Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - North Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #17 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 353ft.   3 / 353ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Meh...

1    8/31/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 122  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete Pads
-Variety of terrain (open, wooded, canopy of mature trees, some elevation change)
-Variety of throws required (Left, right, hitting tight gaps, uphill, downhill, open)
Cons: -Fairway overlap (Some holes run parallel to each other with no foliage to prevent bad shots from finding neighboring fairways. One hole (4?) offers the distinct possibility of landing in two different fairways other than the one you are aiming for.
-Beat up old baskets
-Poor signage (Signs consist of a small piece of plywood with a basic layout, #, and distance in Sharpie)
-Luck vs. Skill (While I like tight lines, a couple of the gaps off of the tee felt more lucky than fair)
-No true multi-throw holes
-The best way to describe the appearance of this course is a little scruffy lookin'.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course that has, for the most part, fun tee shots. With that said, the course has a few issues. The 3,4,5 area of packed together holes in an open field is a major design flaw. It's no fun when you have to wait on a group playing a different hole to clear your fairway. Signage leaves something to be desired, although there are a few directional signs to keep you on track. This is a solid course that I wouldn't mind calling my home course; although I'd be annoyed every round at the backups caused each round by the 3,4,5 sh!tstorm.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

4-28-13

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: mcnugget
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good distance holes some nice hills good hole placement
Cons: we smelled pot most of our round there was alot of loud and obnoxious people hole one is to close to the parking lot cars willlllll be hit
Other Thoughts: not favorite at all heard rumors about drug issues there but had to go the course looked really good

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

No variation

1    3/14/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: wicket
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: tree obstacles, but all holes have lines to hit.
a couple mando's make some holes interesting.
Nice tee signs and pads.
Cons: Very wet. (swampy in some areas).
Not much variation, mostly straight up shots through trees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: edcarpus
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix of distances and shot requirements.
Lots of tables and well marked tee signs.
Very clean and well maintained.
Cons: Kind of "field-y"
Lack of next tee signs.
Can see parking lot from most of the holes.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New challenges at home base.

5+    7/12/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The flow of the course is more fluid than in the past. Much more challenging and technical than the past design. Signs to point you in the right direction to the next pad. Shaded in many spots. Charcoal grills, and plenty of picnic tables to chill after throwing.
Cons: Be aware of the bacon. They routinely roll through and hide around the corner to catch people going 25 down the 15mph drive. Just be cautious. Bring extra H20, no refill stations.
Other Thoughts: HAVE A SPOTTER for hole 3! Its thick to the right.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, nice challenge

5+    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are not too long, but are a challenge nonetheless. Nice mix of elevation and terrain. Some holes are all tress and a few are wide open.
Cons: Navigation can be difficult if you are new to the course but recently added signs make it easier. This course seems to be the busier of the two so long waits can be expected during peak times, especially when people go out with more than four people in a group. Oh, and watch your disc, there are a lot of places to lose them.
Other Thoughts: Nice warmup course before taking on the longer south course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer

5+    5/15/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice rolling hills with well spaced holes. The fairways are fairly well kept. The disc catchers are in good condition, the signs are pretty well laid out. If you get lost at any point there are usually plenty of locals around to help you find your way.
Cons: There tend to be very LARGE groups of people at this course, and they can be very slow moving. They allow drinking at this park, this tends to slow things down in my opinion. I would not bring my young daughter with me here to play again, way too much foul language being used. I suspect it is more enjoyable when there is less traffic in the spring and fall.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place to play at all! There is lots of other stuff to do at the park to which is nice if the family comes along.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New North Park

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - They took the old Blue, White, Gold and Red courses, all 9 holes and made it two 18 holed courses.
- Good challenges, a few changes
- Still have good cement pads
- More mandos, right off the bat
- Good distances, some challenges with hyzer and anhyzer shots
- Posts more or less describe where basket is, but you will have to play once or twice to get the feel of the course set up
- More or less, if you have played Brewer before the change, its basically the same except a few changes, better long distances and a good twist or two.
Cons: - Mud right now, makes for walking around a pain in the butt
- Course is confusing, but you'll eventually get used to it
- Make sure you watch your discs, as it was before, players will steal discs... shame
- Chains seem to have gotten worse and some will not even catch the disc. Also, the baskets are kind of short, so make good putts
Other Thoughts: - North I believe is the top course, when you enter. South would be where red and white... I believe... were.
- Bathrooms, no alcohol, good parking. I believe we can't park up close till May
- At the moment, just park in normal area, then walk up the road past the gate to the course. North is straight ahead!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Much Improved

1    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start it off they have taken this from teh old lay out of 4 9 holes to two 18 holes.

They took the pads from the old ones, but some in the move have some cracks(but a cracked cement pad is always better then dirt)

They have a good mark of shots here. They have taken the whites, gold and blue area to make a pretty good over all challenge here. they have almost all types of shots on this one.

With the updates and changes came a lot improvement and making all holes a challenge rather then the old blue format of pitch and put.
Cons: As they have moved all they have no tee signs. It makes this place a mess to get around. We went the wrong way because it doesn't really help in the middle as a bunch of holes are in the same area.

Some of the holes are all in the same area so you can throw on people and the fairways are really close.

The baskets are the worst here, Super shallow and have a lot of puts that fly out.

the three holes from gold are pretty swampy which makes for some wet shoes.
Other Thoughts: I would say this is a big improvement from what was. I like the format, although in the middle (where blue was) they could of spread a few holes up as to make it better.

Once this gets tee signs I think it will be at least a 3.5 maybe a 4 depending on some basket/teepad updates.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Course With a Decent Variety

1    4/18/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brewer Park North is located mostly in a wooded area, but some holes are out in the open. This course offers a nice variety of layouts, which includes blind tee shots, dog legs, narrow fairways, and mostly open fairways. Some holes encourage you to use backhand throws while others encourage forehand throws. The length of the holes sometimes vary, and most of the wooded holes are set up so that the trees serve as strategically challenging obstacles. As an added bonus, hole 9 has two tee boxes you can choose to use, one of which is about 100 feet farther back than the other. Also, each basket has a small red arrow pointing in the direction of where the next tee box is.
Cons: I just wish something would be done about the irrigation issues for holes 3-6 (this is also a big issue for part of the South course). The ground in that area floods so easily, and it stays wet and swampy for a long time after it rains. I do like the way those holes are set up (though the 6th hole could be longer), but they're almost unplayable if it has rained recently. The location of the 1st hole looks like an accident waiting to happen. Although I like the way it's designed, I don't think it's a good idea to have the hole located next to the parking lot. It seems like a car could easily get hit by a bad throw that sails off to the right, and I really don't feel comfortable parking my car so close to a hole like that. The wooded holes have very little grass because of the tree cover, and they also have a bunch of roots sticking out of the ground. Also, mosquitoes can be kind of bad in this area during the summer. If there's one other problem I have, it's this: Considering how hugely popular Brewer Park is, you would think they would've installed brand new baskets and tee boxes when they redesigned the courses, creating what is now the North course and South course. Instead they just moved some of the old, rusty baskets and cracked tee pads to different spots in the park, and left the other ones alone. This is really disappointing because a lot of these things are in bad shape and really need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: Although it has a few flaws, overall I think this is a fun course that offers a decent variety of layouts, some of which can be quite challenging for most players. Keep in mind, though, that it can be kind of crowded on a nice day, especially on the weekends, and you also might not want to play here for a little while after it rains.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.