Tampa, FL 
22nd St. Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JimW Hole #2 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Live Oaks on the River

1    1/27/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 14.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting - live oaks, riverside, quiet and removed from the neighborhood
Cons: Tee areas
Other Thoughts: 22nd St. Park disc golf course is a nine-basket/18-tee flat Florida course set mostly in an impressive stand of live oaks and tucked into the back corner of an otherwise small municipal park. While the park itself and the surrounding neighborhood are not quite the shiny sunny tourist ideal, most of the course is a good taste of real Florida: sprawling live oaks, sandy, flat, and playing along a nearly still, black-tea-colored river.

This course is atypical of many in the area in that it does not measure up with the little details. The teepads are natural, set in sand, and thus wearing down quickly. Getting a good X-step can be a challenge. The signage is decent, but missing in a couple spots. Directional arrows for the next tee do help a lot, however. A couple scrub piles mar an otherwise nice landscape. No permanent bathrooms or water are present.

This course measures up better from a playability perspective. After an out of character super long, wide open hole #1, the rest of the course plays among the oaks. While no hole is particularly distinctive, the course does take advantage of the landscape. It's not particularly tight, and thick underbrush is not an issue at all, but it's not all wide-open chucks either. The course does get technical in spots, and thus, coupled with the low punishment factor, could be a good place to learn the game. Each hole has one basket, but two tees; the second nine come at each basket from a different angle. While the river is partially in view along one side, it's not really in play, so the only danger out here is whacking a big tree.

Overall, I rate this course as Decent, and worth checking out if you're in the area. The landscape of live oak hammocks alongside the river is the big plus, and the course has a decent playability factor. It features a couple birdie runs, a couple long holes, and players will need both control and distance to excel. These positives are offset by poor tee areas (which is atypical for this area), a lack of any really distinctive holes or design elements, and the fact that it's only nine baskets.

Favorite hole - #2 - Picturesque shot down an alley of large, sprawlinig live oak trees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    1/8/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: larrod25
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course map and sign near the parking lot. Definitely take a picture of it. You will need it.

Beautiful park under old oak trees and along a small creek/river/canal(?). Very quiet, I saw no other DG's, and only a couple of walkers. I bet Glow golf would be amazing here!

Baskets looked brand new, at least recently painted.

Challenging Distance on most holes, but only 4 or 5 holes over 400 feet. Also only 4 or 5 shorter "ace run" holes.
Cons: Not the best neighborhood, probably want to rethink the glow golf :/

Only nine baskets, 18 holes achieved by playing from different tee pads. Would be a problem if they were to host a tournament.

Tee Pads not in good shape - In my opinion this is the worst thing about the course. Most tee pads were very sandy and had holes and/or roots. I had to play 'around' the tee pads to find firm areas. On some holes this brought obstacles such as overhanging branches more into play than they otherwise would be.

Navigation not easy without the course map. I followed a previous posters' advice and snapped a cell phone pic. It was invaluable.

1st hole is really long and doesn't seem to fit. Hole placement is good, but the tee should be move over to the road on the right and about 150 ft up. It would bring some OB into play and still be a tough par 4 for most people.
Other Thoughts: This course cold be awesome with a little more work. The park has plenty of space for a full 18 hole layout, and I would love to see a few more 'tunnel' holes with the oak trees. Also the previously mentioned change to hole 1 would be an improvement.

Overall a very enjoyable round of golf! I would play it regularly if I lived in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Natural Beauty

1    11/17/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I feel very lucky to read about and then get to play this very pretty course in Tampa, Fl. The course parallels the lovely, Hillsborough river and contains many challenging shots. I really enjoyed holes 2 to 5, and nine was a nice finisher. The course asks for hyzer, anhyzer, long and low shots. Really is a good place to practice shotmaking in a very pretty setting...There are holes ranging from 250 to 700 ft. so you really get to use every disc in the bag. I really enjoyed the varied opportunities found here....
Cons: Hole one is 700 ft. and just starts in a huge open field. with all the nice area around, I'm confused why this would be, but at least it gives you a chance to go for everything you have. There is confusion between holes 6 to 8. I accidentally played to the 8 basket from the 6th tee, and had to backtrack and redo it. It wont be a problem the second time, but was confusing at first.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are nice, but seemed a bit low in comparison to other courses. Maybe not a con, but see what you think. Overall, its a beautiful course that is definitely worth checking out. I would have given it a three and a half if not for the strange layout around 6 to 8....

