Tulsa, OK
Hunter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 253ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good to Check Out on Way Thru Tulsa

1    3/25/2014   4/16/2014
Review By: bjg314159
Played: 61  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --This course has a fairly good variety of shot shapes and hole distances.
--Nice, concrete tees.
--Well kept park with good bathrooms.
--Will test your arm for distance.
--Will also test your precision on shot placement.
Cons: --The first four holes really turned me off. They were difficult to figure out where the pin was located. Also difficult to figure out where the next tee was located. I also thought they were too extreme with trees and the lines you had to hit.
--There are plenty of "tweener", "shot-and-a-half" type holes.
--Tee signs don't really give you any info.
--Had to hop across rocks to get across the creek and back.
Other Thoughts: --Luckily, this course got quite a bit better after the first four holes. If it hadn't, I might have walked off.
--I stopped by this course on my way thru Tulsa. It is easy to find. Pretty close to an interstate exit.
--Better signage would help the passer-by. But, I have played courses that are plenty tougher to find your way around.
--I would rate this course at 3.25 if that were a choice.
--I would probably try to check out a different area course the next time rather than play this one again.
--Good, solid course.....but nothing more than that.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course!

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 46  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the 5 courses I played in Tulsa (Redhawk, Blackhawk, Hunter, McClure, and Haikey), this was by far the most fun and beautiful of them all. The holes provided for some fun and creative shots. I loved hole 3 where you had to shoot over the trees to get to the basket. I loved playing over, above, and around the creek on all the middle holes. It was so aesthetically pleasing. This is by far the best park course I have played. There were 600 foot open holes, and 200 foot technical holes. There were holes were you had to shoot low, and some were you had to shoot high. If I could only pick one course to play in Tulsa for the day, it would be this course, then Blackhawk.
Cons: This course is a solid 4.0, but I had to hesitate to give it that rating because of the navigation between and on a few holes. This course plays along a creek, and me and a buddy played it after a rain. There are times when you have to cross the creek to get to the next hole, and there is not a bridge. There are rocks to step on, but the water was rushing over them. If you have a bad shot on a hole and go OB over the creek, its tough to get to the other side to retrieve your disc. This course needs at least 3 bridges to get from side to side of the creek, because it is honestly dangerous to cross.
Other Thoughts: I decided to still give this course a 4.0 because of the shot variety and the beautifulness of the course. Bridges are needed and will hopefully come. If you love fun shots, you need to play this course. It has some of the most beautiful shots you will find in disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not for the faint of heart

5+    7/3/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: homeskule87
Played: 33  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: Concrete tee pads.
Good baskets.
Tons of risk/reward shots.
Lots of holes run along a shallow creek which always makes things interesting.
For this part of Oklahoma there is a decent amount of elevation changes.
Playground and dog park if you want to bring the family.
Cons: Brutal for a beginner. (I think I shot 20+ the first time I came out)
The signs aren't bad, but are nothing more then a post with the distance.
Not a good course to play after a rain. (gooood chance of busting your ***)
Parking can be a pain on a nice day as the course shares its parking lot with the dog park.
Other Thoughts: One of the nicest parks in Tulsa with one of the hardest DG courses in Tulsa inside.

If you are new to the course hole 17 has an alternate pin. (There is a 10ft+ marsh between the normal tee and the hole and you probably wont find your disc if it goes in)

Intermediate/Expert

1    12/28/2012   5/11/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
Pros: - Course is set in a good sized city park, which is also home to walking paths, a dog park, and a playground. These aren't really in play, so there shouldn't be any major interference with the DG. Maybe some waiting for pedestrians to pass by here and there.
- Varying amounts of trees present here. The first four holes are in thick, gnarly woods that have very tight lines. A few RHFH shots, a BH flex, and a possible thumber come in handy. The rest of the holes have mature trees in play to force line shaping or take away paths to the basket. Some mando RHFH/anny shots, some sweeping hyzers, some straight ahead.
- Creek that runs through the course is a major, major factor in many holes. Whether it is off to side of a fairway, or running through the fairway, or across, or behind, it is a serious hazard that will harshly punish any bad shots. Also provides a number of risk/reward shots where the choice to layup or go for it can mean at least a stroke difference. In play on #5, #5, #7, #10, #11, and #13 at the very least.
- A few spots with elevation changes, #1, #3, and #15 are slightly downhill, and #16 has a blind shot over a small hump. #7 and #13 are uphill shots with the creek in play, and #18 is a fairly steep uphill shot. Also some valley shots, like #17 over a good sized marsh.
- Decent mix of hole lengths, there are three holes over 400', and eight under 270'. Even better, the shorter holes aren't necessarily all super tight, and the longer holes aren't brainless open bombers.
- Good concrete pads, though some are a little on the small side. Posts with hole number and length at each tee, good baskets. Navigation isn't terrible, but it isn't extremely easy either.
Cons: - Getting around this course can be a bit of a hassle, there are very limited places to cross the creek. The daring log cross by hole #6 looked a little too sketchy to me; I went way around to a different spot.
- Last five holes are pretty open compared to the rest of the course, kind of finishes with a whimper. Other than the marsh on #17, and some walking paths, there isn't much thought required.
Other Thoughts: - While this course isn't very long, it is very challenging. The creek is for real - multiple chances to get into serious trouble. Distance and accuracy are equally important to reach a lot of these holes. Also some more straightforward wooded and open holes to balance things out. Definitely NOT a beginner's course; intermediate or expert players should find a good challenge.
- Had a bad round? There is a labyrinth after hole 18 to 'unwind your level of stress'!

