Redding, CA 
Buckeye Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #3 (Taken 8/2015)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Discatcher Baskets-A Recent Improvement!

1    10/13/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
Pros: As you walk toward the course, you're greeted with one of those park signs which exclaim, "Watch For Flying Discs." At least they're acknowledging our presence. The course plays in the largely undeveloped back section of the park. It's kind of a desert terrain with lots of rocks, dirt and manzanitas. There is a slight bit of elevation which is used effectively. The metal tee signs are old and kinda beat but give the pertinent information. The concrete pads are fine. And of course, the Discatchers with the numbers on top, are brand new and in pristine condition. The course plays at a solid intermediate level. There were no easy, gimme holes but there were also no monster holes or no scary water or lose your disc type holes.

The morning I played, a majority of the baskets were set in a slightly anhyser position. The guy in charge is either a lefty or throws a flicker. In nothing else, it would force you to improve you fade shot.

My favorite hole was # 11, a 417' fade, of course, thrown I think from a cool elevated tee pad across and down a cool natural valley. This course doesn't feature much in the way of natural beauty but this hole was kind of striking.

I thought the course was really clean and litter free. I don't remember seeing many trash cans.
Cons: Hot desert terrain. Bring lots of water.
Lack of natural beauty. It's just not a very pretty course.
Fairly flat.
Preponderance of similar holes.
Other Thoughts: Buckeye sits in the bottom half of my ranking of Redding's course. It's well again ahead of that ****hole Edgewater but I rank it behind Enterprise, Sacramento RV Park and Anderson River Park. I liked the two little nine hole Pitch and Putts I played, Simpson University and Palo Cedro Community Park but it's hard to compare them to these full 18 hole courses. Your ratings may vary!

worth a trip

5+    3/25/2014   3/26/2014
Review By: VersitileArm
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best part is the Manzanitas. They create definite fairways while not completely swallowing or hiding any disc that lands in them, unlike the vegetation on other courses (blackberry bushes). The course is not crowded and plays fairly quick. This course has a nice variety of shots with none being too short. There is little duplicity among holes and no real filler holes or throw away holes. The location is good too being pretty easy to find but having no bums on the course. benches and signs are there. I want to count the tone poles as a pro, they are a nice alternative to baskets and really work well on the course.
Cons: The biggest con is the lack of trash cans, and thus the amount of litter on the course. the litter on the course is, most of the time, the only real fault in the courses condition. There probably is poison oak on the course, though i haven't seen any.
Other Thoughts: Its Redding so be ready for the heat. The course is fairly tame and you should be fine in sandals and shorts if it hasn't rained the day before. There is a elementary school on the street so drive safe. Lastly there is a railroad by the course and i've seen a train almost every time I play, it rules!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

2-4    9/14/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: JDurfee
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots
Not Crowded
No Alcohol or Smokes
Well Maintained
Cons: Hot and dry during summer
Other Thoughts: This place is becoming one of our favorites! Worth the 30 minute drive. Can't wait for the spring when everything will be green!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Buckeye - I'm Impressed

1    2/2/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 152  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 9.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3'x8' cement tees on every hole (except hole 9 where the tee is 5'x10' cement!). Sign posts next to every hole; some with hole number and hole layout written in sharpie on them (signs coming soon?). Moderately to heavily wooded. Nice metal tone poles (make a nice 'ding' when you hit them). Well worn in trails guiding you from basket to tee. Easy to navigate; no map needed, even without signs. Several decent distance holes. Pretty technical on most holes requiring shot shaping and different shot types. Course does not favor any one throwing style. Hole 10: nice 300' shot over a ravine. Very nice course design. No holes are too close to one another. Rough is unforgiving. Very friendly locals. Several ace runs, but tight lines are required. Benches next to most holes.
Cons: No signs. No map (although not really needed). Only minimal elevation change throughout the course, with the exception of hole 10. Some random blankets and pillows in a couple spots on the course; looks like homeless people sleep there. Holes 14-17 are pretty repetitive: shorter straight shots shooting to a protected basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun 18. Fairly challenging with a good mix of distance and technical shots. The tone poles may be a little too wide in diameter. I had a couple shots hit in the zone but I don't think they would have stayed in a basket. The course seems to be progressing and I hope it does. With baskets and signs alone it would be a 3.5 in my book; with a few alternate pin positions and some tweaks here and there it might even be a 4. I will be back, and I would highly recommend it to any intermediate/advance player.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 I will be back

1    5/27/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: jimbosprint
Played: 69  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of potential. The fairways are well designed with a good variety of shots required. Also a good mix of long/short holes to make it fun for everyone. The nice steel tone poles have a painted target area and make a really great sound that rings for a while.
Cons: The tone poles could have been painted a brighter color to make them easier to see.

There is lots of poison oak. There are areas of shade, but this course will be very hot in the summer - bring plenty of water and sunblock.

The area the course is built on has long been abused. There is some litter and there are many burned spots from bonfires. I hope this will improve as the course becomes established and maintained.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tees were just installed the day before we played, and there are already plans to install baskets as soon as that becomes possible. No tee signs or numbers yet, though I'm sure it won't be long before that is fixed.

Playing tone poles reminds me of the old days in Chico. It's what I learned on, so I like it.

Story time: When the course was first built, there was an angry neighbor that kept vandalizing the course and pulling out the tone poles with his quad. One day he was found dead on the course from a heart attack. Karma.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.