Frisco, TX 
Dash's Track Share
Uploaded By: lavon_andy Hole #16 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun quick warm up course

2-4    8/23/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Trex530swanson
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: -Very short and quick to play
-Come at different times of the year and you will have two different courses: I mean in the late winter early spring everything is dead and open, you can see the baskets better and there is really no long grass anywhere on the course to lose a disc
-Come late spring through summer and everything is way over grown, still have clean fairways but all the trees are full and black some different lines, the long grass on holes 11-16 can get bad and you can easily lose a disc.
-great tee pads and signs, I never had trouble knowing which way the hole was going.
-multiple basket locations: not sure how often they change them
-Lots of ace runs
-great for putters and mid range rounds, only want a driver on 18 but you don't "need" one

Cons: -Watch for snakes by the creek and long grass around the creek
-when trees and grass are over grown makes it really hard to see some of the baskets, you really have to walk down the fairway to see which basket you are shooting at
-you can get you disc stuck in some thick brush if you over throw the baskets from the tee pad
Other Thoughts: - I love playing this course with intentions of playing another course close by like Bill Allen or McCord

A tale of

1    9/13/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm really torn on this course. Nearly every pro I could list could be considered a con by some...and vice versa. It certainly has its place, however, so here is my most objective opinion with no further adieu.
Nice concrete teepads, but they are shaped trapezoids (if your remember those from school). A bit odd. It certainly adds to the signage confusion, since there is no clear path they face...particularly on 18. The numbers on the baskets almost all face strange directions too. Note to the designer: you are supposed to be able to read the number on the basket from the teepad and/or fairway...the tree facing the street doesn't need to know that it is aiming for the correct basket, but the players do!
Nice signage, but they all seem to face different directions. I swear...there is no rhyme or reason. They may be in front of the teepad, behind the teepad, turned the complete opposite direction, etc. It's like they spun a bottle and pointed the sign where the bottle faced. The sign for hole 18 literally faces the complete wrong direction and is at the back of the tee. You need to face the sign, then turn 180 degrees and throw the other way. If I didn't know better, I would think someone was messing with me.
The course flow is decent if you can ignore where the signs face. A couple of arrows would help, but the course is so short it's not too big of a deal.
It's a short course with short holes. There are several that can give you some challenge, but there are a few that are wide open too. There are multiple pin locations as well, but they don't seem to add much to the shot selections. There are some technical holes, but most are aceable or at least birdieable (is that a word? I don't know, but if not...I own it now and you owe me royalties if you use it).
Because of the short distances, you can play through quickly...unless you end up in the tall grass. More on that later.
Great parking. Wonderful neighborhood. It's a dedicated course, so you aren't going to plunk any passers by...except maybe on 16 where the road is somewhat close on the right.
Some decent elevation changes. Plenty of wildlife such as doves, frogs, lizards, etc. However, there is some extremely tall grass that no doubt holds snakes as well. The fairways are well maintained, but go off those even by 10 feet, and you may never find your disc again in chin-high grass and weeds.
This course has multiple shots that will need to be used, but it seems to favor the LHBH/RHFH players since many baskets seem to lean or dogleg towards the right.
Cons: I juxtaposed these in with the pros, since I mentioned the cons go along with the pros in many cases, so here is the shortened version:

Strange shaped teepads. Teesigns face different directions and are in many different places in relation to the teepads. 18 faces the complete opposite direction. There are several open holes with little to no challenge (a couple of which have a natural breezeway run through them which can have an unexpected wind factor on the disc. Hole 9 looks nice and covered with trees when looking from the tee, but really has a blind spot hidden breezeway that can allow the wind to swoop in and do strange things, so beware. There could be a few arrows that would help course flow. The holes are in...mostly 100-200 ft. The longest is 18 which is marked 345/400 depending on the pin being utilized...which brings me to my next point; the distances listed are not very accurate. There is also an abundance of poison ivy, many bugs, stickers and burrs due to the tall weeds, and a couple of us started sneezing wildly...also, I'm guessing, due to the tall grass and weeds.

