Redding, CA 
Buckeye Share
Uploaded By: jimbosprint Hole #1
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
worth a trip

5+    3/25/2014   3/26/2014
Review By: VersitileArm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best part is the Manzanitas. They create definite fairways while not completely swallowing or hiding any disc that lands in them, unlike the vegetation on other courses (blackberry bushes). The course is not crowded and plays fairly quick. This course has a nice variety of shots with none being too short. There is little duplicity among holes and no real filler holes or throw away holes. The location is good too being pretty easy to find but having no bums on the course. benches and signs are there. I want to count the tone poles as a pro, they are a nice alternative to baskets and really work well on the course.
Cons: The biggest con is the lack of trash cans, and thus the amount of litter on the course. the litter on the course is, most of the time, the only real fault in the courses condition. There probably is poison oak on the course, though i haven't seen any.
Other Thoughts: Its Redding so be ready for the heat. The course is fairly tame and you should be fine in sandals and shorts if it hasn't rained the day before. There is a elementary school on the street so drive safe. Lastly there is a railroad by the course and i've seen a train almost every time I play, it rules!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cool Course

2-4    9/14/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: JDurfee
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots
Not Crowded
No Alcohol or Smokes
Well Maintained
Benches
Cons: Hot and dry during summer
Other Thoughts: This place is becoming one of our favorites! Worth the 30 minute drive. Can't wait for the spring when everything will be green!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Buckeye - I'm Impressed

1    2/2/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3'x8' cement tees on every hole (except hole 9 where the tee is 5'x10' cement!). Sign posts next to every hole; some with hole number and hole layout written in sharpie on them (signs coming soon?). Moderately to heavily wooded. Nice metal tone poles (make a nice 'ding' when you hit them). Well worn in trails guiding you from basket to tee. Easy to navigate; no map needed, even without signs. Several decent distance holes. Pretty technical on most holes requiring shot shaping and different shot types. Course does not favor any one throwing style. Hole 10: nice 300' shot over a ravine. Very nice course design. No holes are too close to one another. Rough is unforgiving. Very friendly locals. Several ace runs, but tight lines are required. Benches next to most holes.
Cons: No signs. No map (although not really needed). Only minimal elevation change throughout the course, with the exception of hole 10. Some random blankets and pillows in a couple spots on the course; looks like homeless people sleep there. Holes 14-17 are pretty repetitive: shorter straight shots shooting to a protected basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun 18. Fairly challenging with a good mix of distance and technical shots. The tone poles may be a little too wide in diameter. I had a couple shots hit in the zone but I don't think they would have stayed in a basket. The course seems to be progressing and I hope it does. With baskets and signs alone it would be a 3.5 in my book; with a few alternate pin positions and some tweaks here and there it might even be a 4. I will be back, and I would highly recommend it to any intermediate/advance player.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I will be back

1    5/27/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 68  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of potential. The fairways are well designed with a good variety of shots required. Also a good mix of long/short holes to make it fun for everyone. The nice steel tone poles have a painted target area and make a really great sound that rings for a while.
Cons: The tone poles could have been painted a brighter color to make them easier to see.

There is lots of poison oak. There are areas of shade, but this course will be very hot in the summer - bring plenty of water and sunblock.

The area the course is built on has long been abused. There is some litter and there are many burned spots from bonfires. I hope this will improve as the course becomes established and maintained.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tees were just installed the day before we played, and there are already plans to install baskets as soon as that becomes possible. No tee signs or numbers yet, though I'm sure it won't be long before that is fixed.

Playing tone poles reminds me of the old days in Chico. It's what I learned on, so I like it.

Story time: When the course was first built, there was an angry neighbor that kept vandalizing the course and pulling out the tone poles with his quad. One day he was found dead on the course from a heart attack. Karma.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.