Tampa, FL 
22nd St. Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JimW Hole #16 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 280ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
I Like This Course, But...

1    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a scenic park with large oak and pine trees, giving multiple ways to throw most of the holes.

Nice grassy fairways make losing a disc very unlikely.

The park has a nice quiet, peaceful vibe to it. A nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Tampa area.

The course is fairly long, with a couple of bombers. Big guns might like the longer holes here.

Cons: Umm, Having nine baskets with 18 tees is not an 18 hole course in my opinion, its a nine hole course with 18 tees. A little fine tuning on this course could probably yield a "real" 18 hole course. These style courses do seem popular in the Tampa area though.

The tee pads are dirt, and in bad repair. Come on Tampa, avoid the lawsuit now and put in some cement tees!

The navigation is somewhat brutal. Some tee signs are missing, and some tees are a little trickey to find. I strongly encourage 1st timers to play with a local, or seek out a guide. There is also a long walk back to the car from hole "18".

There is a river in the park, but it isn't really used for the dg course.

No restrooms, but the course isn't too far from civilization, and there are plenty of trees.





Other Thoughts: With all of the cons, this was still a fun and scenic course. Not a destination course by any means, but with a guide, a very satisfying round of golf can be had here.

The potential is here for something very nice, she just needs a few upgrades and improvements.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Spooky 22'nd street park

2-4    4/24/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Never busy. Very new blue baskets. Great challenge with very large mature oak trees garding most baskets. Old mans beard adds challenge as you have to keep it low. Some long shots to air it out.
Cons: Natural tees are rutted down. Only 9 baskets for 18 holes. 10-18 play back to basket 1-9.
Other Thoughts: Fun & spooky to play at dusk. The large trees with the old mans beard create some spooky shadows at dusk. If you like to creep yourself out like I do, this is a must play at dusk.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Varied for Nine

1    1/18/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This one surprised me in a good way. It's not a destination course, but as a beginner- or intermediate-level course, it offers a decent variety with some nice length, some pretty surroundings and even some length.

The first hole offers some length and its a good one. At seven-hundred feet, most will need a second drive even after airing it out off of the tee. There's even a little downhill at the end, leading to a tricky little approach shot with trees coming into play near the green.

The next few holes play along the river. The water lurks here, only threatening truly errant shots, but forehanders and lefties (though not forehanding lefties) will have to at least consider it before throwing. These range in the 300s distance wise, and there are enough trees to force players to aim carefully, but straight shots should suffice. The final hole of this group(5) is the longest at 435 feet and it plays towards the river instead of along it.

The last bunch of holes are shorter featuring distances between 200 and 300 feet and tend to force you to use a strong turn or skip to get near the pin. It's one case where the the alternate tees are actually different, as the second set plays right-to-left whereas the originals play the opposite. They are actually very nice lines to throw, especially the RHFH lines.

It's a nice collection of holes that I enjoyed. The kind that I would like to be near home, but not the kind that I would seek out or consider an integral part of a road trip.
Cons: It's definitely a misnomer to call this an eighteen hole course. There are nine holes with two pads each. Most of the alternate pads are just a dozen feet to the right or left of the original pad, and don't provide anything resembling a different look at the basket.

This could be a three-star course or more if the second set of tees was moved to somewhere not so close to the first nine. This wouldn't be too hard, as the tees are natural(not something I mind) so the sign posts would just need to be dug up and placed somewhere they could approach baskets from a different angle.

It's also clearly not a course that will challenge the veteran player, nor one that I would seek out or travel to. There are no spectacular holes here. Nothing to remember. There's nothing wrong with a solid course that can be played quickly and in likely solitude, as long as that's what is expected. That's what you should expect here.
Other Thoughts: That said, it was easy to follow and had nice variation, some length and some tricky shots. Really a solid course that plays to a certain ability level, knows what it is and executes the vision.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Natural Florida at some of it's best!

1    12/25/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: Marcwrosejr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok, I would give this course an actual rating of 2.75 but since it's not an option and I think if I were to go 2.5 it would be to low. This is natural Florida at some of it's best. The live oaks are beautiful and some of the holes run next to the Hillsborough River.

