Frisco, TX 
Dash's Track Share
Uploaded By: lavon_andy Hole #15 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
  MOW!

2-4    4/20/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Scho
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some short ace runs. Good for beginners for the most part (see cons). Good for working on short game. Nice tee pads and new baskets.
Cons: Nothing is mowed except a 6 foot strip down the middle of the fairway. There were several times we pulled ticks off of us. This course took so long to play because if you do happen to run at a basket and go long or maybe a little left or right, you will spend time looking for your disc. This course needs some serious grooming. The lack of grooming really destroys what would be an excellent beginner course or a fun course for people looking to work on their short game and ace count. I will not be back.
Other Thoughts: I was looking forward to this course because my girlfriend recently started playing and I was hoping some shorter holes like this would solidify her interest in the game. However, we spent a ton of time scouring through tall grass looking for discs. I have found 2 discs that were not mine on this course both times I played. This also becomes a problem if you throw multiple discs. It simply needs grooming. Have I mentioned it needs to be mowed?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short, technical course

1    4/4/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of natural features and different lines make the short holes on this course interesting. As short as the holes are, you will not make par if you are not accurate. There are water hazards, trees, brush, and some nice elevation changes to keep you on your toes. The signs are well done and the course is easy to navigate. I took my 4 year old nephew with me and it was a great course for him to play too.
Cons: Its short as most of the reviews say. Also, there is some grooming that I assume will be taken care of the older this course gets. There are a few inaccuracies in the distances and obstacles. Also, the dog park near by can make for distractions and some interesting (if not smelly) obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I am happy Frisco made this course. Its nice to have a new course in the area and I always appreciate a community providing a nice course for us. I have been playing for over 10 years and while I am not a pro, I found this course challenging even for an intermediate experienced player. If you are wanting to work on your short game, playing with beginners, or just want a new course to play, don't pass up this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run Fun

5+    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***UPDATE-Played yesterday (4/11/12). The fairways and areas around the tee Pads and baskets have been mowed. They course also has a few trash bins-UPDATE***
Great Tee pads, incredible baskets and some wicked ace run looks! Really easy to navigate. I've been playing less than a year and my game still lacks a certain finesse/touch. This course is perfect to help refine those mid range skills. If you don't have a lot of time, you can usually get around this course pretty quick. We ran around it twice in just over an hour. I can easily see advanced players would get bored out here, but for the new throwers/game refiners/work in a new mid range or putter disc/warm up for Bill Allen down the road/just out to have a fun 18 crowd, it's sure not to disappoint.
Cons: As mentioned above, areas have been mowed. There still is an awful amount of brush to contend with. Its a great start, though. As short as the course is, there is still a moderate to high risk of losing a disc. I've found one each time I've played. The signs for each hole look great but a few of the footage measurements are off. I know one hole in particular that lists a basket 240ft away that is at least 300. I also noticed one of the signs incorrectly placed a water hazard behind a landmark rather than in front. That's the type of thing that can lighten one's bag. Be aware of the meandering organic soup on the back nine. I'm not sure if this includes some run off from the local dog park, but it makes for some nasty retrieving.
Other Thoughts: You can leave the big bags, seats and the strollers in the car. All you need for this course is 3 or 4 discs tops.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 fun short finesse course

1    4/6/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great piece of land, lots of woods, elevation, & water
-very fun layout, lots of short but tight placement shots
-nice concrete tees, new DGA baskets, details signs at each tee
-plenty of parking, lot right next to holes 1 & 18
-very close to Bill Allen, good pair of courses for a day of discing
-new but already has paths worn in between holes, navigation is easy
-excellent course for kids and beginners
Cons: -grass and weeds growing quickly with the spring rains, discs can be hard to find in the tall grass. not too problematic since the holes are short but something to think about on the tee
-would be great to have some well-placed trash cans around the course
-very short, people looking to bomb drivers will be bored here
Other Thoughts: This is a fun short course on a great little piece of park land. The front 9 plays through some tight woods where slight elevation changes come into play on many holes. There is a good variety between right and left turning shots and there are well-protected baskets. The back 9 is slightly longer with mostly open shots but a small creek comes into play on 5 of the holes.

The shots are short but not necessarily easy. You need to hit the right lines off the box to get on the green and have a good look at the basket. Don't be fooled by the pictures here, the holes get much tighter when the foliage starts to fill in. It will be like 2 different courses between winter and summer. Overthrowing on the front 9 usually means you are in the rough without a clear putt. You really have to be accurate and manage your distance to score well. My favorites were Hole 11, a big anhyzer shot downhill to a basket just in front of the creek; Hole 5, a short downhill shot to a very well protected basket; and Hole 18 the one longer hole, a big hyzer through a channel of trees to a semi-protected basket.

