Tualatin, OR 
Tualatin Community DGC Share
Uploaded By: Disc Dog Hole #9 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Little Throw At This Friendly Church!

1    6/18/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's nice of the folks from the church to welcome the disc golf community to their little recreational course here. I hope the disc golfers always present themselves in a good manner.

The course features 7 baskets, each painted a different color (Red, Orange, Green, Blue, Purple, White and Yellow) playing 15 holes. Maps are available at the corner of the parking lot near the church building. The tees and baskets are set up in this color coordinated fashion so use the map or else you'll be helplessly lost.

The church's property has this wonderful slope and mature trees making it an ideal (although small) area to build a course on. There is a flower/vegetable garden in the center of the property that is OB.

The holes range from 175' to 515' and feature ACE runs, uphill shots, long downhill blind shots. There's quite a bit of variety for such a small piece of property.
Cons: I do have a couple of safety concerns. The ladies working in the garden can be in harm's way. # 7 is a long blind throw which could easily sail into the garden area. You might want to skip this hole when someone is working in the garden.

# 9 also throws up and over the garden.

The church's windows on # 8 are definitely in danger of being hit by an errant throw.

There are crossing fairways so be extra careful when others are on the course with you.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and enjoyable little throw. Be really careful when ladies are present in the garden. Throw a roller. At the very least, give them a shout out! I'm not sure what having a spotter here would accomplish. Skipping the hole is a much better alternative when they're working.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad!

1    7/4/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Right in the middle of Tualatin
-Now plays 15 holes
-Grass always manicured
-Variety of throws
-Usage of hills
Cons: -Right in the middle of Tualatin
-Lots of back and forth
-Not set up for numerous parties
Other Thoughts: All in all I was decently surprised when I played this course with my girlfriend. We happened to be in the area and had some time to kill so we played the full 15. There is a beautiful garden right in the middle of the course, so be careful with your throws! When we played there was a lot of traffic so the thought of hitting a car with a disc was always in the back of my head as well. I will def be back to play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/27/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maps and scorecard available by hole #1, Maintained garden as OB, manicured lawn with a couple large decidous trees that will challenge most skill levels with elevation changes and distance holes and best of all its free!
Cons: Course design/layout causing potential risks.
Other Thoughts: More is not always better in this case. Full use of the land is definitely apparent with fairways crossing parking lots and each other. All four corners and all four sides of the block is used. Dont let this course fool you the length of some holes are challenging and I suggest a spotter when teeing off from hole#7 and #14. Volunteers that work in the garden have been hit by discs lately!! Hence the spotter.This is a course that is great for most skill levels of play for a quick fix of DG.

Like others have mentioned I have seen discs hit the church and its only a matter of time before a window is broken. The course gets used but more than two groups playing the course consider it crowded and start yelling fore! Lots of high risk factors that can result in damages to homes, buildings, parked cars, traffic in the right of way and pedestrians.
I'm happy there is a quick fix available on my way home from work now!!

UPDATE
==================================
They have recently added reflective collars with numbers on each basket, much easier to navigate the course now. I did talk to the Son-in-Law who lives on site and gave him some feedback.This is a work in progress course and the work done since I reviewed it has bumped up my rating as well.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of available space

1    4/7/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was put up at a church in order to give locals a place to safely play (I spoke with a church member that was there setting up for their Easter Service). The course uses the available land very well. It plays up, down, and across the hill the church sits on. It uses the trees, buildings, and terrain as obstacles.

The person who set it up did well with what he/she had.

The longest throw is over 400 ft (uphill) and the shortest at about 150 feet, so there are places for you to crank it and an ace run or 2.

The grounds are well maintained and are mostly grass.

There were several people playing and I was informed that the course gets very consistent use. I can believe it.

They use DGA Mach 5's except the one on 9 which is a Innova Discather Pro portable version.

They were very imaginative and did well to get what they did out of this.
Cons: The tees are dirt and marked by a board with the hole number on it and a flag to identify it. But are in no way groomed and a couple are a bit awkward. Someone dug up 14 and it is not safe to use as of this writing.

Traffic is on 2 sides of the course, so an errant throw could be an issue with both the vehicles and the pedestrian traffic that was steady.

They use the buildings well for obstacles but it is only a matter of time before a disc goes through a window.

Lots of criss-crossing so be aware of those around you.

To play the course as laid out you will need the map or its hopeless.
Other Thoughts: All in all I had a good time and if I lived locally would play it consistently.

I have played a good number of these backyard/church courses and this one is as good as any.

If in the area and you want a quick game this will do well. Or if you want to practice putt and approach or rollers it would work well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Local and Fun

2-4    4/7/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- This is a fun course with a nice variety of of elevation shots.

- Nice variety of distance shots and short "par 2"

- Baskets are nice. All are Mach IIIs except for one Discatcher Sport.
Cons:
- Almost all of the holes are open or have just one tree in the fairway.

- The fairways cross, which isn't too bad if you're the only person out there (which I was when I played), but if there is anyone else it could get dangerous.
Other Thoughts: I live in Sherwood so it's nice to have a course nearby even though it's not spectacular. I can still see myself coming here once a week in the summer to practice.

If you're in the area, I would suggest checking it out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.