Tulsa, OK 
Hunter Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Variation here!

2-4    1/5/2012   1/5/2012
Review By: rwmurrow
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is almost like 3 courses. Trees first, then you move out to play around and over a creek, then some longer more open holes. Multiple pin placements and teeboxes. Beautiful course with lots to do at the park.
Cons: Slightly difficult to navigate first time. Needs more benches.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. I play it almost every time I go to Tulsa.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix of woods and open

1    5/27/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hunter has it all - you start in the woods, progress to semi-open along the creek, and end with the grip-it-and-rip-it holes.

Although it was a little rough to find #1's pad, navigation from there was simple - each basket had some of the wires painted yellow pointing you to the next pad. Simple, but very effective.

The course was well maintained. The woods were poison ivy free as best as I could tell and the fields at the end were trimmed nicely.

This course was really quiet and calm (even though there was a dog trial of some sort going on the same day).

The creek is fairly shallow in most locations so retrieval of an errant throw is fairly easy.

Restrooms are located near #1.
Cons: The creek is nice to play around, but terrible to try to cross. There are at least 3 places where the course is designed to cross the creek, but there MIGHT be a shallow spot that you have to find.

There needs to be more trash cans. Litter was all over and at #2 (the only trash can I remember seeing) was overfilled and piled up on the ground.

Locating the pins from the tee was difficult. There were numbers on top of the basket, but no colored ring/belt along the top for easy location.

The latitude/longitude on the main page takes you to a cul-de-sac in the neighborhood to the east, but it is obvious where you should be if you make that mistake.
Other Thoughts: This was a really nice course that turned out to be much more challenging that I expected. This was course #3 of 3 in 24 hours so I was a bit spent, but it was a really nice play. It seems like the early holes might favor a lefty/righty-forehand thrower, but it evens out in the end. If there was some sort of planned navigation across/through the creek, this would bump the rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Optimized

1    5/27/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Hole course in a well maintained park with unique concrete tee pads and a variety of shot selection. First handful of holes seem to favor lefties, but the more open back nine are equal opportunity tosses. Middle third of the course plays along (literally 10-20' immediately parallel) a creek with steep embankments. This forces you to throw straight, lay up away from the pin, or fish discs out of the creek. Navigation was easy for the most part as you can typically see the next tee from the pin. I'd say the signature hole(s) on this course are 10, 11, and 12 which play adjacent to the creek or possibly 17 which throws over a small wetland/bog on the southwest side of the park. Lots of risk/reward on those holes and precision is rewarded. This park makes good use of the elevation available and is atypical for this part of Oklahoma in that there IS in fact, some elevation, especially the opening holes in the woods. A couple of smaller creeks are in play on a few holes that will sneak up on you as you'll come over a low hill to find a wet disc. Two holes on the second half of the front nine are adjacent to the neighborhood to the north and east, but they aren't really in play. Bathrooms and water fountains adjacent to Hole 1 and every spot on the course is a couple of minutes walk back to the facilities if needed. Signage was decent and you only have to scout out one or two holes.
Cons: Navigating along the creek can get tiresome as there are few places to cross. A footbridge (or two) would add at least half-a-disc rating easily. Perhaps a local organization (college, university, contractor, etc.) could be approached about donating the funding/design necessary to make it viable for the course? The fairways/pins/tees can get a little constricted as the layout is somewhat tight in places and adjacent items could be hazardous. When players two holes up or down from you are attempting to navigate to the few shallow crossings of the creek, it only adds to the somewhat congested feeling. This park has a large dog park and playground area adjacent to the course as well as a walking trail that winds around/along several holes. The park was fairly busy on the Friday I played it, as well as hosting a field trial for dogs on the back portion of the course. Courtesy should be shown to walkers/bike riders/kids, of course. Some would consider the length to be a con as there are only 4 holes with distances greater than 350 ft. I only noted a couple of alternate pin placements, mostly on the first few holes. The photos on this site for the course indicate a variety of lengths, but that wasn't readily apparent while playing the course for the first time. No online map.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this park course. It's in a well-maintained and popular park. I was hard-pressed to think of a better layout for any of the holes that wouldn't negatively impact the flow and difficulty of adjacent holes. It had an optimal feeling to it that it utilized the available area to the best of the designer's ability. It was fun and challenging. The big knock was the tedious walking along the creek looking for a crossing to get to the next tee or get close enough to the water to get an errant disc. I'm always a little dubious around walking paths as well as you KNOW somebody in your group will get a little too close for comfort on a drive or approach. The picture of Hole 18 is not representative of the actual hole. It has been moved south of the main park road throwing up a hill toward the labyrinth.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/14/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: Apoth
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Great mix of shots for both lefties and righties. Course has several tight very technical holes with several open long bombs. Accuracy is a premium here with OB being very much in play on many holes. The course is also well kept and when I played had nice signs (albeit temp ones).

