Henryetta, OK 
Nichols Park Share
Uploaded By: joshua323 Hole #18 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 307ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A nice change of pace

1    8/2/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of moderate and short holes. There is also a good mix of uphill an downhill shots as well. Stones by the tee boxes to indicate where you should be throwing from.
Fairways were mowed well giving you an idea of how the hole played. Some holes have hanging tube tones which make putting more of a challenge on certain holes.
Directional sign after 7's tube tone to direct you to 8's tee box. Secluded disc golf course with a nice little lake in the background.

Here are my hole observations:
1-plays slightly uphill and dog legs to the left
2-road on the left hand side and thick trees to the right of the fairway
3-mostly open hole, plays downhill at the halfway point
4-downhill shot, tube tone is on the left side of the road
5-plays uphill and works R to L over a small valley
6-low ceiling off the box and plays uphill
7-road on your right side and thick trees on the left, pretty much wide open
8-plays dog leg to the right
9-more open on the right side of the fairway
10-downhill and slightly dog leg left
11-slightly uphill, low ceiling off the box
12-the longest hole on the course, plays downhill, dog leg to the right
13-has a mound in the middle of the fairway, has a road to throw across that comes into play
14-elevated tee box, left hand side is more open than the right side of the fairway
15-downhill and dog legs to the right
16-has more trees on the left hand side, with a guarded tube tone
17-plays uphill and throws over the road, pretty much an open shot
18-uphill with a mando
Cons: The signs only give the hole number and the distance and don't provide a schematic for the layout of the hole. Not a huge deal but it would be nice for first time players to be able to see where they are going. The parking lot is close to hole 1 so a bad shot could cause damage to a parked car, be careful.
This course needs some trash cans, hole 2 had a lot of trash on it upon my visit.
This course could use more benches. There is a bit of elevation change and being given the option to sit down to rest would be nice.
No other amenities here, except a porta potty.

Other Thoughts: This is a solid course that is a fun play. This is a course where line shaping and thinking about your second shot is going to be more important. This is a course where being able to bomb shots isn't going to give you much of an advantage.
Wearing good sturdy shoes on this course would be advised. There is a lot of up and down walking over rocky soil and a turned ankle could happen easily here.
Being as this was my first tube tone pole course that I've ever played, there is no mistaking that sound when you hole out. I enjoyed my round here and would play here again so for something different. Its a technical style of a course but its not super tight. You are going to have to think about shots and not just grip and rip.
If you are in the area play this course. I think you will thank yourself after your round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better Get CloSe

1    11/20/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located in a nice old park with a beautiful very quiet and still small lake backdrop for 3-4 holes.Holes 6,10,12 and 14 were the best holes in my opinion that I played here.Hole 1's "Mandy" made it interesting.I found a sky route above 4's tee.A small hole thru the trees exits so I threw a decent thumber down there.Holes 4 and 5 have elevation making them not terribly boring.The course designers decision to put the clanger in the treeline a bit instead of out in the open on hole 5 is a plus it makes it more difficult.Hole 6 nothin a thumber or Tommy can't fix.Without an overhand drive though it would be somewhat of a tricky backhand finesse shot to reach the clanger.Jagged rock tees on a couple 3 holes here add effect.This being my first clanger course I didn't know what to expect.After a few holes of attempting to putt my disc into the clanger became difficult you realize something differant is occuring here then a "Basket" course.It can be really hard to hit the darn things.I realized I need to start trying to throw closer then my usual 20-30 foot radius I usually attempt to land in on most "Basket" courses.This added a level of difficulty to the round making it more fun for sure.I ended up goin back an forth tryin to hit the "Hanging Clanger"on hole 8,Congratulations to the design team on that one.
Cons: Hole 1's tee was differant it was either in high grass behind a large rock or it was sandwiched between two very large rocks.I opted to play between the rocks,kind of a confusing tee to find.Rugged tees made the holes alot harder so to put this in cons implies its bad but very little courses have tees that are simply "a buncha rocks.'It actually makes a not very hard course a lil more interesting with 2 or 3 "rocky tees" esp. hole 9.Not sure hole three was really 362ft if it is the downhill slope certainly makes it easier to reach with a fairway driver line then a Distance one."Not enough length to alotta holes.One of the better longer holes here (hole 12) ran along a park interior street.On this hole not having proper signage led me to have to question weather the street and beyond is O.B.or if only the street is.I threw over the street and had to throw a provisional and just played both shots.Without the proper signage these things make courses confusing.Another dislike of mine are courses that choose to design the holes that never dogleg and only place the pins directly in front of the tee box, so I have to admit there were alotta holes on this course that were designed that way.Deviate off the open lanes and go left or right with pin placements not always straight in front of you.Dogleg anyone?Not here on this course except for hole 12.Also not very many numbers for which hole your lookin at for first-timers on all the Clangers.
Other Thoughts: Potential to create longer/dual tees can happen here utilizing the existing fields and land cleared next to park roadways especially holes 2,3, 7, 8 and even 12.Stretch out a fairway and create a more complex hole when you can.Lenghthen short holes whenever possible.I imagined the Hanging Clanger to be there on hole 13(stolen maybe) and just threw at it anyway.I missed the putt.Theres only 17 clangers out there I'm sure the Clangers an Bangers Disc Golf Club will getta new one.Kudos to them for thier dgc.Its not a bad course and its located in a very nice setting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hopeful for Henryetta's Future

1    4/29/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: hellokristi
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has great potential and is a fun place to play!