4th army drive is closed currently (as of 9/13/2015).
If you are coming from the tollway, you need to go past it, turn right on Teel, turn right on timber ridge, and turn right on 4th army drive to go in the back way.

The major con about this course is the ridiculously high "rough." The fairways are nice and trim, but they are also only 5-15 feet wide in most cases. All grass/weeds on either side of it are waist to head high in most cases. I have no doubt there are snakes hidden. There are some crevices and mini creeks/troughs hidden literally cannot see them for the weeds. Someone in my group almost bit the dust on one of these, and I can easily envision a twisted or broken ankle or a snake bite in these areas. Even if none of that happens (and I hope it doesn't), this is a disc-losing shangri LA. I floated one about 10 feet off the fairway, and it took my group 20 minutes to find it. Seriously. Use brightly colored discs, watch your discs, and get a spotter when applicable.

While there are some very nice holes on this course, it also has 2-3 of the UGLIEST holes I have ever seen. They were wide open, had no challenge, had abundant chest-high weeds, plenty of huge power lines above head, and had nasty patches of dirt and broken up rocks around the pins.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't for everyone.

Who it is for:
Those that live close by, beginners, noodle arms, those looking for a quick play course, those who are in the mood for some birdies and/or aces, those who enjoy natures creatures (there are plenty).

Who it is not for:
Anyone who would have to travel more than 20 minutes to get there (it's not worth it, and there are just better courses around), most advanced or pro players, those with big arms, those looking for a nice and long course, those who like more challenges and greater hole variation throughout, those who like big par 3s, 4s, and 5s.

I really feel that this is a tale of two courses depending on where your DG values lie. If someone ever spent an evening puting some care into it, however, they could dramatically improve this area with little effort.

Last thought: Who is this... "dash," and why does he/she/it have a track??

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A beginner review for a beginner course

5+    5/2/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: alpha_dave
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes=Good large concrete Pads
Baskets= Two pin positions for every hole, baskets are in great shape(at the time I played it)
Signs & Stuff=Excellent signage with distance and location for A & B pins, a few benches spread through the course with a makeshift picnic table at hole 9 and a full size table after 18. Bathrooms and nice playground near by.
Design= Discgolf only area, very little non-golfer interference. The course is short(see also Cons), but the designers worked well with what they had. Fairways rarely get in each others way. Very tight lines on the front nine.
Dave's Point= I really like how the fairways get mowed out of the tall grass every season. I can see the fairways changing every season depending on how they mow, especially on the back nine.
Cons: Tee Boxes=Only one set of pads, and yes they are short.

Baskets=Some of the alternate pin locations seem a little redundant and don't really change the hole very much. The practice basket is currently missing it's chains, it was also originally installed on the ground which I thought was a little kitchy, but my kids loved it.

Design= the course is very short and mostly technical, can be frustrating for big arms with no short game. A couple of the greens are very tight with trees. The rough on the back nine can be out of control. During or after a hard rain this area also becomes flooded and very muddy.

Signs&Stuff= Some of the distances listed are questionable. Bathrooms are a little bit of a walk.

Dave's Point=During the summer when the grass is really long and the temperatures are up, this course becomes almost unplayable. Chiggers and mosquitos and ticks love the water and long grass. Go with bug repellent and make sure your shot lands in the mowed areas.
Other Thoughts: Ratings Breakdown:

Tee Boxes= .75
Baskets= .75
Signs & Stuff= .75
Design= .50
Dave's Point= ..25
total= 3.00

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Never going back

1    6/7/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: soss
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The holes were signed fairly well and the course itself played well.
Cons: VERY unkept. I was pretty disappointed. It has the potential to be a good course, but the rough was the worst rough I've ever seen. It was so thick you couldn't see the ground. 3 of us looked for 1 disc for 30 minutes in an area maybe 200-300 sq ft and never found it. It was also FULL of stickers, our socks and shoes were covered in them. I actually just threw away my socks because they were that bad. If that's not enough, all 3 of us had tons of chigger bites from trudging through the rough. I'm not talking about way out of bounds rough, I mean like 10-20 ft off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: If they haven't mowed down the rough, don't even think about it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite. . .

