Frisco, TX 
Dash's Track Share
Uploaded By: lavon_andy Hole #4 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
A beginner review for a beginner course

5+    5/2/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: alpha_dave
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes=Good large concrete Pads
Baskets= Two pin positions for every hole, baskets are in great shape(at the time I played it)
Signs & Stuff=Excellent signage with distance and location for A & B pins, a few benches spread through the course with a makeshift picnic table at hole 9 and a full size table after 18. Bathrooms and nice playground near by.
Design= Discgolf only area, very little non-golfer interference. The course is short(see also Cons), but the designers worked well with what they had. Fairways rarely get in each others way. Very tight lines on the front nine.
Dave's Point= I really like how the fairways get mowed out of the tall grass every season. I can see the fairways changing every season depending on how they mow, especially on the back nine.
Cons: Tee Boxes=Only one set of pads, and yes they are short.

Baskets=Some of the alternate pin locations seem a little redundant and don't really change the hole very much. The practice basket is currently missing it's chains, it was also originally installed on the ground which I thought was a little kitchy, but my kids loved it.

Design= the course is very short and mostly technical, can be frustrating for big arms with no short game. A couple of the greens are very tight with trees. The rough on the back nine can be out of control. During or after a hard rain this area also becomes flooded and very muddy.

Signs&Stuff= Some of the distances listed are questionable. Bathrooms are a little bit of a walk.

Dave's Point=During the summer when the grass is really long and the temperatures are up, this course becomes almost unplayable. Chiggers and mosquitos and ticks love the water and long grass. Go with bug repellent and make sure your shot lands in the mowed areas.
Other Thoughts: Ratings Breakdown:

Tee Boxes= .75
Baskets= .75
Signs & Stuff= .75
Design= .50
Dave's Point= ..25
total= 3.00

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Never going back

1    6/7/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: soss
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The holes were signed fairly well and the course itself played well.
Cons: VERY unkept. I was pretty disappointed. It has the potential to be a good course, but the rough was the worst rough I've ever seen. It was so thick you couldn't see the ground. 3 of us looked for 1 disc for 30 minutes in an area maybe 200-300 sq ft and never found it. It was also FULL of stickers, our socks and shoes were covered in them. I actually just threw away my socks because they were that bad. If that's not enough, all 3 of us had tons of chigger bites from trudging through the rough. I'm not talking about way out of bounds rough, I mean like 10-20 ft off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: If they haven't mowed down the rough, don't even think about it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite. . .

1    3/15/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Quick round.

-They made the most of the space.

-Nice signs.

-Nice Tee Pads.
Cons: -Way too short.

-Every hole is aceable.

-Playing under massive power lines? No thanks.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Frisco- drive to one of the two McKinney courses, you will be much happier. The designer did what he could with the given land, but that land wasn't much...

This is the only course I've been to in DFW that I wouldn't revisit.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent for what it is.

1    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: OB Four
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good flow b/t holes
-Ace runs a plenty
-Good putter round course
-Grounds are well kept currently
-Good course to bring new players
Cons: -Overall not a super exciting course
-Because the holes are so short, it's hard to feel like you got a true round in.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course for what it is. Really short course, with a lot of ace run possibilities. Good quick tune up course to get your putter driving practice. No need for any disc besides that. That said, the shortness is also its biggest con for me. You never get to really bomb any drives. Good course for a newbie or the distance challenged.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: FarFromPar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -good use of elevation and land
-nice mix of trees and open field
-short course good for a putter round
-some technical (but not overly so) shots
-nice teepads and signs
Cons: -pretty short
-no 'wow' factor but still a solid fun round
Other Thoughts: Nothing exceptional here but a fun course to play for a warm up, or a cool down, round. I definately will say this course is above average, and i almost wanna give it a 4 star rating but its too short and wont make you reach much for your bag. Only need a putter and perhaps a mid. I liked the front 9 better than the back 9. I think a previous reviewer said it best when he compared this to a putt-putt course ( and thats not necessarily a bad thing)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

That was fun!

1    1/19/2014   1/23/2014
Review By: jrrttmrgn
Played: 91  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dash's Tracks designers made the very most of the land that they were given to work with. The course has surprises around every corner and stretches the imagination and the bag in ways that are not encountered on most courses. Massive valleys in the middle of a 200 ft hole, downhill tunnel shots, uneven landing zones, risky ace runs keep the course fun and fresh. The baskets are in great shape the tee pads are massive and the signs are well detailed and informative. Foliage is not obtrusive and navigation / flow is intuitive. The course has rest areas and trash cans; it also starts and ends near the parking lot. A huge pro for me is how unbiased the course is as far as throwing style.
Cons: The cons in my opinion are preferential depending on the player. There are not a lot of long holes that test distance and the majority of the course is very technical. Also, I can imagine how the creeks on the second half of the course could create problems in rainier parts of the year due to it being part of the watershed for the area.
Other Thoughts: Good course for lunch break round.

Very close to Bill Allen and Mccord courses.

Lots of places to eat nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

1    1/19/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 55  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It may seem at first glance that the course would not be great, judging off of the hole distances, but there is a lot here on these shorter holes. There are very tight lanes on most of the holes, especially the first half. You don't need big drives, but a good half of the holes need very accurate drives.
Navigation is never an issue.
Cons: The holes are very much stacked on top of each other. There is a lane of trees separating the neighboring fairways, but you almost always see the other holes. There seemed to be about 15 good holes available. 15 - 17 are mostly open and quite short. There are a number of blind or nearly blind holes.
Other Thoughts: The concrete tee pads are ridiculously large, especially on such a short course, but, hey, it's better than bad tee pads.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  For Disc Golfers

5+    8/25/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: cdgoodlett
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee Pads, Signs, Technical holes with variety, mix of shade and sun, benches
Cons: Chiggers, lack of trash cans, only 1 long hole (18)
Other Thoughts: This is a short course but requires accuracy. It can be challenging to stay out of what at times can be very severe rough consisting of tall grass, burs, and some water (unless it is the dead of summer). Without the tall grass and burs it could be pretty vanilla (especially on the back 9 after the city mows). Not really a beginner course IMO. Bring a bag for your trash... please. I emailed the city parks manager but got no response when I asked for more trash cans. As it stands only a few of us are keeping the course from being trashed out. Nice sitting places have been added since opening with a bench at 1 and 9 and one at the 19th hole. Thanks to 2nd shot Scott, and Mitch McChains for those additions!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Putt & Approach

1    6/7/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Nice teepads, signs, and baskets
- Good variety of lines required - hyzer, anhyzer, straight, uphill, downhill
- Well defined fairways
- Clean, well maintained
- Great short-game practice
- Several ace-able holes
Cons:
- Very short holes, no drivers required
- Feels almost like you're only playing half a round, because you never get a chance to rip a long drive
- Tall grass in the back 9, some holes almost require a spotter
- Update: CHIGGERS! My ankles got destroyed after playing here. This would probably be the biggest reason I wouldn't play here again.
Other Thoughts:
- The holes are short, but not easy. Most have a very tight window to hit, and if you miss it, there is tall grass or thick underbrush to deal with
- There is so much empty land adjacent to this park, it would be nice if they would have expanded it to facilitate some longer holes

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little Ace Race

5+    10/23/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: guitardave8077
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent challenge with trees; nice short course; this is the place for your first ace! I didn't make any but came close. Almost all baskets are birdie-able! They have two target positions and swap them out from time to time.
Cons: 11-18 are on a watershed. It is super muddy after rain. Plus, when the reeds are high, it can be difficult to locate wayward discs.
Other Thoughts: Lot of fun. Super fast to play- 45 mins or so.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.