I enjoyed the use of the land pretty well. Since Oklahoma is known for being mostly flat, I was pleased that this course played on the elevation variations well. not many shots were straight or flat.

Nice variety of shots for both backhanders and sidearm players! Some shots were long and to the left, others were far downhill to the right. The goals were placed very well, though not well marked (and #8's goal was missing completely!) My favorite was the suspended goal close to the lake! With all the foliage, it added a nice challenge...especially the post encased in a circle of trees!

The park is right next to the lake, which is lovely! I enjoyed being close enough to the water to admire the landscape without being at risk of tossing into the lake (it looked as if it'd be quite muddy to go swimming for discs).
Cons: The course needs some manicuring! The grass is thick and overgrown in several places. A nicely maintained path would be stellar. A few trees could use some trimming, too.

FOR SURE it needs clearly marked tee pads, goals, and directions to the next pad. We didn't bring a course map and didn't have too bad of a problem finding the next goal and pad. We had a hard time from #8-11. We couldn't find the goal for #8 at all!!
Other Thoughts: It was a fantastic afternoon. The layout is rad, and I liked how 18 is right next to 1. We were having such a good time it seemed as though the game flew by… a few of us were ready to play it again once we finished!!

I've never before played a course that had the sound poles instead of baskets. It was a welcome challenge that forced me to focus on my accuracy. A clear hit was definite - as was a clear miss. No lucky shots, just skill required.

Another thing that would really help the course (in addition to more adequate signage) would be more trash cans and some benches.

Great design! Cleaner than most i have played in OK. A little bit more TLC and this course could really attract more players! I look forward to coming back soon to play again!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun but unrefined....

2-4    4/21/2013   4/30/2012
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great design! The course is fun and challenging with a variety of shots, a fair amount of elevation changes and a good amount of technical holes with lots of trees.

-Beautiful landscape! It's set at an old campground with a nice big pond in view on several holes.

-relatively easy and sensible flow. it was not too difficult to figure out where the tees and pins were on MOST of the holes.

-Signs have been put in since I played this course last year. The distances seem longer than they really are but the signs definitely help you locate the tees easier. Nice!
Cons: -semi rough terrain. Could use more course maintenance and wear in some places.

-Sound Poles instead of baskets. Honestly the sound poles weren't too bad of a target. The "dong" sound is pretty cool. It's way better than just a post in the ground.


-No tee pads. This is the kind of thing one can learn to adjust to but tee pads make driving a lot easier and more comfortable. Also benches and trash cans on every other hole would really increase my rating on any course.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential. With a good local support group of players who are willing to volunteer to do some dirty work and maybe invest a little more money, this could be an awesome course to play.

I am looking forward to coming back and I would recommend this course to the more adventurous disc golfer who isn't afraid of trudging through lots of tall grass to find the tees and have a good game.

Mowing the grass and adding tees would probably change my rating to a 4!

*Update! I played here a couple days ago and the grass was much shorter which was nice. Not sure if they keep up with it all year around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  I'll play it again!!

2-4    3/31/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: C.A.M.
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Turns, narrow passages, and beautiful views. love the natural tees and the tone poles. This is a course that can be transformed at anytime... very versitile!!!
Cons: I can't think of anything I would change about this course. If I have to, I would say bring the water in to play.
Other Thoughts: The city of Henryetta is missing out on this gold mine!! I hope when they realize what they are neglecting they will give credit where it is due and change some of the silly rules they have, because it seems the city doesn't want this beautiful place to succeed!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/2/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: Dglandrum88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As one of the designers of the course, it definetly offers and forces a player to use a wide variety of throws. It is easy to navigate through and the baskets are all tone poles sum that even hang from trees!
Cons: Needs concrete tees and more clearing even though there are no water hazards it is easy to lose a disc because of all the heavy underbrush
Other Thoughts: We are trying to put the course on the map. We kinda follow the philosophy " if you build it, they will come" we are highly encouraging every golfer to come play the course and please submit your reviews we are looking forward to all the perks and the critisism from each and every player!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nichols Park DG

5+    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: joshua323
Played: 103  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has everything but water in play, lots of tight fairways, tons of elevation changes,lots of trees,blind shots, long doglegs and one totally surrounded by trees, nicknamed (JAIL CELL)
My rating might seem high but I am partial to the course, I made all the clangers ( tone poles) and helped a couple of friends lay out the course, If you play it you will love it I promise. Please be kind and pick up all trash made by you and your group .
Cons: natural tee pads
Other Thoughts: I am one of the many people who have put hours into making this course, we hope to one day soon to have the course permanent with baskets and even expand to two 18 hole courses and a small 9 hole for beginners

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.