I think they did a great job in using the trees to defend the holes. I wouldn't classify the lanes as open nor would I say there narrow, there pretty nice in my opinion. The oaks provide most of the obstacles, #8 is really the only one hole with brush around it.

The course is only 9 pins and they use multiple tees to turn this into and 18 hole course.
Cons: There are several tee signs missing. The natural pads are well worn out, I couldn't find #17's pad. A couple of signs are inaccurate. The flow isn't the worst but it could've been better.

No restrooms, water fountains or concessions.
Other Thoughts: It's an enjoyable course with great natural beauty. I will come to play here upon my next visit in Temple Terrace. There's also a course near USF I would recommend as well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best that could be done.

5+    9/19/2011   9/19/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 1st hole is a nice, long downhill shot; something that is unique to the area.
- Good balance of left and right turning holes.
- Some unique lines with low ceilings; each hole has multiple routes to the pin.
- Tee-signs are nice graphically, not very accurate though.

- Great scenery and wildlife.
Cons: - VERY unorganized, it is very easy to get lost in this course, the flow is not steady and the signs under the basket sometime only point to the next hole for the front nine tee pads.
- Nasty natural tee-pads that have been worn in way past their prime.
- One of the tee-pads utilizes the same basket/tee-pad combo for two separate holes, I guess for the front nine you go to the right and the back nine to the left.
Other Thoughts: - This course was built on a piece of land that was once completely wooded and abandoned. I played this course for the first time about a week or so after it had opened and there were still very large piles of trees, brush and other junk throughout the course. So to say that this course has come a long was is an understatement.

- Not a course i recommend taking a day trip to play unless you plan on playing other courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I liked it

2-4    3/8/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course was relatively easy to navigate thanks to:
- the course map before the first hole
- mini-maps on most of the tees
- arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee.

Nice scenery

Par for most holes shown on the sign at the tee.
Cons: The tees are sometimes far from the basket on the previous hole.

A lot of the tee signs were missing
Other Thoughts: Print the map that is posted in the "Links/Files" section of this website. It will come in handy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Live Oaks on the River

1    1/27/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting - live oaks, riverside, quiet and removed from the neighborhood
Cons: Tee areas
Other Thoughts: 22nd St. Park disc golf course is a nine-basket/18-tee flat Florida course set mostly in an impressive stand of live oaks and tucked into the back corner of an otherwise small municipal park. While the park itself and the surrounding neighborhood are not quite the shiny sunny tourist ideal, most of the course is a good taste of real Florida: sprawling live oaks, sandy, flat, and playing along a nearly still, black-tea-colored river.

This course is atypical of many in the area in that it does not measure up with the little details. The teepads are natural, set in sand, and thus wearing down quickly. Getting a good X-step can be a challenge. The signage is decent, but missing in a couple spots. Directional arrows for the next tee do help a lot, however. A couple scrub piles mar an otherwise nice landscape. No permanent bathrooms or water are present.

This course measures up better from a playability perspective. After an out of character super long, wide open hole #1, the rest of the course plays among the oaks. While no hole is particularly distinctive, the course does take advantage of the landscape. It's not particularly tight, and thick underbrush is not an issue at all, but it's not all wide-open chucks either. The course does get technical in spots, and thus, coupled with the low punishment factor, could be a good place to learn the game. Each hole has one basket, but two tees; the second nine come at each basket from a different angle. While the river is partially in view along one side, it's not really in play, so the only danger out here is whacking a big tree.

Overall, I rate this course as Decent, and worth checking out if you're in the area. The landscape of live oak hammocks alongside the river is the big plus, and the course has a decent playability factor. It features a couple birdie runs, a couple long holes, and players will need both control and distance to excel. These positives are offset by poor tee areas (which is atypical for this area), a lack of any really distinctive holes or design elements, and the fact that it's only nine baskets.

Favorite hole - #2 - Picturesque shot down an alley of large, sprawlinig live oak trees.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Lots of potential

1    1/8/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course map and sign near the parking lot. Definitely take a picture of it. You will need it.

Beautiful park under old oak trees and along a small creek/river/canal(?). Very quiet, I saw no other DG's, and only a couple of walkers. I bet Glow golf would be amazing here!

Baskets looked brand new, at least recently painted.

