Frisco, TX 
Dash's Track Share
Uploaded By: lavon_andy Hole #12 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
A tale of

1    9/13/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm really torn on this course. Nearly every pro I could list could be considered a con by some...and vice versa. It certainly has its place, however, so here is my most objective opinion with no further adieu.
Nice concrete teepads, but they are shaped trapezoids (if your remember those from school). A bit odd. It certainly adds to the signage confusion, since there is no clear path they face...particularly on 18. The numbers on the baskets almost all face strange directions too. Note to the designer: you are supposed to be able to read the number on the basket from the teepad and/or fairway...the tree facing the street doesn't need to know that it is aiming for the correct basket, but the players do!
Nice signage, but they all seem to face different directions. I swear...there is no rhyme or reason. They may be in front of the teepad, behind the teepad, turned the complete opposite direction, etc. It's like they spun a bottle and pointed the sign where the bottle faced. The sign for hole 18 literally faces the complete wrong direction and is at the back of the tee. You need to face the sign, then turn 180 degrees and throw the other way. If I didn't know better, I would think someone was messing with me.
The course flow is decent if you can ignore where the signs face. A couple of arrows would help, but the course is so short it's not too big of a deal.
It's a short course with short holes. There are several that can give you some challenge, but there are a few that are wide open too. There are multiple pin locations as well, but they don't seem to add much to the shot selections. There are some technical holes, but most are aceable or at least birdieable (is that a word? I don't know, but if not...I own it now and you owe me royalties if you use it).
Because of the short distances, you can play through quickly...unless you end up in the tall grass. More on that later.
Great parking. Wonderful neighborhood. It's a dedicated course, so you aren't going to plunk any passers by...except maybe on 16 where the road is somewhat close on the right.
Some decent elevation changes. Plenty of wildlife such as doves, frogs, lizards, etc. However, there is some extremely tall grass that no doubt holds snakes as well. The fairways are well maintained, but go off those even by 10 feet, and you may never find your disc again in chin-high grass and weeds.
This course has multiple shots that will need to be used, but it seems to favor the LHBH/RHFH players since many baskets seem to lean or dogleg towards the right.
Cons: I juxtaposed these in with the pros, since I mentioned the cons go along with the pros in many cases, so here is the shortened version:

Strange shaped teepads. Teesigns face different directions and are in many different places in relation to the teepads. 18 faces the complete opposite direction. There are several open holes with little to no challenge (a couple of which have a natural breezeway run through them which can have an unexpected wind factor on the disc. Hole 9 looks nice and covered with trees when looking from the tee, but really has a blind spot hidden breezeway that can allow the wind to swoop in and do strange things, so beware. There could be a few arrows that would help course flow. The holes are in...mostly 100-200 ft. The longest is 18 which is marked 345/400 depending on the pin being utilized...which brings me to my next point; the distances listed are not very accurate. There is also an abundance of poison ivy, many bugs, stickers and burrs due to the tall weeds, and a couple of us started sneezing wildly...also, I'm guessing, due to the tall grass and weeds.

4th army drive is closed currently (as of 9/13/2015).
If you are coming from the tollway, you need to go past it, turn right on Teel, turn right on timber ridge, and turn right on 4th army drive to go in the back way.

The major con about this course is the ridiculously high "rough." The fairways are nice and trim, but they are also only 5-15 feet wide in most cases. All grass/weeds on either side of it are waist to head high in most cases. I have no doubt there are snakes hidden. There are some crevices and mini creeks/troughs hidden literally cannot see them for the weeds. Someone in my group almost bit the dust on one of these, and I can easily envision a twisted or broken ankle or a snake bite in these areas. Even if none of that happens (and I hope it doesn't), this is a disc-losing shangri LA. I floated one about 10 feet off the fairway, and it took my group 20 minutes to find it. Seriously. Use brightly colored discs, watch your discs, and get a spotter when applicable.

