Myrtle Beach, SC 
Coastal Carolina (CCU) DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 124ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
good but small

1    3/20/2014   3/25/2014
Review By: SamuelCollins
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -very good location right on 501
-the grounds are on the ccu campus so it is very well keep
-no water or another chance to lose disc
Cons: -Very short holes
-most baskets are located Very close to next Tee
Other Thoughts: Over all this is a nice little course. Very short and easy so any good player looking for a challenge should skip this one. On the other hand if you are looking to introduce someone to the sport or work on your short game this is the perfect course. It has a few obstacles and could have made better use of the land available.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Putt-Putt

2-4    3/6/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 128  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Coastal Carolina's on-campus disc golf course is located in a small landscaped section of a field just off of US-501. I've never played a disc golf course that looks like it was designed by a landscape artist, but this short little 9 hole has young trees and woodchips galore on this pristine little patch of land. Very thoughtfully maintained and manicured.

Because of its minimal length and solid Innova baskets, this would be the perfect course to teach children to play the game, practice your short game in a somewhat competitive setting, have an ace run, or set the world record for most holes played in a 24-hour period. Play this course for 30 minutes every day after class and you'll be the Phil Mickelson of disc before you know it.
Cons: This course is short enough to be designated disc putt-putt or disc mini-golf. You'll only need a putter and maybe a mid for this one. As a result, there's no opportunity to stretch your arm or even feel like you're doing anything other than killing time. A fairway obstacle or two would've helped make this a little more interesting and challenging, but you'll have a clear path to the basket every time in this complete openness.

Woodchip tees are loose and uncomfortable, but you won't be doing much of a run-up anyway, so the impact is negligible.

Almost all of the baskets are located extremely close to the next tee. Coupled with the length of the holes, and there could be some serious safety concerns. Luckily, the course seems like it's rarely crowded, but as a previous reviewer mentioned three's a crowd in this case.

Despite being on-campus, the course isn't particularly close to any academic buildings. Personally, I would use the course as a way to kill time between classes, but having to hoof it out to the field makes that a less likely prospect for students seeking a casual way to waste time.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, this course is very, very short. I finished four successive rounds in about 50 minutes while waiting for a basketball game to start at the HTC Center on the other side of campus. This course is a fun way to waste time, but nothing more.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course

5+    9/6/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: Sarge Cal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. My short game and putting has improved drastically. Great for a quick game and to practice your throws with no chance of a disc getting lost.
Cons: Almost no obstacles. CCU decided to cut almost all the trees. Pins and tees are close together. Dangerous if more than a couple people playing at same time.
Other Thoughts: Greens beautifully kept as it is on campus. Great place to introduce someone to disc golf. Where I first played and now hooked.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/19/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is really well maintained and easy to navigate. Very nice signage with hole # and distance noted.
Cons: Only nine holes most of them being really short. The longest hole on the course was only 258 feet. Out of 9 holes 6 of them are less than 200 feet. Tee pads consisted of wood chip mulch which can make for some loose footing, but not a real issue here being there really are no holes that call for the long bomb.
Other Thoughts: This course was in really good shape and you can tell it is well taken care of. A really experienced player will not find this course challenging at all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's Pretty Short

2-4    8/1/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: DiscGolfJason
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well kept grounds.
Tons of available parking.
Right on Campus.
Great for beginners (like my GF).
Only takes 1 disc to play.
Cons: Very short holes.
Tees are mulched not concrete.
Can get flooded with decent amounts of rain.
Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Lot of fun for a short course. Close to other course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pitch n Putt

2-4    7/25/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course wasn't crowded at all when I was there. Showed up on a Thursday evening and played 27 holes without seeing anybody there. This is a great place to work on your putting and short game. If you're at the beach with a bunch of non disc golfers, this will give you something to do while they are out shopping (there's an outlet center just up the road). VERY well maintained grounds.
Cons: SHORT. Nothing over 260 feet, so all I brought with me was a mid and two putters.

WIDE OPEN. I like some danger. I like playing wooded courses - I like playing in the woods. I like courses that penalize me when I throw a bad shot (maybe I'm a masochist). There was no risk on this course at all. It looks like it was laid out with a "ball golf" mentality -- short grass, few trees in the way, nicely manicured fairways. But no disc golf challenge here.

The layout is a bit of a problem too -- hole 1 starts nowhere near a parking lot -- I parked in what I thought was the closest lot to the course, and ended up starting on hole 7. It works, but I really think that they might want to consider renumbering the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to hit when the rest of your family is off doing something else that you don't want to do. It's great to bring kids to, it's great to introduce someone to the sport. But you need to remind them that not all courses are like this. You need to tell them about the trees that will jump out in front of your disc and knock it down, the slopes that will carry an errant putt 50 or 75 feet away. Tell them stories of the schule, and the water. Make them know that it isn't all as short and neat as this course.

I was disappointed with this course, to be honest. There is the potential to build a decent nine-hole course on the property, and it was missed. Just another example of an athletic facility at Coastal that has been done better by Liberty ;)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Let Down!

2-4    9/1/2012   5/19/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 244  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - For me any course is better than not having one.
- They did install top-notch baskets and nice tee boxes, so for first time disc golf players it leaves a good impression
- Convenient location off of Hwy 501
- If I was a student on campus I probably would go over there for practice for sure.
Cons: - As others have mentioned it is way too short.
- There are a few more acres right next to the existing course. I feel like they could have lengthened the nine hole course to make it a more enjoyable course (Not enough land to expand to 18).
Other Thoughts: - Was really stoked when I drove by the first time and saw the top quality baskets. Went back to play a few weeks later and had to laugh all the way through the round. Again glad it is there, but I think they missed an opportunity to put in a decent 9 hole course, giving the available land not being used right next to the existing. They tried but unfortunately kind of failed.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starter Course or Kids Course

2-4    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs. Good Tee Boxes. Easy to navigate. No chance to lose discs. No traffic from non players.
Cons: 9 holes and Very, Very, VERY short course. No water or bathrooms near course. Fairways intersect.
Other Thoughts: On the plus side, this is a very attractive course on a beautiful campus. This course is WAY too short. Not sure if it was designed that way on purpose, maybe it was for first time players at the school. If so, that is why I scored it as passable (1.5). It does that job (My wife played her first full round with me, never having played before and almost got par, 1 over,) I don't have an arm to brag about at all and nearly aced three holes (just missing and flying past the baskets) and birded just about all of them. Good course to bring someone that has never played before, but if you are experienced, I'd say skip it for sure.

NOTE: Was only in Myrtle Beach for a week and could only play some nearby courses. Reviewed CCU and Tupelo. Skipped Socastee as the reviews said it was incomplete and hard to navigate. With time being an issue I couldn't see walking around stumbling around a hard to navigate course. So I don't think CCU and Tupelo are great examples of SC DG. Had Socastee been complete or easy to navigate I would have played a full 18 in a SC park in a minute. Still both CCU and Tupelo were beautiful courses just short and easy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 College funding should have gone farther

1    3/23/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: Hindenburg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its on a college campus so there is an opportunity to outreach and expand our club.

Great Signage, tee boxes, interesting layout around flowerbeds.

the only upside to having such short holes is that this would make a great course for an ace race tourney.
Cons: ridiculously short holes.
Poor use of space available, lots of teeboxes shoot straight at another teebox. people would get hurt if there were more than 2 or 3 people playing at a time on the course

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.