Frisco, TX
Dash's Track Share
Uploaded By: lavon_andy Hole #9 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Easy Course

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: JeffWC15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good fun course! I have only been playing for a few weeks now so this course was good for me and I actually shot even par. More advance players will probably shoot 8 to 12 under on this course. Previous reviewer needs to drive north of the dog park and park in the baseballs fields bu the course sign. Fun fast course!
Cons: Could have more holes over 300 feet. There are some places where the grass was long but I had no problems finding my disk.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dash's Track

1    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: climber3201
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. I like the dog park next to it. Ruff!
Cons: Grass is used as an obstacle on several holes. The holes are very short, except hole 18, which comes as a surprise. Very easy to beat par on this course. With good puts, most holes make for an easy birdie, and there are several ace opportunities.
Other Thoughts: Why is it named after a horse?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Learning Curve

5+    4/30/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: grantfree035
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [My pros and cons are very objective, I take a deeper analysis of the course in other thoughts. Will be updating regularly***]

Baskets: pristine condition since they're brand new.
Tees: concrete and solid foundation. (trapezoid shaped)
Tee Maps: crisp, large, and new!
Course Design: the general course design is well defined. The first 10 holes are in a forestry setting, then open up to a floodplain (open field). The nautical direction of the course leads south the hole 11 and back north to the parking lot.
Cons: Foliage/Maintenance: The fairway is well cut and groomed. Although, the fair can be thin at times or break into smaller paths. This is partly due to the courses final touches. Each time I return they seem to cut a little more grass to make a spacious fairway. They finally groomed their putting greens so it's starting to come together.
Practice Pin: the basket for warming up is not elevated, it literally sits on the ground. I find it a bit humorous.
No trash cans
No benches
Other Thoughts: Distance Variety: each hole length is fairly similar, averaging low 200's, giving several chances to birdie.
Shot Variety: a lot of straight shots are present, but don't take that too lightly, while the fairway isn't too narrow the trees have the tendency to keep you in check. Holes 11 & 18 have a strong curve that are kind to those that flick.
Elevation: The course utilizes the hills for the first 11 holes before leading to the floodplain. It adds some extra variety.
Water Hazards: There are definitely waterways to look at before throwing, always peak at the map.
Hole 11 I advise not to over throw, the basket sits very close to a waterway.
In The Rough: Depending on the hole/player skill, there are a few holes I recommend having a spotter to watch where your disc lands. If you don't land on the fairway, the grass is very tall, thick, and prickly. (bring bug spray, for the chiggers). I have yet to spot Poison Ivy or Oak but i'm still in the lookout.

Final Words: I would recommend this course for Beginners and Intermediates. I find it very useful to practice my mid range throws and putts. If you are a more advanced player, give it a try anyways, you'll never know til you play it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice short, technical course

1    4/4/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of natural features and different lines make the short holes on this course interesting. As short as the holes are, you will not make par if you are not accurate. There are water hazards, trees, brush, and some nice elevation changes to keep you on your toes. The signs are well done and the course is easy to navigate. I took my 4 year old nephew with me and it was a great course for him to play too.
Cons: Its short as most of the reviews say. Also, there is some grooming that I assume will be taken care of the older this course gets. There are a few inaccuracies in the distances and obstacles. Also, the dog park near by can make for distractions and some interesting (if not smelly) obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I am happy Frisco made this course. Its nice to have a new course in the area and I always appreciate a community providing a nice course for us. I have been playing for over 10 years and while I am not a pro, I found this course challenging even for an intermediate experienced player. If you are wanting to work on your short game, playing with beginners, or just want a new course to play, don't pass up this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun New Course

2-4    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: razorsmith.com
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for newer throwers, kids, or those more experienced that want to work on the short technical game. A few wide open, but otherwise lots of trees and water to mess with. Great use of some elevation changes. Good concrete tees and pretty nice signs.
Cons: No place to really air out shots(but Bill Allen is right up the road). Loads of weeds, and no trash cans. Lots of noise with all the barking dogs at the dog park, but you start to tune it out.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that the experience player can play through quickly. Get 2 rounds in in about 1-1.5 hours if carrying minimal gear. The weeds suck, but after a rain it is expected. Plus with people using the course more the foot traffic will help knock them down. I went in expecting a short technical course and was pretty happy. Just park down by the baseball fields, not the dog park. The dog park is by hole 16 and the parking is farther away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good start

5+    3/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little beginner course to get the city involved and interested in the sport! The course is very short which is good for those trying to learn and even for those upper level players working on the short game. Time was taken with not only the tees, signs, and baskets, but the land was rough and needed alot of work to get it ready. Nice concrete pads on all holes and the signs are helpful as well. Navigation isnt an issue either. There are 2 pin placements on all the holes that look like they could be interesting in the furture. Ok, like said before, the couse is short. For upper level players, you wont need anything but a mid, a putter, and maybe a fairway for 18. There are enough trees that make this course more then a pitch and putt too. The elevation is used well here and makes most of those holes not gimme by any means. You have to be accurate in your short game to score well and if you cant putt there are bogeys out there
Cons: The course is SHORT! The water that is out there is pretty nasty and smells too. Can get very muddy and holds the water too. There is still some rough out there that needs to be cleaned but Im sure it will get taken care of.
Other Thoughts: This course is ok. Despite people saying they are going to shoot -18 and hit 5 aces a round, tell me when your going out there because I want to witness it. And yes I was very stoked to have a top notch course next door. Hey this isnt it, but it is a great beginner course and it doesnt need to get punished for being that!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.