Tampa, FL 
22nd St. Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JimW Hole #10 (Taken 4/2012)
4 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
All the makings

2-4    4/25/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 7/4/2015
Pros: a variety of shots are needed here while not asking you to play like a 10 time world disc champion either, by having the course be stupid hard (see Medard holes 11-14). A majority of the course is also shaded, but not jungle, impossible wooded either, like so many disc golf courses seem to be. While not offering the bite of other courses, it still can leave some sting. Recent new concrete tee boxes and tee signs are fantastic and the course while utilizing 9 baskets has a 18 hole feel with added length. This is a hidden gem and a good summer course as it plays mostly in the shade. Nothing like a 900 foot par 5 to start out. I am real impressed with the new changes
Cons: This course is not in the greatest area and I wouldn't play here close to twilight or dusk, and from the end of 18 or nine is a bit of walk.
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 around the dirt mound and a batch of trees in the middle with basket slightly elevated and a slope overhang, is well done. If you haven't played here you should, great course, never too crowded!!!

 Great course, nice changes!

5+    4/5/2015   4/8/2015
Review By: jdeserio
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenic fairways, landscaped with ancient oaks. This course has some great anhyser and hyzer shots to be played. 90% of the holes are challenging and tough to birdie. One 800 ft par 4 and 450 par 3, can test your distance. With some recent changes to the basket locations on 6 and 15, this course is even easier to navigate. Grass maintenance has been fine. New signs have been installed and some are being corrected!
Cons: The lack of pads is the only bad thing about this course. However, we received confirmation that City will be funding concrete pads in the next few months.
Other Thoughts: This course needs to be appreciated much more. The negative reviews really don't showcase what it's worth. Do it, try it out. It will definitely test your game. Thanks for the design Patrick!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

johnny4put

1    10/22/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: johnny4put
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Quiet and shady. Well painted baskets.
Cons: Located in a bad neighborhood. Tees were hard to find. I couldnt find 5 and went home. Kind of creepy with the moss on the trees and the nearby river. I kept listening for banjo music..
Other Thoughts: The grass was so long on 1 it took me 10 minutes to find my drive. As returning to my rental car I noticed young thuggy type guy hanging in the parking lot. They left as I got closer. I carry .357 mag.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Meh

5+    4/20/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 49  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice Baskets
-Scenic Park
Cons: -Natural tees
-Park is in a bad neighborhood (would be hesitant to play alone)
-Only 9 holes
-Course get flooded and really mushy after rains.
-Course was not designed by a professional
Other Thoughts: It's great that the City of Tampa agreed to another disc golf course in the area, however with so many other great courses within 30 minutes of here it left me never wanting to play this course.

I'm told that the park is becoming something bigger other than disc golf, which could be good if they invest in some nice pads and tee signs. But also could be problematic for foot traffic as the park isn't tremendously big.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Like This Course, But...

1    5/26/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 40.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a scenic park with large oak and pine trees, giving multiple ways to throw most of the holes.

Nice grassy fairways make losing a disc very unlikely.

The park has a nice quiet, peaceful vibe to it. A nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Tampa area.

The course is fairly long, with a couple of bombers. Big guns might like the longer holes here.

Cons: Umm, Having nine baskets with 18 tees is not an 18 hole course in my opinion, its a nine hole course with 18 tees. A little fine tuning on this course could probably yield a "real" 18 hole course. These style courses do seem popular in the Tampa area though.

The tee pads are dirt, and in bad repair. Come on Tampa, avoid the lawsuit now and put in some cement tees!

The navigation is somewhat brutal. Some tee signs are missing, and some tees are a little trickey to find. I strongly encourage 1st timers to play with a local, or seek out a guide. There is also a long walk back to the car from hole "18".

There is a river in the park, but it isn't really used for the dg course.

No restrooms, but the course isn't too far from civilization, and there are plenty of trees.





Other Thoughts: With all of the cons, this was still a fun and scenic course. Not a destination course by any means, but with a guide, a very satisfying round of golf can be had here.

The potential is here for something very nice, she just needs a few upgrades and improvements.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Spooky 22'nd street park

2-4    4/24/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 91  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly added concrete tees. Never busy. Very nice blue baskets. Great challenge with very large mature oak trees garding most baskets. Old mans beard adds challenge as you have to keep it low. Some long shots to air it out.
Cons: Only 9 baskets for 18 holes. 10-18 play back to basket 1-9. No rest rooms. Just port-a-pottie by baseball field.
Other Thoughts: Fun & spooky to play at dusk. The large trees with the old mans beard create some spooky shadows at dusk. If you like to creep yourself out like I do, try this one at dusk.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Varied for Nine

1    1/18/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This one surprised me in a good way. It's not a destination course, but as a beginner- or intermediate-level course, it offers a decent variety with some nice length, some pretty surroundings and even some length.

