastee Rec. Park Share
Uploaded By: Hindenburg Hole #9 (Taken 3/2012)
-- / --   3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Still in the works

1    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: PMGinNC
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First of all thank you for creating another course!
pros; new baskets, park is easily found even with outdated GPS, facilities nearby.
Cons: cons: no visible markings other than faded out hand drawn hole diagrams if you can find them.
no indication where to begin.
no markers directing to the next tee box
could not find the following holes; 5 and 6, 12 - 14. 16 and 18
I only stumbled upon the basket for holes 15 and 17, picked a place to launch from and pressed on.
Other Thoughts: This could be a very nice short course when completed and broken in. The vegetation was so dense that I only used a single easily findable disk for all drives where tee pads could be found. The placement of a simple marker directing you in the direction of the next tee would have made this a much more enjoyable outing. Likewise, tee pad markers of any kind will also be helpful.
The supplied photos must have been taken when the fairways were clear; trying to use them during play was no help in finding locations.
Thanks again for another place to play. Please post when this may be ready. I will be back in Myrtle Beach area I'm sure and would rather spend a few hours in the woods than on the beach.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: themanlevan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the holes we played were decent at most. The ones you can find are fun, not challenging though. although the other reviewers mention its "in progress," I sure hope so.
Cons: the layout was kind of confusing without signs. The fairways were grown in thick. Low course traffic left spiderwebs everywhere and I personally HATE spiderwebs
Other Thoughts: I may return in a year or so to see if any progress has been made but it was a mess when i went

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  The Rollers Course

2-4    6/14/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Dsavage
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: if you roll like i do this is one of the best courses in the mb area
Cons: it looks as if they bush hoged the woods but they left ALL if the trees
Not well marked
Other Thoughts: this would be a nice course if there were marked tees and signs to next tee

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Socastee update - more baskets

2-4    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: dpduncan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1-4 and 6-9 marked with temp. tee signs and formal baskets. No tee sign for #5 and no basket either, although the mounting bracket in the ground is there. Holes are mostly par 3 with one par 4. Still very rough and many trees protecting the holes.
Cons: Baskets for 10, 11 and 12 exist (across the road from the front 9), but no tees marked and "fairway" for 12 is very, very rough. Found a basket marked #15, but never found a tee, and never found baskets for 13 and 14. Gave up after than, not sure how many other holes have been roughed out.
Other Thoughts: There is a new practice putting basket behind the park office building, just inside the gate. Hole 1 begins just across the main entry road from the park office building. This has the makings of a challenging, thread-the-needle course but needs finishing and needs more player traffic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/28/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: medic5888
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A course other than tupulo bay here at the beach.
Blue Discatcher baskets
Tight wooded fairways
Cons: Holes very short, nothing seemed to be past 250 - 300 feet.
No tee pads (i know its in the works)
No next tee signs very hard to navigate, a simple sign like the tee signs that are up would be perfect.
No course map.
Basket placement on some of the holes could be better, especially 1, 2, and 10 it just seems to be a straight shot and a basket 3 feet off the fairway. 1 is just a shot bad layout, 2 could be placed down the straight fairway another 200 + feet and be a better hole utilizing the fence as an ob, 10 could be moved out to the opening and down in that instead of the small cut out of the woods its in, would make for a great lefty or righty anhyzer.
Other Thoughts: I am reviewing this knowing its still under construction so when I return and its fully constructed I will give another review.

I think hole 4 should be a par 3 and not a 4, it was a very easy 3 for me, people with more experience could easily 2 that hole.

Like I said above make some temporary next tee signs as it appears that there used to be some spay pain on the ground making the path to the next hole but thats mostly gone now.

Some of the basket placement just seems thrown in and personally could be in better positions and not take away from the challenge of the hole.

I will say 4 and 9 were my favorite holes, the tightness you have to navigate was great and for people who dont have the confidence to throw straight and through those gaps it will get in their head and be tough.

I personally think there needs to be longer holes I never pulled out a driver other than just messing around, I threw a buzz the entire course (10 holes).

In closing I think this is a great first course for the guys from myrtle beach and look forward to seeing them build many more courses and look forward to seeing and playing this course when it is finished!


UPDATE!!!!!!!!! ok this is going to be bad..... I played this course 3 months later in july, alot of work could have been done to this place to make it a top notch course however that is not the case. the course is grown up with weeds and bushes, nothing has been done since I was there in april. I understand that this course is new and it takes alot of work to keep them maintained but come on MB discgolfers this place is terrible, I could only play 7 holes. This is a waste of baskets. Talking to some of the MB discgolfers the loris course is maintained but the club does not do anything here. I know alot of places that would love to have those baskets and put them to good use. I lowered my rating to a .5, very disappointing, I enjoyed my round at tupelo better than here

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Coming Along

1    4/11/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: Stairyo
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several of the hole layouts are promising. Should be a nice course when it's complete. Front 9 is in a nice shaded peaceful wooded area.
Cons: Most of the cons are due to the "in progress" nature of the course. Several of the wooded holes need some TLC to make them more playable. Course plays near walking paths so be careful of people and their pets. Signage and directions are poor at this point. Hole 2 plays into the wind along a fence with only one open door... make sure not to go right or you will be walking a long way to get your disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is still under construction but it shows potential. I was able to find 14 holes and from what I can see the back nine should be pretty interesting.

I met the course designer while I was there and they were getting ready to do some clearing for more fairways. It sounds like there is a lot of interest in the MB area and there could be a couple more courses coming in the near future.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

2-4    4/19/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: dclogic
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun course even for just 10 holes so far. Look forward to playing it when I return on vacation next year. Holes are challenging.
Cons: Not much. If anything, still needs grooming more. You can't ever really have cons when there wasn't anything there before. Always good when a new course comes together.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully this will be a start of courses in this area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 newest course in mb area

5+    3/12/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: Hindenburg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: holes are very diverse. lots of lefty friendly stuff. only 10 of the holes are playable but IMO they are some of the best holes that are playable in the myrtle beach area.
Is on a public park so has great acess to vending machines, bathrooms etc
Cons: not completed. 10 holes are playable at the moment

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.