Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - North Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #13 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 284ft.   3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Better than South

5+    6/1/2013   10/16/2014
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I like this course, as to me, it's way better than South. I play this side the most when I go to the new brewer. Which is not as much anymore because of the entire park change.
Cons: The park changed. The old brewer was 1 million times better. Not as much people go to this park now with the new change.
Other Thoughts: It used to be that it would be crowded when going to brewer. You would have to try to go in the morning to play at ease. Now with the new brewer, it rarely gets crowded except for tourny days.

Blue was the best course for most people, and me. And the old four courses keep the park more fluent.
- Bring Blue Back!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Northern Exposure

1    10/13/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly solid course in a typical city park setting. Has some pretty decent length and nice concrete tees. Probably the best thing going for the course are plentiful, mature deciduous trees that mostly provide just enough obstacle factor without ramping up the luckiness or discouraging you from ripping your drive (as opposed to holes so wooded you have to really go into finesse mode).

The variety isn't textbook but the land and hole shape changes enough that you don't feel like you're playing the same hole repeatedly. Fairly decent elevation comes into play from time to time.

Goes without saying, there's another course right next door, which has to be considered a "+" when on a road trip. That never hurts.

Surprisingly devoid of litter. Buckets at each tee provide ample opportunities for disposing trash.
Cons: Shows some age, especially the baskets and signage. Some old Machs with shallow trays can induce the occasional mind-boggling spit-out. The tee signs are about as detailed as a paleolithic cave painting done by an elementary student. And that's the holes that have them; many do not.

Biggest con are some safety issues. Hole 1 is really short-sighted design. The mando on the kiosk (while necessary and appreciated) isn't going to do anything to negate the very high potential for grip locks straight into the parking lot. I saw 2 golfers do exactly this and they weren't exactly n00bs. Not a good idea to have a hole run parallel to a parking lot, especially when players aren't warmed up yet.

Some of the fairways have a tendency to run pretty close to each other also, raising potential for friendly fire. 11's tee is ridiculously close to 13's basket.

Not a terribly hard test of one's line-shaping ability. If you can throw decently far and straight you stand a good chance of tearing this course up. That being said, the trees do a good job of asking questions of what line you want to take off the tee instead of forcing a particular shot.

Navigation isn't too bad but can be quirky due to obvious signs of redesign and the ability to spot multiple baskets from some tees.
Other Thoughts: I'd definitely play here again, for sure. Fun, fairly low-stress golf in the classic sense. Probably not my choice for beginners due to the length and some safety issues but I recommend it for anybody in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Meh...

1    8/31/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete Pads
-Variety of terrain (open, wooded, canopy of mature trees, some elevation change)
-Variety of throws required (Left, right, hitting tight gaps, uphill, downhill, open)
Cons: -Fairway overlap (Some holes run parallel to each other with no foliage to prevent bad shots from finding neighboring fairways. One hole (4?) offers the distinct possibility of landing in two different fairways other than the one you are aiming for.
-Beat up old baskets
-Poor signage (Signs consist of a small piece of plywood with a basic layout, #, and distance in Sharpie)
-Luck vs. Skill (While I like tight lines, a couple of the gaps off of the tee felt more lucky than fair)
-No true multi-throw holes
-The best way to describe the appearance of this course is a little scruffy lookin'.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course that has, for the most part, fun tee shots. With that said, the course has a few issues. The 3,4,5 area of packed together holes in an open field is a major design flaw. It's no fun when you have to wait on a group playing a different hole to clear your fairway. Signage leaves something to be desired, although there are a few directional signs to keep you on track. This is a solid course that I wouldn't mind calling my home course; although I'd be annoyed every round at the backups caused each round by the 3,4,5 sh!tstorm.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

4-28-13

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: mcnugget
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good distance holes some nice hills good hole placement
Cons: we smelled pot most of our round there was alot of loud and obnoxious people hole one is to close to the parking lot cars willlllll be hit
Other Thoughts: not favorite at all heard rumors about drug issues there but had to go the course looked really good

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

No variation

1    3/14/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: wicket
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: tree obstacles, but all holes have lines to hit.
a couple mando's make some holes interesting.
Nice tee signs and pads.
Cons: Very wet. (swampy in some areas).
Not much variation, mostly straight up shots through trees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: edcarpus
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix of distances and shot requirements.
Lots of tables and well marked tee signs.
Very clean and well maintained.
Cons: Kind of "field-y"
Lack of next tee signs.
Can see parking lot from most of the holes.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New challenges at home base.

5+    7/12/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The flow of the course is more fluid than in the past. Much more challenging and technical than the past design. Signs to point you in the right direction to the next pad. Shaded in many spots. Charcoal grills, and plenty of picnic tables to chill after throwing.
Cons: Be aware of the bacon. They routinely roll through and hide around the corner to catch people going 25 down the 15mph drive. Just be cautious. Bring extra H20, no refill stations.
Other Thoughts: HAVE A SPOTTER for hole 3! Its thick to the right.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, nice challenge

5+    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are not too long, but are a challenge nonetheless. Nice mix of elevation and terrain. Some holes are all tress and a few are wide open.
Cons: Navigation can be difficult if you are new to the course but recently added signs make it easier. This course seems to be the busier of the two so long waits can be expected during peak times, especially when people go out with more than four people in a group. Oh, and watch your disc, there are a lot of places to lose them.
Other Thoughts: Nice warmup course before taking on the longer south course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer

5+    5/15/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice rolling hills with well spaced holes. The fairways are fairly well kept. The disc catchers are in good condition, the signs are pretty well laid out. If you get lost at any point there are usually plenty of locals around to help you find your way.
Cons: There tend to be very LARGE groups of people at this course, and they can be very slow moving. They allow drinking at this park, this tends to slow things down in my opinion. I would not bring my young daughter with me here to play again, way too much foul language being used. I suspect it is more enjoyable when there is less traffic in the spring and fall.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place to play at all! There is lots of other stuff to do at the park to which is nice if the family comes along.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New North Park

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - They took the old Blue, White, Gold and Red courses, all 9 holes and made it two 18 holed courses.
- Good challenges, a few changes
- Still have good cement pads
- More mandos, right off the bat
- Good distances, some challenges with hyzer and anhyzer shots
- Posts more or less describe where basket is, but you will have to play once or twice to get the feel of the course set up
- More or less, if you have played Brewer before the change, its basically the same except a few changes, better long distances and a good twist or two.
Cons: - Mud right now, makes for walking around a pain in the butt
- Course is confusing, but you'll eventually get used to it
- Make sure you watch your discs, as it was before, players will steal discs... shame
- Chains seem to have gotten worse and some will not even catch the disc. Also, the baskets are kind of short, so make good putts
Other Thoughts: - North I believe is the top course, when you enter. South would be where red and white... I believe... were.
- Bathrooms, no alcohol, good parking. I believe we can't park up close till May
- At the moment, just park in normal area, then walk up the road past the gate to the course. North is straight ahead!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.