I had a blast playing here. It's not a place you'll want to drive across town to play often but it is worth checking out and definitely worth playing if you are playing at Bill Allen the same day. If you're having a good day you can shoot well below par but it is easy to rack up 3's or 4's if you're not hitting your lines off the tee.

**Update**
Much better manicured fairways now with cut grass and lots of the foliage removed. The front 9 is a little more open now and the back 9 have defined fairways with taller rough. The course has clearly gotten a lot of play already and is in much better shape.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun New Course

2-4    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: razorsmith.com
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/2/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for newer throwers, kids, or those more experienced that want to work on the short technical game. A few wide open, but otherwise lots of trees and water to mess with. Great use of some elevation changes. Good concrete tees and pretty nice signs.
Cons: No place to really air out shots(but Bill Allen is right up the road). Loads of weeds, and no trash cans. Lots of noise with all the barking dogs at the dog park, but you start to tune it out.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that the experience player can play through quickly. Get 2 rounds in in about 1-1.5 hours if carrying minimal gear. The weeds suck, but after a rain it is expected. Plus with people using the course more the foot traffic will help knock them down. I went in expecting a short technical course and was pretty happy. Just park down by the baseball fields, not the dog park. The dog park is by hole 16 and the parking is farther away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Practice Course

1    3/17/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: ner02
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course, but with a good variety of lines and elevation. Won't provide much of a challenge for the experienced player on a calm day, but in the wind, you'll realize how bad you are at approaching an uphill basket 175ft away with a crosswind.

Great tee signs, easy to navigate.
Cons: Rough is still pretty rough. Might have to search for a disc a while in taller weeds.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great start to what will be a great family park

1    3/25/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: mrstiggy
Played: 78  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation.

NIce new baskets.

Great signs.
Easy navigation.
Excellent place to work on your putt and approach.
Great to take your smaller children to to learn the game. Great use of elevation considering the land used.
Bill Allen just a mile or so up the road for you to streatch your arm out.
Cons: No trashcans. Lets face it, discgolfers love their beer and alot of them forget to throw them away, having trashcans is a friendly reminder. Anything that you carry in should be carried out, but I can see a litte problem rise with out some trash cans. The Rough is very rough. Swamps and prickley things everywhere. Fairways and greens are poorly groomed.
Other Thoughts: I am not going to be the one that complains about this course being short. I knew that going into it. I was happy with how technical a lot of the holes were based on the land they had to work on. I would not say that a regular player would be board here, he might finish 7 down, but had a lot of fun ace runs. Best thing this is for is to get younger kids into the game. I will bring my young girls back again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good start

5+    3/14/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little beginner course to get the city involved and interested in the sport! The course is very short which is good for those trying to learn and even for those upper level players working on the short game. Time was taken with not only the tees, signs, and baskets, but the land was rough and needed alot of work to get it ready. Nice concrete pads on all holes and the signs are helpful as well. Navigation isnt an issue either. There are 2 pin placements on all the holes that look like they could be interesting in the furture. Ok, like said before, the couse is short. For upper level players, you wont need anything but a mid, a putter, and maybe a fairway for 18. There are enough trees that make this course more then a pitch and putt too. The elevation is used well here and makes most of those holes not gimme by any means. You have to be accurate in your short game to score well and if you cant putt there are bogeys out there
Cons: The course is SHORT! The water that is out there is pretty nasty and smells too. Can get very muddy and holds the water too. There is still some rough out there that needs to be cleaned but Im sure it will get taken care of.
Other Thoughts: This course is ok. Despite people saying they are going to shoot -18 and hit 5 aces a round, tell me when your going out there because I want to witness it. And yes I was very stoked to have a top notch course next door. Hey this isnt it, but it is a great beginner course and it doesnt need to get punished for being that!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Really?

2-4    3/9/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Really nice park. The park is a beautiful park that I really expected more out of. It is an ace race. Great fun if you are looking to only carry a buzz and a putter or something. The tee pads are awesome, not that you need them. Nice signs.
Cons: Entirely too short. Even newbies should be bored here. This park is entirely too nice to put this joke in here. I am not sure what the goal was here. I have played better 9 holes. Maybe I just got left out on the memo about what this course was supposed to be for.
Other Thoughts: Unless you live in Frisco, and are totally bored with other courses, don't bother. Unless you need an ego boost or something, or just really want to shoot 18 down or get an ace. Again, really nice surrounding park, which had me thinking they were going to put a good course in here. Nope. It is the equivalent to a putt putt ball golf course. Only thing it is missing is a giant windmill and clown that spits your putters back out to you.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.