While there are some very nice holes on this course, it also has 2-3 of the UGLIEST holes I have ever seen. They were wide open, had no challenge, had abundant chest-high weeds, plenty of huge power lines above head, and had nasty patches of dirt and broken up rocks around the pins.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't for everyone.

Who it is for:
Those that live close by, beginners, noodle arms, those looking for a quick play course, those who are in the mood for some birdies and/or aces, those who enjoy natures creatures (there are plenty).

Who it is not for:
Anyone who would have to travel more than 20 minutes to get there (it's not worth it, and there are just better courses around), most advanced or pro players, those with big arms, those looking for a nice and long course, those who like more challenges and greater hole variation throughout, those who like big par 3s, 4s, and 5s.

I really feel that this is a tale of two courses depending on where your DG values lie. If someone ever spent an evening puting some care into it, however, they could dramatically improve this area with little effort.

Last thought: Who is this... "dash," and why does he/she/it have a track??

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A beginner review for a beginner course

5+    5/2/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: alpha_dave
Played: 91  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes=Good large concrete Pads
Baskets= Two pin positions for every hole, baskets are in great shape(at the time I played it)
Signs & Stuff=Excellent signage with distance and location for A & B pins, a few benches spread through the course with a makeshift picnic table at hole 9 and a full size table after 18. Bathrooms and nice playground near by.
Design= Discgolf only area, very little non-golfer interference. The course is short(see also Cons), but the designers worked well with what they had. Fairways rarely get in each others way. Very tight lines on the front nine.
Dave's Point= I really like how the fairways get mowed out of the tall grass every season. I can see the fairways changing every season depending on how they mow, especially on the back nine.
Cons: Tee Boxes=Only one set of pads, and yes they are short.

Baskets=Some of the alternate pin locations seem a little redundant and don't really change the hole very much. The practice basket is currently missing it's chains, it was also originally installed on the ground which I thought was a little kitchy, but my kids loved it.

Design= the course is very short and mostly technical, can be frustrating for big arms with no short game. A couple of the greens are very tight with trees. The rough on the back nine can be out of control. During or after a hard rain this area also becomes flooded and very muddy.

Signs&Stuff= Some of the distances listed are questionable. Bathrooms are a little bit of a walk.

Dave's Point=During the summer when the grass is really long and the temperatures are up, this course becomes almost unplayable. Chiggers and mosquitos and ticks love the water and long grass. Go with bug repellent and make sure your shot lands in the mowed areas.
Other Thoughts: Ratings Breakdown:

Tee Boxes= .75
Baskets= .75
Signs & Stuff= .75
Design= .50
Dave's Point= ..25
total= 3.00

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Easy Course

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: JeffWC15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good fun course! I have only been playing for a few weeks now so this course was good for me and I actually shot even par. More advance players will probably shoot 8 to 12 under on this course. Previous reviewer needs to drive north of the dog park and park in the baseballs fields bu the course sign. Fun fast course!
Cons: Could have more holes over 300 feet. There are some places where the grass was long but I had no problems finding my disk.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dash's Track

1    5/20/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: climber3201
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. I like the dog park next to it. Ruff!
Cons: Grass is used as an obstacle on several holes. The holes are very short, except hole 18, which comes as a surprise. Very easy to beat par on this course. With good puts, most holes make for an easy birdie, and there are several ace opportunities.
Other Thoughts: Why is it named after a horse?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Learning Curve

5+    4/30/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: grantfree035
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [My pros and cons are very objective, I take a deeper analysis of the course in other thoughts. Will be updating regularly***]

