Cedarville, OH 
Cedarville University DGC Share
Uploaded By: scion77 Hole #6
3 / 175ft.   3 / 125ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 White Tee

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Straightforward and Open

5+    9/1/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: jesscat606
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good quality pads and baskets.
Long and short contrete tees for each hole.
Being on a university campus, the course is always mowed well.
Cons: No signage. Download a map!
Longest hole is ~430.
Only a few holes offer any challenge other than 'can you throw it that far.'
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty short 9-hole course. A few 'air-it-out' drives on wide open 350-400 foot holes, one 120-foot tunnel shot, and three dogleg shots < 200 feet. No significant challenges. OB roads or fences in play on a few holes. Intermediate/advanced/pro players will likely not find this course much of a challenge. Recreational players will enjoy it much more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simple Course

1    11/30/2014   1/3/2015
Review By: dj3k
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice brand new baskets.

Concrete tees

Navigation is pretty simple with map attached to this site. Direction arrows affixed to basket clearly point to the next tee.

Good mixture of forehand and backhand shots.

The one short hole in the middle of a "pine tree tunnel" of sorts is a pretty unique signature hole.
Cons: Some of the tees were really short, typically the shorter holes, which stands to reason I guess.

Some of the holes were just a tee to a basket in the middle of an open field, very unoriginal and unchallenging, but if there aren't any trees around to work with, what can you do.
Other Thoughts: I am an alum of this school and I am glad to see that disc golf has made its way to Cedarville. However, it's clear that the school just didn't have much to work with in the way of providing a variety of different layouts for the holes. There just aren't many trees around to work with. They did the best they could with the terrain they had to work with.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bogie Free Zone

2-4    3/15/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads make this nine hole college sports facility course a pretty decent 2x9 layout. Those tees are large, level, concrete, and clearly stamped as #,A and #,B. While there are no tee signs, the designers have a beautiful map and scorecard (with accurate distances) listed here on DGCR which you should print for a first time visit. The cleanliness of the map gives you a hint of how sharp and clean they keep the sports facilities at Cedarville. The course condition was awesome, even in the winter(s) when I've visited. The 24 chain DGA baskets with number plates look brand new. Almost everywhere needed, a simple next tee arrow points the way under the basket cage, to the blue (long) next tee.

The course has variety in a small package, and shouldn't frustrate even Recreational level players from the short tees. Not to say that it isn't possible, but an Intermediate player would have to really mess up to take a bogie here, even from the longer tees. You won't have to do a lot of technical shot-shaping here, but there is a tree on short #1 to work around, there are paths, fences and tree lines to avoid, and holes 6, 8, and 9 finish with some challenges. 6 is a beautiful pine lane ace run from either tee, 8 hooks right to left into a woodsy gap, and 9 hooks left to right from the short tee. The long tee on 9 requires a bit of a shaped shot because of its placement by the tennis court fence corner.

In all, Cedarville has a winner of a well thought out and excellently maintained nine hole recreational course here.
Cons: There isn't a next tee arrow on hole 4's basket, and first timers will likely find themselves walking forward to hole 8, a little confused.

The lack of elevation and the openness of most shots means that most higher skilled players won't want to go out of their way to stop by for a look.
Other Thoughts: The front page does state that this is a course for folks affiliated with Cedarville University, but it is not specifically listed as private, and I saw not a soul out there either time I've been by. I know I should have contacted someone before coming, but I was heading through to see courses here and in Springfield, and I hope they don't mind.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 well made 9

1    4/7/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 69  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a really well done 9 hole course. Large concrete pads, brand new baskets, well kept together landscaping, with some strategic, long shots.
Cons: No signs as of yet to see where the next pad is.
Other Thoughts: An almost perfect 9 hole course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet (much like Mark Irving!)

2-4    4/4/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Although the course was designed within strict limits, the designers made perfect use of the space they were given. If you are not dealing with tree's you are dealing with wind. In most cases, you have both.

For me, it is a great course to take my kids on as it is easy to walk.
Cons: No Tee Pads or signs. Should be something we will see soon.

Other Thoughts: This is the perfect course if all you have is an hour but you don't want to simply toss a disc in a field. It is not hard by any means but it is challenging in its own right.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great College Campus Course

5+    4/13/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of length and tactical holes on the well maintained grounds of Cedarville University. Very well laid out course, easy to find the next hole. #6 The pine tree tunnel is very cool. Smells nice, and keeps you cool.
Cons: Only Grass Tees and no sign posts, but there are plans to add real tees later. Mostly Flat.
Other Thoughts: Very much enjoying having a disc golf course where I work!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    3/21/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice course. Not overly difficult. I love the holes that are in the pine trees. The tunnel shot on #6 is really cool. The layout of the holes makes you have to use a variety of shots (hyzers, annys, etc.)
Cons: None, really.
Other Thoughts: I love having a course on campus that we can play whenever we want. Thanks to the guys that designed it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.