Saginaw, MI 
Wickes Woods Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Grand Scale with some issues

1    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through woods and near a lake in a very large multi-use park. plays close to some other amenities at times. Plays over walking paths, near a baseball/softball field and through woods near hiking trails. Careful folks.

Teepads-- awesome, concrete. Proper size and in excellent repair.

Teesigns-- Excellent signs in excellent condition. very descriptive. Only confusion for me was #5 which lane to thrown down.

Baskets-- all there and in excellent condition. Bright orange necks aide in visibility in all aspects of this course.

Variety-- There is a TON of variety here. I especially liked #8 and #9 great little ace run bunker shot and a long bomber down the hill..

Heavily guarded baskets-- the approaches were ROUGH with all the trees. most pins were heavily heavily guarded meaning NO GIMMIES!!

Routing and nav--easy. next tee rocks were present in most cases and led you right to the next hole.
Cons: Amenities-- I completely agree with some others that there could be more benches and trash cans. there wasn't much trash but having a place to sit for a minute would be nice. This course is a bit of a hike.

Questionable design flaws-- #6 is a big question mark for me. and it looks like a giant question mark. Some of the holes in the woods are a bit repetitive. #5 was hard to know which lane to throw down. it's the left one FWIW.

Poison Ivy-- holy crap, there are more aerial vines here than I can count. If you see a hairy "tree" or vine, DO NOT TOUCH IT!!

Low lands-- I swear to god that they pick the lowest land for DG courses. this course is a bit wet, especially in the woods. #17 was one big mud puddle and it's a sweet looking hole!

The Lake-- there is absolutely no involvement with the lake. very disappionting.

Risk v Reward-- none really. just be conservative on the tighter holes and you'll be fine.

Danger-- playing close to baseball fields and over NUMEROUS walking paths seems to be a bit dangerous if you ask me.
Other Thoughts: I did have a blast playing this course. when I first stopped here in November, no baskets were in so I came back and I'm very happy that I did!

A few fixes would make this place pretty stellar.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Varied play- challenging

2-4    8/17/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -challenging
-cement tees
-excellent baskets
-outstanding signs (some of the best I have seen)
-good variety of holes
-good distance and elevation changes
-dog friendly
-park has picnic areas, softball fields, and walking trails. Nice water ponds but they don't play on course.
-Very well designed course. I think the designers did a really good job. The course makes you think and play smart. It's not a grip it and rip it course.
Cons: -needs more benches
-needs more trash receptacles
-a bit rough (still new course). Woods will eat ur disc
Other Thoughts: -i liked this course it was very challenging had good variety and was fair. There was for the most part multiple lanes to choose from on most holes.
-Some of the wooded holes reminded me of idlewild and how narrow the lanes were. Any errant throw off a 195 foot hole will usually result in a bogey.
-I did not think it was very fun and therefore I wouldn't go out of my way to play it again.
-The course really plays to a lefty or right hand flip thrower. Lot's of anhyzers.
-woods were really rough and errant throws were costly.
-had some nice variance and allowed u to let loose ur cannon on a few holes
-conservative shot placements suggested for decent scores
-overall a good course. Nothing grand or epic stood out but it is well taken care of. Has a nice layout and flow and will give most disc golfers a challenge. Probably not the best course for families or novices

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Condition

2-4    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: ERT1971
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Have some tricky short shots. Have some monster drives with wide open space.




Cons: Some holes take a few times thru to figure out which way to go. Have to back track to some holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Now with 18 holes, the best variety in the area!

5+    9/2/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/25/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Best variety of elevation changes, tight trees, and wide open bombs in the area - this makes it challenging (I think more challenging than any course in the region)
+ Also the best variety of tight holes requiring controlled finesse upshots and drives
+ Very well thought out back 9. You can really tell smart disc golfers designed the newest holes
+ The pace of the course is enjoyable (lengths of holes, types of throws required, tree layout)
+ Awesome white rocks painted with directions to the next hole
+ For a $300 donation, each hole can be "sponsored" and a customized sign is put up with whatever you want on it, which gives me hope it will stay this nice
+ Pretty well-maintained groundskeeping, but the course needs to be played a lot more to smooth out some of the rough areas (so go play it, a lot!)
+ I'm always struck by how delightful the varying degrees of tree coverage is here
+ Also some very frustrating trees :)
+ The "MANDO" helps you avoid the softball fields
+ Lots of chances to use all the discs in your bag (more than any other course around)
Cons: - Players have cut down some trees and branches that once made holes challenging
- I had two older teenagers steal a friend's disc right in front of me
- Hole signs have been vandalized, bent, etc.
- Lots of people walk all over the course with their dogs and whatnot
- Ground bees and mosquitoes can be a problem here if you don't pay attention to where you're walking
- Baskets are pulled in the winter
Other Thoughts: The excitement for this course to become an 18-holer was almost palpable. The week the back 9 was being finished there was a buzzz of conversation about the design of the course and how satisfied everyone was with the tee and pin placement. With all the tee pads all in place, the quality is undeniably very high. Even without all the signs in place, people were still buzzzing about this course's completion. Throwing into and out of the woods, uphill, downhill, next to the ponds, and through trees is pure joy here. There are a couple ace holes, but a couple deceptively difficult holes (#18 especially). Accuracy is a bit more important than distance on the hole, but some holes require both. The course doesn't favor RHBH too much and even the shorter holes have enough trees to make it feel comfortably challenging. Many people have lobbied for trees to be removed, which might be a good thing, but it really makes me mad when people rip them down on their own.