This course is Great!

2-4    2/23/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete teepads.
- Nice DGA Mach 2 baskets
- Good creek that tests your shots and is rewarding if not thrown into
- Nice park overall with dogpark, walking trails, playground, basketball courts, etc.
- Bathrooms and Water fountains
- Different varieties of shots and holes. Holes 2-4 are heavily wooded and are extremley different from 5-18. Some holes went uphill, downhill. Across bogs, and much more. The variety really helped with the fun- factor. You will find yourself usuing different throws throughout the course
- Nice locals allowed us to play through.
- Tee signs said hole number and distance
Cons: - Crowded. Since this course is one of the best in the city, it gets alot of disc golfers to play. If youre under time constraints, you may want to play another course instead.
- After one of the holes, you had to cross the creek and there wasnt a bridge. This could be an extreme issue when the river is all the way full.
- Navigation was a bit iffy at times.
- 18 ends a bit far away from the parking lot but not bad.
- I wish the tee pads were more descriptive with a map or something because on some holes, it was hard to find the alt. teebox/basket.
- The creek was a pain to get a disc out of. be prepaired!!
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a challenging course that will test every aspect of your game. This course is one of the best in the city. The enjoyment i had during the playing of the course was great. It is a really fun course and i cant wait to go back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    8/20/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Filipeeno
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes with a mix of long and technical shots. Great scenery and change of elevation in play on almost every hole.
Cons: Creek that runs through the park is in play throughout the middle of your round.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. Must play if you're in Tulsa.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hunter

5+    4/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good challenging course with a solid mix of wooded/open, long/short and elevation change with water hazards (everything you could ask for, right?). First four holes play through some pretty dense woods with tight lines and punishing misses. Then the course opens up and follows a creek that comes in to play on most holes. There are a few bomber shots to mix it up too. Then the course plays back off the creek through a long open area.back to the parking lot.
Cons: The creek is a pain to get your disc out of if you throw it into the water. The 17th hole has a disc eating marsh right in front of the tee box (you'll be fine as long as you can throw a disc 220 and straight) - if you get your disc into it you probably won't find it. Also the 18th is terrible - 320 straight uphill. I think the tee and pin have been moved from their original position when the dog park was put in, but I almost don't even play it anymore.
Other Thoughts: Great course to improve all aspects of your game. Not a beginner course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fairly difficult yet annoying

1    7/28/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: RJDunkman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes and shots required. There are a few holes early on that wind through dense woods, a couple fairly long, open holes later, and different lines to play.

Lots of challenging shots, and the creek will make you pay attention on several holes.

The park is in decent shape, the concrete tee pads are solid, the grass was mowed the time I went and there was not an excess of trash or pedestrians in the way.
Cons: Pretty poor navigation at times. I could never find one or two tee pads and the 2nd basket was missing when I played. None of the tee pads had an actual map on them, just distance, so sometimes you didn't really know where you were supposed to throw to. There is no online map either, as of this posting anyways.

You have to cross the creek a few times to get to the next hole, but there is no designated spot to do so, you just have to find the easiest natural spot to make your way across.

Pretty easy to lose discs out here. There are a few holes early with a ton of trees around, and the creek is nearly impossible to retrieve discs from. Even with the recent drought and low water level, it was hard getting to the bottom of the creek and it was still very muddy and slick. There were one or two holes where it was nearly impossible to avoid the hazards.
Other Thoughts: I did not particularly enjoy my experience out there, but that surely was not helped by the 108 degree heat and losing a few discs. This is not a good course for relatively inexperienced players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Variation here!

2-4    1/5/2012   1/5/2012
Review By: rwmurrow
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is almost like 3 courses. Trees first, then you move out to play around and over a creek, then some longer more open holes. Multiple pin placements and teeboxes. Beautiful course with lots to do at the park.
Cons: Slightly difficult to navigate first time. Needs more benches.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. I play it almost every time I go to Tulsa.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix of woods and open

1    5/27/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hunter has it all - you start in the woods, progress to semi-open along the creek, and end with the grip-it-and-rip-it holes.

Although it was a little rough to find #1's pad, navigation from there was simple - each basket had some of the wires painted yellow pointing you to the next pad. Simple, but very effective.

The course was well maintained. The woods were poison ivy free as best as I could tell and the fields at the end were trimmed nicely.

This course was really quiet and calm (even though there was a dog trial of some sort going on the same day).

The creek is fairly shallow in most locations so retrieval of an errant throw is fairly easy.

Restrooms are located near #1.
Cons: The creek is nice to play around, but terrible to try to cross. There are at least 3 places where the course is designed to cross the creek, but there MIGHT be a shallow spot that you have to find.

There needs to be more trash cans. Litter was all over and at #2 (the only trash can I remember seeing) was overfilled and piled up on the ground.

Locating the pins from the tee was difficult. There were numbers on top of the basket, but no colored ring/belt along the top for easy location.

The latitude/longitude on the main page takes you to a cul-de-sac in the neighborhood to the east, but it is obvious where you should be if you make that mistake.
Other Thoughts: This was a really nice course that turned out to be much more challenging that I expected. This was course #3 of 3 in 24 hours so I was a bit spent, but it was a really nice play. It seems like the early holes might favor a lefty/righty-forehand thrower, but it evens out in the end. If there was some sort of planned navigation across/through the creek, this would bump the rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.