The first hole offers some length and its a good one. At seven-hundred feet, most will need a second drive even after airing it out off of the tee. There's even a little downhill at the end, leading to a tricky little approach shot with trees coming into play near the green.

The next few holes play along the river. The water lurks here, only threatening truly errant shots, but forehanders and lefties (though not forehanding lefties) will have to at least consider it before throwing. These range in the 300s distance wise, and there are enough trees to force players to aim carefully, but straight shots should suffice. The final hole of this group(5) is the longest at 435 feet and it plays towards the river instead of along it.

The last bunch of holes are shorter featuring distances between 200 and 300 feet and tend to force you to use a strong turn or skip to get near the pin. It's one case where the the alternate tees are actually different, as the second set plays right-to-left whereas the originals play the opposite. They are actually very nice lines to throw, especially the RHFH lines.

It's a nice collection of holes that I enjoyed. The kind that I would like to be near home, but not the kind that I would seek out or consider an integral part of a road trip.
Cons: It's definitely a misnomer to call this an eighteen hole course. There are nine holes with two pads each. Most of the alternate pads are just a dozen feet to the right or left of the original pad, and don't provide anything resembling a different look at the basket.

This could be a three-star course or more if the second set of tees was moved to somewhere not so close to the first nine. This wouldn't be too hard, as the tees are natural(not something I mind) so the sign posts would just need to be dug up and placed somewhere they could approach baskets from a different angle.

It's also clearly not a course that will challenge the veteran player, nor one that I would seek out or travel to. There are no spectacular holes here. Nothing to remember. There's nothing wrong with a solid course that can be played quickly and in likely solitude, as long as that's what is expected. That's what you should expect here.
Other Thoughts: That said, it was easy to follow and had nice variation, some length and some tricky shots. Really a solid course that plays to a certain ability level, knows what it is and executes the vision.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Natural Florida at some of it's best!

1    12/25/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: Marcwrosejr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ok, I would give this course an actual rating of 2.75 but since it's not an option and I think if I were to go 2.5 it would be to low. This is natural Florida at some of it's best. The live oaks are beautiful and some of the holes run next to the Hillsborough River.

I think they did a great job in using the trees to defend the holes. I wouldn't classify the lanes as open nor would I say there narrow, there pretty nice in my opinion. The oaks provide most of the obstacles, #8 is really the only one hole with brush around it.

The course is only 9 pins and they use multiple tees to turn this into and 18 hole course.
Cons: There are several tee signs missing. The natural pads are well worn out, I couldn't find #17's pad. A couple of signs are inaccurate. The flow isn't the worst but it could've been better.

No restrooms, water fountains or concessions.
Other Thoughts: It's an enjoyable course with great natural beauty. I will come to play here upon my next visit in Temple Terrace. There's also a course near USF I would recommend as well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best that could be done.

5+    9/19/2011   9/19/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 1st hole is a nice, long downhill shot; something that is unique to the area.
- Good balance of left and right turning holes.
- Some unique lines with low ceilings; each hole has multiple routes to the pin.
- Tee-signs are nice graphically, not very accurate though.

- Great scenery and wildlife.
Cons: - VERY unorganized, it is very easy to get lost in this course, the flow is not steady and the signs under the basket sometime only point to the next hole for the front nine tee pads.
- Nasty natural tee-pads that have been worn in way past their prime.
- One of the tee-pads utilizes the same basket/tee-pad combo for two separate holes, I guess for the front nine you go to the right and the back nine to the left.
Other Thoughts: - This course was built on a piece of land that was once completely wooded and abandoned. I played this course for the first time about a week or so after it had opened and there were still very large piles of trees, brush and other junk throughout the course. So to say that this course has come a long was is an understatement.

- Not a course i recommend taking a day trip to play unless you plan on playing other courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I liked it

2-4    3/8/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course was relatively easy to navigate thanks to:
- the course map before the first hole
- mini-maps on most of the tees
- arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee.

Nice scenery

Par for most holes shown on the sign at the tee.
Cons: The tees are sometimes far from the basket on the previous hole.

A lot of the tee signs were missing
Other Thoughts: Print the map that is posted in the "Links/Files" section of this website. It will come in handy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.