One small, but very satisfying detail that really made Wickes Woods stick in my mind was the smell of the brand new wood chips. It was like the cherry on top after the first couple rounds on the finalized layout. Another small detail is on one of the new holes, I don't remember which one, there is a very deliberate placement of rocks in a shape that is reminiscent of a sand trap/water hazard in ball golf. So awesome! Whether or not you will still be able to smell the woodchips in 2013, this course is a gift to the community and I really hope that everyone who plays here appreciates it.

Overall, this course is my favorite in the area. It's not as "grand" as Memorial Park in Frankenmuth, but its exquisite completion put it a step above it in terms of hole diversity and difficulty. This will be my home course in 2013 and it deserves more recognition now that it's a full 18 holes.

Thanks for reading!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wickes Woods

5+    8/26/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: Ice_Monster
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course offers quite a bit of diversity in shots, ranging from almost 180 degree horseshoes to straight shots, and most of the course is quite well kept. Most of the holes are wooded, while 5-11 are open shots, with 10 being the mando. A fun course overall.
Cons: Poor tree placement around the baskets, the designers almost tried making some of the wholes too much of a challenge, like the 6, with a tree directly in front of the tee. 11- do not have signs yet, and bring bug spray! the mosquitoes get pretty bad on the later holes.
Other Thoughts: league nights are on Monday after five, so it's quite hard to play if you're not looking to play with the leagues.

Great course

5+    8/17/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jon33jon2003
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: Good, clean course with a decent amount of diversity. Good tees with good signage for most of the course. Easy to get from hole to hole. Does not eat discs.
Cons: Newer holes do not have signage. Not enough benches at tees. Occasional foot traffic on trails that run through course.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, I really enjoy the layout and have never lost a disc even though I am a newbie. Wooded holes from 12 on are the most fun and challenging.

Nice new course

1    8/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: DiscBeast.com
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage, nice new concrete pads, good variety of shots.
Cons: Real difficult for newbies to find hole #1 - the course starts off Hospital Road and not the main entrance to the park (McCarty Road).
Other Thoughts: Up here visiting from Georgia and really enjoyed the course. I am a huge fan of being able to air out some frustration and this course provides the opportunity. Very impressed with the condition of the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wickie Wickie Wickie

1    7/22/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tees are always appreciated.
2) Hole # is set into the corners of the concrete.
3) There are also white painted rocks off to the side of each basket directing you to the next tee. This is a really ingenious idea because who is going to deface a rock? If it was a next tee sign it might get defaced or broken.
4) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, distances, sponsors, and the next hole direction. There also is a general map of the hole which is always helpful for the first timer.
5) Excellent variety of hole type here ranging from mostly open with some spotty trees to densely wooded. You can air it out a bit, but then you need to shift gears when playing in the wooded section of the course.
6) Shot selection was moderate, but it did favor hyzer shots on this course except for three holes, one which was mostly open with the basket tucked into the woods (#9) and the two wooded holes (#1 and #2).
7) There is another unique idea on #8. There is a mound in front of the basket forcing you to try and throw around the mound and the trees or if you end up short of the mound you will have an impeded putt.
8) Excellent distance variation on this course ranging from simple one shot holes, to placement shots to set up tight wooded approaches, to entirely tight wooded holes. The distance is not just pure distance, it is distance coupled with shot making. I think this is something that is very underestimated in course design. Don't simply through out a bunch of long wide open holes. Increase the distance and make people think about their shots at the same time as opposed to just throwing as hard as they can.
Cons: 1) I spotted poison ivy in a few spots. I am sure over time this will be taken care of because this was a pretty nicely maintained course. It also seems like it is a fairly new park.
2) There are a few dangerous spots on the course like #10 tee being in danger from #9 fairway and also the where the #5 and #6 fairway run alongside each other. I could also see the #5 tee being in danger from someone trying to really let one loose and get up near the basket on #7.
3) The course is incomplete right now. There are 11 holes with plans to finish it off at a full 18 holes. I think it might be a better idea to keep the course closed until all the work is done. I suppose it was nice I got to play the 11, but it is an incomplete course at this moment. Oh well, not too big of a deal, but worth mentioning.
4) There are some really tough to execute shots like especially on #11. That is just a goofy hole, it is too short for anyone to get a disc to turn into the fairway enough to even have a decent shot at a 2.
Other Thoughts: Although I have given this course a rating for the 11 holes that are currently in play, I have a feeling it will get even better when the last 7 holes are completed because those are set in a really mature and clean looking woodland.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course in the making

1    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -signage is great.
-locals were very friendly in letting me pass (played alone) and helping me find my way around the course.
-hole variety and some elevation changes.
-very clean park.
-nice tee pads.
Cons: -needs directions onto where the first hole is. I ended up pakring by hole 8 and had to walk through to hole 1.
-some distances are incorrect on the signs.
-needs a few garbage bins.
Other Thoughts: This course was pretty decent once I found out where to begin. I enjoyed that this park was clean and cut nicely and it looked new aswell. You can tell the desginer really thought out the course layout of this park and it flows nicely and makes great use of the available land. I would love to come here again when it is 100% completed and will rerate it once I play it in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/21/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Random Gord
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: It's new, close to my house, and has a very clean-cut appearance.
Cons: It's not finished yet. Only 11 holes are completely finished. The Holes are still kind of difficult to follow for players new to this Course.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.