Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - North Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #2 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 356ft.   3 / 356ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: edcarpus
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix of distances and shot requirements.
Lots of tables and well marked tee signs.
Very clean and well maintained.
Cons: Kind of "field-y"
Lack of next tee signs.
Can see parking lot from most of the holes.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New North Park

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - They took the old Blue, White, Gold and Red courses, all 9 holes and made it two 18 holed courses.
- Good challenges, a few changes
- Still have good cement pads
- More mandos, right off the bat
- Good distances, some challenges with hyzer and anhyzer shots
- Posts more or less describe where basket is, but you will have to play once or twice to get the feel of the course set up
- More or less, if you have played Brewer before the change, its basically the same except a few changes, better long distances and a good twist or two.
Cons: - Mud right now, makes for walking around a pain in the butt
- Course is confusing, but you'll eventually get used to it
- Make sure you watch your discs, as it was before, players will steal discs... shame
- Chains seem to have gotten worse and some will not even catch the disc. Also, the baskets are kind of short, so make good putts
Other Thoughts: - North I believe is the top course, when you enter. South would be where red and white... I believe... were.
- Bathrooms, no alcohol, good parking. I believe we can't park up close till May
- At the moment, just park in normal area, then walk up the road past the gate to the course. North is straight ahead!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Much Improved

1    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To start it off they have taken this from teh old lay out of 4 9 holes to two 18 holes.

They took the pads from the old ones, but some in the move have some cracks(but a cracked cement pad is always better then dirt)

They have a good mark of shots here. They have taken the whites, gold and blue area to make a pretty good over all challenge here. they have almost all types of shots on this one.

With the updates and changes came a lot improvement and making all holes a challenge rather then the old blue format of pitch and put.
Cons: As they have moved all they have no tee signs. It makes this place a mess to get around. We went the wrong way because it doesn't really help in the middle as a bunch of holes are in the same area.

Some of the holes are all in the same area so you can throw on people and the fairways are really close.

The baskets are the worst here, Super shallow and have a lot of puts that fly out.

the three holes from gold are pretty swampy which makes for some wet shoes.
Other Thoughts: I would say this is a big improvement from what was. I like the format, although in the middle (where blue was) they could of spread a few holes up as to make it better.

Once this gets tee signs I think it will be at least a 3.5 maybe a 4 depending on some basket/teepad updates.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer Park ~ First Impressions

1    3/31/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: Todd Wiley
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation changes throughout the course.

Challenging lines make you use every throw you know and even some you don't.

The course seemed to give plenty of chances for ace runs and birdies were abundant!
Cons: The layout of the course seemed rather compact in some areas making it very possible to throw into other holes fairways/teepads/groups.

This park seemed busy even on a mild weather day in March... I cannot fathom how crowded it could be on any given summer day.

Teesigns were not installed yet and navigation can get tricky because of several holes around 8-14 that take you up and down both sides of a small hill in a sparsely wooded area.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are definately getting to be some old relics, should replace a few or all of them.

I really enjoyed my round today and will definately be meeting up with some dgcr crew again to play the next time I visit Grand Rapids.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.