Challenging Distance on most holes, but only 4 or 5 holes over 400 feet. Also only 4 or 5 shorter "ace run" holes.
Cons: Not the best neighborhood, probably want to rethink the glow golf :/

Only nine baskets, 18 holes achieved by playing from different tee pads. Would be a problem if they were to host a tournament.

Tee Pads not in good shape - In my opinion this is the worst thing about the course. Most tee pads were very sandy and had holes and/or roots. I had to play 'around' the tee pads to find firm areas. On some holes this brought obstacles such as overhanging branches more into play than they otherwise would be.

Navigation not easy without the course map. I followed a previous posters' advice and snapped a cell phone pic. It was invaluable.

1st hole is really long and doesn't seem to fit. Hole placement is good, but the tee should be move over to the road on the right and about 150 ft up. It would bring some OB into play and still be a tough par 4 for most people.
Other Thoughts: This course cold be awesome with a little more work. The park has plenty of space for a full 18 hole layout, and I would love to see a few more 'tunnel' holes with the oak trees. Also the previously mentioned change to hole 1 would be an improvement.

Overall a very enjoyable round of golf! I would play it regularly if I lived in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Natural Beauty

1    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I feel very lucky to read about and then get to play this very pretty course in Tampa, Fl. The course parallels the lovely, Hillsborough river and contains many challenging shots. I really enjoyed holes 2 to 5, and nine was a nice finisher. The course asks for hyzer, anhyzer, long and low shots. Really is a good place to practice shotmaking in a very pretty setting...There are holes ranging from 250 to 700 ft. so you really get to use every disc in the bag. I really enjoyed the varied opportunities found here....
Cons: Hole one is 700 ft. and just starts in a huge open field. with all the nice area around, I'm confused why this would be, but at least it gives you a chance to go for everything you have. There is confusion between holes 6 to 8. I accidentally played to the 8 basket from the 6th tee, and had to backtrack and redo it. It wont be a problem the second time, but was confusing at first.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are nice, but seemed a bit low in comparison to other courses. Maybe not a con, but see what you think. Overall, its a beautiful course that is definitely worth checking out. I would have given it a three and a half if not for the strange layout around 6 to 8....

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Small Picturesque Course

1    11/4/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course plays under a beautiful canopy of Live Oaks that just make this course an experience in itself
-Beginner friendly and primarily a casual play course
-Hole 1 is a 700ft distance throw! Odd way to start, but I had fun with it!
-9 baskets with 18 tees allow for a quick 9 or a full 18.
-Good distances that average around 300ft, with some longer 400ft+ shots
-The layout winds around the trees, giving the thrower various lines to work.
-Since the fairways share a basket, I like how they start 10 near 9, rather than make you walk all the way back to the first tee
-Sign with map at the start.
-Baskets have arrows pointing you to the next tee pad.
-Navigation wasn't difficult, although I would take a map with you or snap a picture of the map with your phone. 6 and 7 have a weird transition. You walk past 7 to play 6, then back track to play 7. Not bad enough to make a con, but worth mentioning.
-Is primarily segregated from other activites, but don't be surprised to see someone just walking around under the trees.
-Good fun factor, the canopy from the trees definitely urges you to keep your shots low. Also, You can work various lines of approach between the trees.
Cons: -The walk back to the parking lot from 9/18 is really long, and you walk parallel to Hole #1.
-Some navigation issues between 5/14 - 8/17
-I'm not saying it's in a bad neighborhood, but I will recommend that you stick to the main roads on your way in. Stay on Sligh then turn left at the 7/11
Other Thoughts: This is a smaller course that plays underneath a beautiful and scenic canopy of live oaks. No, it's not Cliff Stephens or Coachman, but it has a really nice walk through experience. It does have holes that one could work on simple lines. I would call this a "Shot-shaping 101" course.

Courses like this are nice if you are on a limited time scheduled. It is what it is. It's small, it's short, but it's fun. It's too small of a course to hold any major faults to it, but it's a nice place to introduce people to the sport. It offers a nice low challenge 9 hole round, or a quick 18. The course should be played for the fun and for the scenery. The scenery is the real highlight and will be what you take away from this course. This is the kind of course I would like to have nearby in my neighborhood, but it's not one I would drive out of my way to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.