Balsam Lake, WI 
Pine Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TJM1977 Hole #7 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 New Red Patio Block T-Pads

5+    8/26/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: Scanders
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Love this little course. New patio block T-pads are almost finished, which improves this course a lot.
Lots of big pines as obstacles on most holes, so great variety for forehand and backhand shots. Good for beginners and experts alike. Almost impossible to lose a disc. Most days course is wide open with no campers blocking the fairways.
Cons: Busy weekends like labor day and 4th of July, a lot of holes are blocked by campers, but most other times it is wide open.
Other Thoughts: Nice uphill and downhill shots makes this a really fun little course.

 A WHOLE NEW COURSE NOW!

5+    6/25/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: GFFG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OK, I'm one of the volunteers so (every crow thinks their chick's the blackest) take that into account -- but as of mid-June this course got an all-new layout! Longs were added also, so now you can play 18 holes with shorts and longs! WAY BETTER and not as much as in the way of the camping. New maps are being finalized and will be posted but it is easy to follow the new layout on the shorts, just look for the posts that show signage (or will be soon). The longs will be on the maps, and there are boards into the ground for each launch. The trees make up for any holes perceived as too simple (nothing over 300 feet still - just not enough space for a park this size).
Cons: Shorts are pretty short, longs are kind of in-between others but this is the only way this course could have been done in this way for this sort of space. You do have to watch for people when crowded with campers or if there is a ball-game - worse case you might have to skip a hole or two sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Although a little expensive ($20/$25 w/elect), this is also a fun little town to camp here. Bring your skateboard for the little fun park or the kids for other playground equipment too! Tennis court/baseball field next to it also.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pine Park, Full of Pines

1    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 213  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Lots of trees (some might say this is a Con). #4 plays like a pinball game.
2) Stresses control and finesse over long bombs
3) Navigation was a breeze, The next tee is always right by the last basket.
4) Beautiful hand-carved signs with par, distance, map and number.
5)Nice new baskets.
Cons: 1) Very short holes. Only 1 over 300 ft and only 2 over 200 ft.
2) Campers have the right of way so if the park is ever busy (empty when I played) it might be an issue. Hole 8 throws through a picnic area so be careful
3) No concrete tees, just grass, or in some places, dirt with roots sticking out, mind your step.
Other Thoughts: This is a very small park that winds back on itself, this would be a Con if not for the incredible amount of pine trees that block off the fairways, insuring that you stay on course unless you really slip up or twist your ankle on the tees.
This would be an excellent course for beginners and it's great to see courses in small towns like this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet!!!

1    4/22/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pine Park is a really fun, technical, pitch and putt course. It is very beginner friendly but offers a wide variety of shots that will keep better players entertained as well. The course plays through a small town park that is full of big mature Pine Trees. There are some drawbacks, as with most town park courses but overall it is a very enjoyable play. If you want a relaxing throw this is the place for you. Just a heads up the pics and distances on the sight are not right and I think they changed the layout just before I played but it is easy enough to follow and you will not get lost.

---1.Brand new DGA baskets with number plates.

---2.Good variety of shot types. There are rights, lefts, ups, downs and straight shots. There is not a lot of distance differential on this course but the site is inaccurate at the moment because hole number 4 has to be close to 280'.

---3.Good flow and easy layout to follow after you find the first tee your golden.

---4.Very beginner friendly with some tight technical shots that will challenge better players. This is a great course for working with putters and mids for better players I didn't throw a driver the whole round.

---5.Ace runs everywhere. I hit a basket and ripped chains and I only played 9 holes.

---6.There is a drainage ditch that runs through the park and comes into play on holes 4, 6 and 7. I don't know if it would have water in it year round but it did when I was there and it added a nice little challenge.

---7.Some of the greens have a bit of a slope to them making putting fun and roll always are possible.

---8.You can't lose a dis here…

---9. The park is clean and has a playground grills and other activates for the family. The course plays around and through these other park features but is designed to limit the possibility of hitting other park uses with a bad drive.
Cons: This course is short and will never be more than a pitch and putt but it is nice to have something in the area to get new players into the sport. If this park ever gets really busy the course would be unplayable but it is well worth the stop if you are in the area. This is by no mean a destination course, so don't go out of your way to play it.

---1.No real tee pads, all they have are flags in the ground to mark the tee area. I can look past this as it is a new course and the layout might change but when they get the layout locked down tee pads would add half a disc to the rating right away.

---2.There is no signage at this course but the flags in the ground do have the hole distance written on them. You can see lots of baskets from each tee so you could potentially be throwing at the wrong pin, but for the most part it is pretty hard to get lost. I could not see the pin for hole #4 and had to walk down the hill a bit to see where I was throwing. Hole #4 is the longest and probably the most fun hole on the course so make sure you throw to the right pin. I hope they get nice signs when the get the layout set in stone because it would help people from out of town find their way around the course much better.

---3.There are some spots where other park users might be in the line of fire but for the most part the layout keeps throws away from most of the other park traffic. There was no one at the park when I played so it is hard for me to say how big of a problem this would really be.

---4.Most of the holes are the same distance. This is a bit of a draw back for me because the course is designed for beginners and it would be nice to have a bit more distance diversity for them to learn the game. That being said the holes are well designed and you never really throw the same type of shot twice. The elevation and big trees help make up for the lack of distance and distance diversity.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on the way home from Highbridge and I was pleasantly surprised at how fun it was. Maybe it was because I didn't have to bomb every throw off the tee pad and I could see my target clearly but I think it is just a fun little rec course. I would recommend stopping by if you are driving down highway 8 just to take a break from driving for a while. It is a really fast play but it is fun as well. I will play this course again next time I am around the area and next time I am going to hit one of the many ace runs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.