Baskets: pristine condition since they're brand new.
Tees: concrete and solid foundation. (trapezoid shaped)
Tee Maps: crisp, large, and new!
Course Design: the general course design is well defined. The first 10 holes are in a forestry setting, then open up to a floodplain (open field). The nautical direction of the course leads south the hole 11 and back north to the parking lot.
Cons: Foliage/Maintenance: The fairway is well cut and groomed. Although, the fair can be thin at times or break into smaller paths. This is partly due to the courses final touches. Each time I return they seem to cut a little more grass to make a spacious fairway. They finally groomed their putting greens so it's starting to come together.
Practice Pin: the basket for warming up is not elevated, it literally sits on the ground. I find it a bit humorous.
No trash cans
No benches
Other Thoughts: Distance Variety: each hole length is fairly similar, averaging low 200's, giving several chances to birdie.
Shot Variety: a lot of straight shots are present, but don't take that too lightly, while the fairway isn't too narrow the trees have the tendency to keep you in check. Holes 11 & 18 have a strong curve that are kind to those that flick.
Elevation: The course utilizes the hills for the first 11 holes before leading to the floodplain. It adds some extra variety.
Water Hazards: There are definitely waterways to look at before throwing, always peak at the map.
Hole 11 I advise not to over throw, the basket sits very close to a waterway.
In The Rough: Depending on the hole/player skill, there are a few holes I recommend having a spotter to watch where your disc lands. If you don't land on the fairway, the grass is very tall, thick, and prickly. (bring bug spray, for the chiggers). I have yet to spot Poison Ivy or Oak but i'm still in the lookout.

Final Words: I would recommend this course for Beginners and Intermediates. I find it very useful to practice my mid range throws and putts. If you are a more advanced player, give it a try anyways, you'll never know til you play it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short, technical course

1    4/4/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of natural features and different lines make the short holes on this course interesting. As short as the holes are, you will not make par if you are not accurate. There are water hazards, trees, brush, and some nice elevation changes to keep you on your toes. The signs are well done and the course is easy to navigate. I took my 4 year old nephew with me and it was a great course for him to play too.
Cons: Its short as most of the reviews say. Also, there is some grooming that I assume will be taken care of the older this course gets. There are a few inaccuracies in the distances and obstacles. Also, the dog park near by can make for distractions and some interesting (if not smelly) obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I am happy Frisco made this course. Its nice to have a new course in the area and I always appreciate a community providing a nice course for us. I have been playing for over 10 years and while I am not a pro, I found this course challenging even for an intermediate experienced player. If you are wanting to work on your short game, playing with beginners, or just want a new course to play, don't pass up this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun New Course

2-4    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By:
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for newer throwers, kids, or those more experienced that want to work on the short technical game. A few wide open, but otherwise lots of trees and water to mess with. Great use of some elevation changes. Good concrete tees and pretty nice signs.
Cons: No place to really air out shots(but Bill Allen is right up the road). Loads of weeds, and no trash cans. Lots of noise with all the barking dogs at the dog park, but you start to tune it out.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that the experience player can play through quickly. Get 2 rounds in in about 1-1.5 hours if carrying minimal gear. The weeds suck, but after a rain it is expected. Plus with people using the course more the foot traffic will help knock them down. I went in expecting a short technical course and was pretty happy. Just park down by the baseball fields, not the dog park. The dog park is by hole 16 and the parking is farther away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good start

5+    3/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little beginner course to get the city involved and interested in the sport! The course is very short which is good for those trying to learn and even for those upper level players working on the short game. Time was taken with not only the tees, signs, and baskets, but the land was rough and needed alot of work to get it ready. Nice concrete pads on all holes and the signs are helpful as well. Navigation isnt an issue either. There are 2 pin placements on all the holes that look like they could be interesting in the furture. Ok, like said before, the couse is short. For upper level players, you wont need anything but a mid, a putter, and maybe a fairway for 18. There are enough trees that make this course more then a pitch and putt too. The elevation is used well here and makes most of those holes not gimme by any means. You have to be accurate in your short game to score well and if you cant putt there are bogeys out there
Cons: The course is SHORT! The water that is out there is pretty nasty and smells too. Can get very muddy and holds the water too. There is still some rough out there that needs to be cleaned but Im sure it will get taken care of.
Other Thoughts: This course is ok. Despite people saying they are going to shoot -18 and hit 5 aces a round, tell me when your going out there because I want to witness it. And yes I was very stoked to have a top notch course next door. Hey this isnt it, but it is a great beginner course and it doesnt need to get punished for being that!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.