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Small Picturesque Course

1    11/4/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course plays under a beautiful canopy of Live Oaks that just make this course an experience in itself
-Beginner friendly and primarily a casual play course
-Hole 1 is a 700ft distance throw! Odd way to start, but I had fun with it!
-9 baskets with 18 tees allow for a quick 9 or a full 18.
-Good distances that average around 300ft, with some longer 400ft+ shots
-The layout winds around the trees, giving the thrower various lines to work.
-Since the fairways share a basket, I like how they start 10 near 9, rather than make you walk all the way back to the first tee
-Sign with map at the start.
-Baskets have arrows pointing you to the next tee pad.
-Navigation wasn't difficult, although I would take a map with you or snap a picture of the map with your phone. 6 and 7 have a weird transition. You walk past 7 to play 6, then back track to play 7. Not bad enough to make a con, but worth mentioning.
-Is primarily segregated from other activites, but don't be surprised to see someone just walking around under the trees.
-Good fun factor, the canopy from the trees definitely urges you to keep your shots low. Also, You can work various lines of approach between the trees.
Cons: -The walk back to the parking lot from 9/18 is really long, and you walk parallel to Hole #1.
-Some navigation issues between 5/14 - 8/17
-I'm not saying it's in a bad neighborhood, but I will recommend that you stick to the main roads on your way in. Stay on Sligh then turn left at the 7/11
Other Thoughts: This is a smaller course that plays underneath a beautiful and scenic canopy of live oaks. No, it's not Cliff Stephens or Coachman, but it has a really nice walk through experience. It does have holes that one could work on simple lines. I would call this a "Shot-shaping 101" course.

Courses like this are nice if you are on a limited time scheduled. It is what it is. It's small, it's short, but it's fun. It's too small of a course to hold any major faults to it, but it's a nice place to introduce people to the sport. It offers a nice low challenge 9 hole round, or a quick 18. The course should be played for the fun and for the scenery. The scenery is the real highlight and will be what you take away from this course. This is the kind of course I would like to have nearby in my neighborhood, but it's not one I would drive out of my way to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/21/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 74  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the fact that this course is easily accessible from I-275. This course offers plenty of length but not a lot of technical/accuracy is required. I like the blind shots (once you have been through the course once, a big plus) without being crazy obnoxious blind doglegs through dense woods. I really liked the map at the beginning so you can get a pic on your phone and figure out where you are going once on the course. You can see the tee poles pretty easily although it gets a little muddled up around 5-7. Beautiful park with lots of spectacular oak trees. A nice view of the Hillsborough river. I didn't even know it was there and was glad I didn't shank a drive into the drink.
Cons: Quite a walk from the "parking lot" to the 1st tee. Not much variety. A disc eating shrub dead center on hole 8. Navigation is a problem on 5-7 and again between 8 & 9. Once you see it, not a problem so that is easily overcome. A little secluded and I wasn't sure about the safety of the neighborhood. I would have felt better about that if there had been other people in the park. No one else there meant no locals to help show me the way.

I gave this course a 2.5 because its was a little repetitive on the long holes without having some of the niceties of other area parks.
Other Thoughts: All in all a decent park that needs concrete tees, directional arrows on the baskets and a few trash cans scattered throughout.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Boring

1    6/30/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. Good quality of signage. Beautiful oaks.
Cons: Boring shots. The back nine is identical to the front; you throw from different tees to that same basket. Horrible use of the space. I live in Tampa and I'll never play this course again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2nd chances

2-4    4/17/2015   5/3/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 290  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 39.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2015
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gorgeous canopy of mature live oaks bordering the Hillsborough river. Blue Mach 5 baskets and solid tee signs and course map. Some benches.
New long & grippy concrete tee pads.
Much of the course is shaded in the mature oaks canopy, which is a bonus in our 10-month long summers.
Cons: The course is listed as 18 holes even though there are only 9 baskets with 2 sets of tees. For me, the litmus test for how many holes a course has is simple... how many groups can play the course at one time? If your answer is "9", it's a 9-holer.

Some of the multiple tees play very differently. Others not so much. If you can't consistently throw 400' in a field, you may have trouble scoring on this course. With the extra length on some of the holes, errant shots stand a greater chance of going into an opposing fairway.

The neighborhood is no country club. I never had an issue, but I've talked to people who have. Stay alert!
Other Thoughts: Some of the course recently underwent a re-design, which addressed some of the earlier flow issues, which were also removed from this review.
Originally over 700', the 1st hole has moved back another 200' to start your round at a whopping 900'! So show up...warmed up!

There is still a bit of back-tracking in one or two places, but a new area that had seemingly been overlooked (actually disallowed) is now in play and makes for a couple of interesting and very reachable shots. A steep drainage ditch bordering these new holes was smoothed out and sodded and more benches adorn the park.

The signs are being replaced and several of the tees will swap from 'front-9' to 'back-9' to make it easier for first-timers to find their way around.
Tees 1-9 will be on the right and tees 10-18 will be on the left.

A very conducive piece of property for disc golf, but the average hole length definitely speaks to the power player.