1    3/15/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Quick round.

-They made the most of the space.

-Nice signs.

-Nice Tee Pads.
Cons: -Way too short.

-Every hole is aceable.

-Playing under massive power lines? No thanks.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Frisco- drive to one of the two McKinney courses, you will be much happier. The designer did what he could with the given land, but that land wasn't much...

This is the only course I've been to in DFW that I wouldn't revisit.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent for what it is.

1    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: OB Four
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good flow b/t holes
-Ace runs a plenty
-Good putter round course
-Grounds are well kept currently
-Good course to bring new players
Cons: -Overall not a super exciting course
-Because the holes are so short, it's hard to feel like you got a true round in.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course for what it is. Really short course, with a lot of ace run possibilities. Good quick tune up course to get your putter driving practice. No need for any disc besides that. That said, the shortness is also its biggest con for me. You never get to really bomb any drives. Good course for a newbie or the distance challenged.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -good use of elevation and land
-nice mix of trees and open field
-short course good for a putter round
-some technical (but not overly so) shots
-nice teepads and signs
Cons: -pretty short
-no 'wow' factor but still a solid fun round
Other Thoughts: Nothing exceptional here but a fun course to play for a warm up, or a cool down, round. I definately will say this course is above average, and i almost wanna give it a 4 star rating but its too short and wont make you reach much for your bag. Only need a putter and perhaps a mid. I liked the front 9 better than the back 9. I think a previous reviewer said it best when he compared this to a putt-putt course ( and thats not necessarily a bad thing)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

That was fun!

1    1/19/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 92  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dash's Tracks designers made the very most of the land that they were given to work with. The course has surprises around every corner and stretches the imagination and the bag in ways that are not encountered on most courses. Massive valleys in the middle of a 200 ft hole, downhill tunnel shots, uneven landing zones, risky ace runs keep the course fun and fresh. The baskets are in great shape the tee pads are massive and the signs are well detailed and informative. Foliage is not obtrusive and navigation / flow is intuitive. The course has rest areas and trash cans; it also starts and ends near the parking lot. A huge pro for me is how unbiased the course is as far as throwing style.
Cons: The cons in my opinion are preferential depending on the player. There are not a lot of long holes that test distance and the majority of the course is very technical. Also, I can imagine how the creeks on the second half of the course could create problems in rainier parts of the year due to it being part of the watershed for the area.
Other Thoughts: Good course for lunch break round.

Very close to Bill Allen and Mccord courses.

Lots of places to eat nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

1    1/19/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 57  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It may seem at first glance that the course would not be great, judging off of the hole distances, but there is a lot here on these shorter holes. There are very tight lanes on most of the holes, especially the first half. You don't need big drives, but a good half of the holes need very accurate drives.
Navigation is never an issue.
Cons: The holes are very much stacked on top of each other. There is a lane of trees separating the neighboring fairways, but you almost always see the other holes. There seemed to be about 15 good holes available. 15 - 17 are mostly open and quite short. There are a number of blind or nearly blind holes.
Other Thoughts: The concrete tee pads are ridiculously large, especially on such a short course, but, hey, it's better than bad tee pads.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  For Disc Golfers

5+    8/25/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: cdgoodlett
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Pads, Signs, Technical holes with variety, mix of shade and sun, benches
Cons: Chiggers, lack of trash cans, only 1 long hole (18)
Other Thoughts: This is a short course but requires accuracy. It can be challenging to stay out of what at times can be very severe rough consisting of tall grass, burs, and some water (unless it is the dead of summer). Without the tall grass and burs it could be pretty vanilla (especially on the back 9 after the city mows). Not really a beginner course IMO. Bring a bag for your trash... please. I emailed the city parks manager but got no response when I asked for more trash cans. As it stands only a few of us are keeping the course from being trashed out. Nice sitting places have been added since opening with a bench at 1 and 9 and one at the 19th hole. Thanks to 2nd shot Scott, and Mitch McChains for those additions!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center