Saginaw, MI
Wickes Woods Share
Uploaded By: cedarvillian Hole #10 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >

1    5/13/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: pacanova
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is really coming along. The first time I played, there were tee pads and baskets, that's it. on my last round, signs/maps are in and accurate.
Trash cans are starting to show up on a couple holes.
Paths are being mulched to keep them mostly dry.
Cons: The course is pretty low in some areas leading to much flooding and standing water right on the hole.
Sure is a bummer that the lake never comes into play. Just walking through the course you can see great layout opportunities all over.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course in its early stages, but it's getting there. The first nine are fun for sure with some shot flex required. Chuckers seems to be using the fairways as a storage place for their busted glass, so be sure to wear real shoes and keep a close eye on the kids. I keep having to remind myself that this park has been here for a LONG time and not everybody is aware of disc golf. Be patient and have fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 wickes woods is awsome

1    5/3/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: phoenixdark
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: clean, nice combination of woods and open, amazing tee boxes, fairly clean course
Cons: no course map, not yet finished, could of utalised the avalibilty of the large pond
Other Thoughts: one of the better courses i have played cant wait till its finished so i can play the full 18

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Talked to the boss

2-4    4/15/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: qqq1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The woods and park are good nature areas.
Cons: Layout is a little difficult. There will be non players on the course when the park is being used. No maps or signs yet.
Other Thoughts: The man in charge of this building this park happened to be the husband of a customer I just had. Although he's in charge of getting the place done he really didn't know anything about disc golf so he asked me for help. I told him about various problems, the need for maps, a main map at the first tee, etc. He showed me a score card they have with a map of the individual holes but it didn't have the real layout of the course on it. He said they've just gotten the money to finish the course up, he'd get maps made, and other fixes. Hopefully this will be a great course soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/23/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: jDo1334
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoy what this course has to offer so far. nice tee boxes, long open fairways with tight wooded greens in most cases and some very difficult elevated baskets. this course is fun and challenging. i hope the rest of it will be the same way.
Cons: well obviously the course is not done so thats kinda a bummer.
and it is true that the park has a very nice pond that the course does not include.
and yes other people do use the park but if i wanted to play a course that wasnt open to anyone who wanted to enjoy the outdoors i would buy some golf clubs and goofy pants. just saying
they have put out trash cans at a few of the tees. now getting people to use them is the trick.
Other Thoughts: all in all im just happy that i have a course a few miles from my house and im able to enjoy this awesome sport.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent start!

2-4    3/25/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: Mac423
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is still under construction, so i am sure many improvements are in the works. All 18 holes are now in! New holes have leveled gravel tee boxes, but it appears cement is coming soon. Fresh wood chips lining all the fairways in the woods. I am happy someone took the initiative to begin building a course close to my home.
Cons: Holes 2-9 still of very poor design.
Signage issue has been fixed on 1-11, the rest will be up soon when cement tee pads are poured.
Leashless dogs, and walkers still are a problem on the course.
Completely ignores a hazard opportunity that is a large pond in the park.
Few of the fairways on new holes need to be widened
Other Thoughts: Several issues have been fixed since my last review, and the course designers must be commended on this. It has increased my rating by 1 full star, as promised in the earlier review. The poor design of holes 2-7 (and hole 11), and the missed opportunity to utilize the pond in play means, even with improvements, this course will never warrant more than a 3 star rating imo.
This is a county park, and is free to enter. Gates close at dusk.
Discers should access this course from Hospital rd., not McCarty. Hole 1 is off of the hospital rd. parking lot. Accessing from McCarty leads to a long walk to the completely opposite side of the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.