East Springfield, PA 
Duck Run Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 88ft.   3 / 125ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well, it fits the bill…

2-4    12/28/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 209  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Imagine if I were a course bagger (and an 'achievement whore') from Ohio en route to visit family in Ontario. I might be looking for an easy, quick, short, nine hole course up in the corner of Pennsylvania, so I can check that state off my list (Oh…I'll be back, of course!). Now if you're in the same boat, with the map I sketched up here, Duck Run is not a bad fit. Just don't assume this'll be a challenge or a lifetime memory, and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

I was expecting a bit of dilapidation, and maybe a little bit of a letdown, but once I found my way around, I found two sets of tees and a lot of interesting use of the rolling, creek-bordered woods to keep this deuce or die course interesting. The shorter tees looked like they might be manageable for kids to enjoy. The longer ones aren't going to challenge anyone above Recreational level, but I actually enjoyed annying (rhbh) downhill to the slightly raised first basket, having a creekside gut-check on 2 & 5, and the fun of being able to see a nice reachable line through the woods, and over the ravines throughout.
Cons: Without a map, you could get really confused here the first time. And the one I drew up might not be entirely what they intended. Don't come looking for long drives or super difficulty. This is a fun campground diversion, and not a championship course.

Tees are colored 4'x4's in natural turf, and baskets are older 12 to 18 chain portables. The signs on holes 2 & 8 are missing or deteriorated. The sign on 6 is lying down. The blue tee on 7 needs a cleanup and leveling. And it's really unclear if the 8th basket has been moved, or was intended to play pretty much in the fairway for 9, with 9 being on the steep slope by the practice basket. If so, the flow is reasonable, but the safety is an issue. In fact, you could hit folks on the next tee from holes 1, 5 and 8. But on the other hand, this isn't a course that's going to get a lot of play.

Though the creek crossing bridges were expertly built to begin with (often with steel beams!), they are a little disheveled now. You'll be crossing at least three of them.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was pleasantly surprised that this course seemed to have been designed by someone who knew something about how discs fly, what makes for a fun shot, and was laid out using the underutilized woods of the campground, away from most of the other activities. It made for a good stretch halfway to Ontario, and achieved my purposes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown course

5+    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: jellyjard
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only pro to this course is that it's 5 minutes down the road and I can practice putting on their 200-250ft par 3s
Cons: The course has been going downhill for years it's the only course within reasonable distance to Erie( excluding the fabulous lake shore park) and it really is a shame....not one of the 9 holes
Require anything more than a putter for their par 3s and its been slowly degrading due to lack of maintence....pass

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely a Pitch 'n Putt

1    5/8/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 77  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Duck Run disc golf course is short, somewhat challenging course (read on) designed for families and those that aren't familiar with the game (IMO). The course is very easy to get to as it is off a major road with a large, easy-to-read sign for Pine Lane Campground.

Tee signs (8 of the 9 holes have them) were detailed and informative.

Multiple tees make the course playable as a possible 18 or allow the younger players to throw from the "short" tees.

The campground and surrounding lawns seem to be kept in decent shape. Additionally, the small creek that runs through the course adds a scenic touch in addition to a subtle water hazard.

I had a chance to talk to Dick, the new owner of the course and he was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Where to begin? I suppose I'll start with layout. The course was disappointingly short. The small distance between tee and basket requires only mids and putters (or only putters). Even the two newer players that I was with breezed through the course. With the exception of the first hole, most of the course was laid out so that you drive in a nearly straight line through a mess of random trees. Specific to the trees, although the fairways seem to be fairly clear, the lanes from tees to baskets aren't really defined. Taking into account the flight characteristics of most discs and the path that accompanies most throws, the term "poor design" trumps "technically challenging".

Safety is a big concern. Numerous baskets are close to other tees. Of larger concern is the proximity of baskets to the adjacent roadway. In some cases, the basket is 15' from the road. A stray putt or an approach caught by the wind could easily blow a disc into oncoming traffic, making it dangerous for both the players retrieving discs and the passing cars. Additionally, one fairway crosses the road through the campground while another is right next to a dwelling, creating additional safety issues for bystanders and other campers.

The baskets were in fair condition. Several baskets had rusted chains. Most of the baskets were Discraft Chainstars, but a few were also DGA M-14 practice baskets (and weren't in the best shape).
Other Thoughts: The minuscule $1.50 fee per person (for unlimited play) is technically a donation for the local school district's sports booster club.

I recognize that the original owner and designer of the course was probably looking for a little perk for the campers at Pine Lane Campground. But it's so unbelievably disappointing that a larger metro region such as Erie, which has so much prime real estate for disc golf, only has this one tiny, afterthought of a course. If you're in the Erie area take the extra drive to Lake Shore Park in Ashtabula, OH or head down I-79 to Pymatuning State Park and skip this course all together.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Short, technical- not a pitch in put

1    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: basmith42
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short holes- in the 200-250 foot range make this a great course to bring the little ones to. Because the holes are short, a lack of drive will not stand in the way of good performance on this course. The course favors technical shots over bombs. Well landscaped with solid bridges over the creek and nice tee signs. Great use of land and natural elements.
Cons: Some of the baskets were hard to find in the woods. Flags on top of the wooded baskets would be nice but not necassary.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, I definately suggested stopping by and seeing the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.