That said, it's still a nice walk through a scenic area while tossing some plastic.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great course in an urban jungle

5+    4/30/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: Openarms
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful oasis in the middle of an urban atmosphere.  I have lived in Tampa for over six years, and I had no idea that this park was here. I went and played with a friend recently, who was born and raised in Tampa, and even he had no idea the park existed. I actually went and helped put the course in, when they had the volunteer day, a little over a month ago. I'm far from being a professional disc golfer, but I have been playing disc golf for over 15 years, and I really love the game. This is the first course that I have reviewed, so I'm not exactly sure what to say. I have played all the disc golf courses in the Tampa Bay and Sarasota area.  Cliff Stevens and Taylor Lake being my favorites, but is a pretty far drive for me.  The 22nd St. Park is just down the road from me.  Although this is a small park, I feel it is one of the prettiest courses in the area, and is quickly becoming one of my favorites. I really enjoyed the diversity of the course. Being just an average skilled disc golfer, I really like the fact that this course is not overly technical. There are many wide-open long throws, but also many moderately technical throws, with a lot of low hanging limbs from the giant oak trees.  From my understanding, there were a lot of boundaries and limitations that came with this land, as the Tampa park and rec has a lot of other plans for this park. I feel like this course utilizes the land that was given to them, in a creative and thoughtful way. 
Cons: The dirt teepads, and the lack of signage, is for sure the biggest disappointment. With out the proper signs, it can be hard to figure out were to go.  There is a whole lot of walking and some backtracking to do on this course for sure, and this does add time onto your game.  I don't see this as a design flaw, but rather an unfortunate fact of having 18 teepads and only 9 baskets.  Having just the 9 baskets can make it crowded on the weekends.  I really don't see how there is enough room for 18 baskets, but that would be really nice, if they could open the park up to allow that. 
Other Thoughts: I could see that there might be some confusion with the placement of the #5 and #14 basket.  Being that I was there to help put the course in, I know that the # 7 basket is not in the fairway of any shots.  It is a mandatory shot to go around to the right of the large oak tree where the #5 and #14 basket sits, this keeps all shots out of the #7 fairway.  This seems obvious to me, as a right handed thrower, but I could see how a lefty might want to go to the left of the oak tree.  Again, signage would be the easy solution to this problem, and many of the other problems.  They also need to concrete the signs in, before more signs get pulled up and taken away. 

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice piece of land with some glitches

1    4/26/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of the course plays through a canopied area with awesome big, old trees. There are many very picturesque areas and it's a pleasure to just make the walk. The odds of losing discs here are slight.

The shots required are mostly in the medium to medium-long range and present moderate technical challenge. Many of the shots present multiple options and there are opportunities to play creative routes, including rollers.

The course provides a good challenge for intermediate-advanced players. A round of 54 would likely be around a 930 rating. It also provides a good work-out for gold level players and wouldn't be overly frustrating for red level players.
Cons: Initial navigation is a little tricky. There isn't a main course sign and the first tee is out in the big open field. The first hole is 700 ft across the open field and then into the trees. The basket is tough to see from the tee.

Two of the tee signs were missing. (#4, #17)

The tee areas are natural at this point.

The tee for hole #7 is right in the middle of the fairway for hole #5/#14.

There are two places where the routing forces awkward, long backtracking from one hole to the next.

There are several places where tees are too close to baskets. There is plenty of room that could have been used to allow for more adequate safety buffers.

The course ends with hole #9/#18 about 1000 ft from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun holes in a flawed course

1    4/14/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: JimW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are generally well designed and fun to play, adequate variety of shot types needed. Baskets are nice Mach 5s.

Although the course is fairly long there are usually low ceilings or other obstacles that require accurate shots instead of pure grip and rip.

It is a pleasant park to walk in and most of your round will be spent in the shade, a very good feature for Florida summers.
Cons: Only nine baskets for an 18 hole course will make it cramped if there are several groups playing and some holes are only slightly different from the other sharing their basket.

"Teepads" are a wooden board in the ground and some of the run-up/plant areas are already getting churned up and don't offer solid footing. There are also always going to be lots of leaves on the ground which multiple times caused me to restart my run-up after my first step slipped.

Signage is just a wooden pole with the hole number and distance on it. There are a fair amount of blind holes that require searching for the basket before you can throw because you have no way of knowing where it is. There are also no directional signs anywhere which makes it difficult at times to figure out where you go next; the course layout results in you having to double back or take a decent walk to the next teepad. There is also no sign at all for hole 4.

The course is on a fairly small plot of land so overlap between holes is inevitable. For the most part it is minimized by the layout but on holes 5 and 14 there is actually a teepad IN the fairway.

Holes 1 and 10 have a somewhat interesting finish due to the basket being placed slightly into the woods but except for the last 75 feet they are nothing more than throwing in a wide open field. Making them 5-700 feet long just makes them long field practice instead of short field practice.
Other Thoughts: If I was rating the course purely on what happens between the teepad and the basket it would rate 3.5 easily. Unfortunately the signage, teepads, a couple poor design choices, and the problems inherent with only having nine baskets for an 18 hole course really bring the rating down. I understand the desire for a full 18-hole course with long holes but not every plot of land has the capacity for that. This course would probably have turned out significantly better as either a long 9-holer or 18 short, technical holes. If proper teepads and better signage is installed in the future I will update my rating to a 3.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.