First third of the course takes you through tight wooded shots. Second third criss-crosses a creek. Last third is much more open but is also longer.
Cons: Not beginner friendly. The OB is often times the large creek running through the center of the course and it can be VERY easy to lose a disc if a shot catches a tree or takes a bad skip. The creek really needs some sort of bridges to make crossing easier. I also really wish the course had 2-3 par 4's to make things a little more interesting.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Though I'm from OKC I've played several course in Tulsa and this one might be my favorite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hunter

5+    9/22/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: CarRamRod
Played: 85  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is by far my Favorite course in Tulsa and is probably the most underrated course too. Has a great mix of long holes and short holes, open holes to bomb and tight holes that require a technical shot. This course has it all and is well maintained too. The tee pads are some of the best around and all baskets are in great shape.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I play it at least once or twice a week. If you want to play a course that will force you to throw every type of shot this is it. Playing Hunter park can make you a better player I guarantee it!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A true "don't miss" course!

1    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape, wider at the front to accommodate multiple drive angles. Mach baskets in good condition. Some tee signs are there, perhaps about half. Many holes had no indications of tee signs anywhere, but that did not cause too much confusion of which tee was for which basket. Next tee navigation was helped by the rung of the basket in the direction of the next tee being painted yellow.

The grounds appear well-maintained and recently mown, restrooms present, but for a decent sized park, a curious absence of a water fountain?

My memorable holes:
1 - Down and hill and into the trees, curving right. Not very long, but certainly not easy..
2 - Tunnel shot up over a rise, then back down and across a ditch to the green, one of the longer tunnel shots I've seen, and set up almost perfectly for a RHBH flex shot.
4 - Anhyzer shot through the trees, then the basket is perched on the edge of a creek, so don't over-throw!
5 - Throw out from the edge of the trees, over an elbow in the creek, and back left onto the green. If you go bold over the creek, don't go light or you might be fishing for plastic.
12 - Plays along the creek (right side), but the apparent line is over the creek on the left bank to lay up, then throw back over to the green. My suggestion: stay right, stay out of the creek, the right bank is friendlier than it looks from the tee.
17 - You can either go right and play safe, or carry over the 275-300 feet it takes to clear the marshy area that faces you right off the tee. Then the basket is just up a rise in some trees.
18 - Big uphill, long shot to finish the course. Perhaps 350-375 feet away, but plays like a 500 foot monster.
Cons: My biggest con was definitely safety in traversing the course. In many locations where you have to cross the creek on holes 6-13, there is NO provision for doing so safely. You have to find an area where the water is low enough and step on rocks or concrete blocks to cross. It is not hard to find these crossings as the paths to them are well-worn, but nonetheless they are just not safe in some areas, begging someone to fall or twist an ankle.

I didn't count, but there might have been 8-9 tee signs, and many of those sun-bleached or water-damaged beyond recognition. At least the baskets were numbered on top, and not to hard to find.

Litter. All over the place. Not just a little here and there, which is definitely sad considering there are several trash cans along the course. It appears someone created a nice course here and many of the people playing it just do not care about its condition AT ALL.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 3.5 would DEFINITELY be a 4 if some crossings over the creek were added and the tee signs were replaced/reinstalled. This was a very fun course, with a good challenge, and what I feel is a nearly perfect balance of wooded, semi-wooded, water hazard, open, and elevation-changing holes (the ONLY course I've played in Tulsa, of seven total, that had more than a drainage ditch for elevation change). It has a little of everything.

I also had issues with using the GPS coordinates for finding the course, as my Garmin took me to a cul-de-sac in an adjacent neighborhood instead of to the park entrance. However the "Local Directions" on the main course page give the proper directions, other than the first tee is not north of the restrooms, it is south of them.

Do not miss playing this course if you are in Tulsa. Besides Blackhawk/Redhawk combo, this course is the tops in the area in my opinion.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    3/4/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: gsuslikesme
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very very good course. There is everything you could want in a course, elevation changes, dense woods, light woods, creeks, open air, let it rip holes...Hunter Park has all of it. I just wish that it wasn't 9 hours away from my home...
Cons: Lots of people out there when we went...

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tulsa's best southside course

2-4    11/4/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good intermediate to advanced level player course. Logical flow. Decent signage for the most part, Unlike most Tulsa courses, has a good albeit not extreme degree of elevation to it, as well as a good balance of wooded and open shots. The woodsy up and down Hole 2 is probably my favorite hole in town. The big appeal at Hunter are several holes which straddle the park's creek often tempting you to put your disc over the water to park for a birdie. Accuracy here is key. Hole 12 is especially challenging.
Cons: A few flow problems concerning the aforementioned creek. Two times on the course you have to cross this without the aid of a bridge. There are some stepping stones in the creek, but these may not be usable if the water is up. The area around these holes is somewhat eroded and can get muddy. Even on a weekday, with all the dog people and walkers, this park is BUSY. While a reasonably good job is done segregating the course from other amenities at Hunter, this is still a multi-use park, so watch for pedestrians using the sidewalk along hole 14 and vehicles entering and exiting the park.
Other Thoughts: My favorite Tulsa course. Recently reconfigured with some new pins, mandos, and an entirely new Hole 18 (a dog park now sits where the old one did), this next to Blackhawk, is the best play in town for players looking for something a bit meatier than most of the standard fare rec courses in the area. Might want to bring a retrieving device and some shoes you don't mind getting dirty. Highly recommended if you're in town.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    11/13/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: BCOChris
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice Course, with a variety of challenges.
- Nice Baskets & Tee pads.
- Would be a fun course to take beginners.
Cons: - Signs on some holes, but distances aren't accurate.
- Between holes 6-7 and 12-13 you have to cross a creek. There is no bridge just a few stones to step on. Wasn't too much of a problem when I played but it hadn't rained in a few weeks. I could see this as a big problem if it had rained recently. Seems like a poor design to me.
Other Thoughts: - Really enjoyed this course. Layout was really neat except for the above mentioned. New and accurate signs would really make this a top notch course in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 one of the toughest I have played!

1    7/29/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: numbernine
Played: 46  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - lots of different shots.
- partially wooded and partially wide open. there are also some holes where the water come into play.
- well maintained.
- Nice concrete pads.
- mostly easy to navigate.
- alternate pads and pin placements.
- fairly nice signage. could have used something at the start of the course to get us going, but otherwise it was good.
Cons: - It was hard to find 2 when we played. If you've never been there before, snag a local and make them navigate it for you!
- not a lot of variety in length. mostly 300 ish holes with different lines.
- crowded in the park when we played and could have been very dangerous as the course runs by the playground, basketball courts, and over the road!
- no "signature hole". nothing that really jumps out as me as a reason to go back to this course or reason to recommend it to others. It was a good course, but I wouldn't go further than that.
Other Thoughts: -Good course overall. It was about 48957348957 degrees when we played, so bring some water!
- could use some benches out on this course. there were a couple of times when we were standing around waiting on the next group. sitting would have been nice!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.