Tampa, FL 
22nd St. Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JimW Hole #1 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 702ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >

1    8/21/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the fact that this course is easily accessible from I-275. This course offers plenty of length but not a lot of technical/accuracy is required. I like the blind shots (once you have been through the course once, a big plus) without being crazy obnoxious blind doglegs through dense woods. I really liked the map at the beginning so you can get a pic on your phone and figure out where you are going once on the course. You can see the tee poles pretty easily although it gets a little muddled up around 5-7. Beautiful park with lots of spectacular oak trees. A nice view of the Hillsborough river. I didn't even know it was there and was glad I didn't shank a drive into the drink.
Cons: Quite a walk from the "parking lot" to the 1st tee. Not much variety. A disc eating shrub dead center on hole 8. Navigation is a problem on 5-7 and again between 8 & 9. Once you see it, not a problem so that is easily overcome. A little secluded and I wasn't sure about the safety of the neighborhood. I would have felt better about that if there had been other people in the park. No one else there meant no locals to help show me the way.

I gave this course a 2.5 because its was a little repetitive on the long holes without having some of the niceties of other area parks.
Other Thoughts: All in all a decent park that needs concrete tees, directional arrows on the baskets and a few trash cans scattered throughout.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Boring

1    6/30/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 62  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. Good quality of signage. Beautiful oaks.
Cons: Boring shots. The back nine is identical to the front; you throw from different tees to that same basket. Horrible use of the space. I live in Tampa and I'll never play this course again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lost opportunity ??

1    4/17/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 258  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gorgeous canopy of live oaks bordering the Hillsborough river. Blue Mach 5 baskets and nice tee signs. Some benches.
Cons: Hole #1 (702') starts from a large open field. The ONLY thing in that field is a telephone pole with guy-wires. The tee sits directly in front of those guy wires. So, if someone wants to take a decent run up (can't imagine why they would on a 700+ foot hole), they must run around the wires to do so.

The 1st hole also crosses a multi-purpose field, so if another group is playing soccer or cricket, the #1 tee can not be played.

Most of the individual holes are fairly decent, but the flow is poorly thought out. The tee of #7 can easily come into play on the 2nd shot on hole #5. You must walk past the 7th tee to play the 6th and then walk back. Hole 9/18 finishes about 600' from the first tee. Some areas are bunched up and other very conducive areas are not utilized.

Natural tees in sugar-sand make for inconsistent footing on the drive.

At the time that I played it, a very large branch (nearly half of a large oak tree) had fallen in the 9th/18th fairway and became an obstacle to play over, or around. It looked as if it had been there for a while, since I could see wear marks where people (players) had been stepping on the branch to climb over it.

The course is listed as 18 holes even though there are only 9 baskets with 2 sets of tees.
Other Thoughts: From my understanding, the 22nd street disc golf course was designed by parks employees who do not play the game and installed by a local player who had been working on the parks department for 3 years.

The equipment was purchased and installed in 2 weeks time with more emphasis on
being 'the first public disc golf course in the City of Tampa" parks and rec department than the quality of the layout.
A very conducive piece of property for disc golf, but the implementation was rushed and it shows. This course could be a wonderful disc golf venue if only the park system had more of an interest in being a 'quality' course, rather than just rushing things to make it their "first".

That said, it's still a nice walk through a scenic area.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great course in an urban jungle

5+    4/30/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: Openarms
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful oasis in the middle of an urban atmosphere.  I have lived in Tampa for over six years, and I had no idea that this park was here. I went and played with a friend recently, who was born and raised in Tampa, and even he had no idea the park existed. I actually went and helped put the course in, when they had the volunteer day, a little over a month ago. I'm far from being a professional disc golfer, but I have been playing disc golf for over 15 years, and I really love the game. This is the first course that I have reviewed, so I'm not exactly sure what to say. I have played all the disc golf courses in the Tampa Bay and Sarasota area.  Cliff Stevens and Taylor Lake being my favorites, but is a pretty far drive for me.  The 22nd St. Park is just down the road from me.  Although this is a small park, I feel it is one of the prettiest courses in the area, and is quickly becoming one of my favorites. I really enjoyed the diversity of the course. Being just an average skilled disc golfer, I really like the fact that this course is not overly technical. There are many wide-open long throws, but also many moderately technical throws, with a lot of low hanging limbs from the giant oak trees.  From my understanding, there were a lot of boundaries and limitations that came with this land, as the Tampa park and rec has a lot of other plans for this park. I feel like this course utilizes the land that was given to them, in a creative and thoughtful way. 
Cons: The dirt teepads, and the lack of signage, is for sure the biggest disappointment. With out the proper signs, it can be hard to figure out were to go.  There is a whole lot of walking and some backtracking to do on this course for sure, and this does add time onto your game.  I don't see this as a design flaw, but rather an unfortunate fact of having 18 teepads and only 9 baskets.  Having just the 9 baskets can make it crowded on the weekends.  I really don't see how there is enough room for 18 baskets, but that would be really nice, if they could open the park up to allow that. 
Other Thoughts: I could see that there might be some confusion with the placement of the #5 and #14 basket.  Being that I was there to help put the course in, I know that the # 7 basket is not in the fairway of any shots.  It is a mandatory shot to go around to the right of the large oak tree where the #5 and #14 basket sits, this keeps all shots out of the #7 fairway.  This seems obvious to me, as a right handed thrower, but I could see how a lefty might want to go to the left of the oak tree.  Again, signage would be the easy solution to this problem, and many of the other problems.  They also need to concrete the signs in, before more signs get pulled up and taken away. 

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice piece of land with some glitches

1    4/26/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2012
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most of the course plays through a canopied area with awesome big, old trees. There are many very picturesque areas and it's a pleasure to just make the walk. The odds of losing discs here are slight.

The shots required are mostly in the medium to medium-long range and present moderate technical challenge. Many of the shots present multiple options and there are opportunities to play creative routes, including rollers.

The course provides a good challenge for intermediate-advanced players. A round of 54 would likely be around a 930 rating. It also provides a good work-out for gold level players and wouldn't be overly frustrating for red level players.
Cons: Initial navigation is a little tricky. There isn't a main course sign and the first tee is out in the big open field. The first hole is 700 ft across the open field and then into the trees. The basket is tough to see from the tee.

Two of the tee signs were missing. (#4, #17)

The tee areas are natural at this point.

The tee for hole #7 is right in the middle of the fairway for hole #5/#14.

There are two places where the routing forces awkward, long backtracking from one hole to the next.

There are several places where tees are too close to baskets. There is plenty of room that could have been used to allow for more adequate safety buffers.

The course ends with hole #9/#18 about 1000 ft from the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun holes in a flawed course

1    4/14/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: JimW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes are generally well designed and fun to play, adequate variety of shot types needed. Baskets are nice Mach 5s.

Although the course is fairly long there are usually low ceilings or other obstacles that require accurate shots instead of pure grip and rip.

It is a pleasant park to walk in and most of your round will be spent in the shade, a very good feature for Florida summers.
Cons: Only nine baskets for an 18 hole course will make it cramped if there are several groups playing and some holes are only slightly different from the other sharing their basket.

"Teepads" are a wooden board in the ground and some of the run-up/plant areas are already getting churned up and don't offer solid footing. There are also always going to be lots of leaves on the ground which multiple times caused me to restart my run-up after my first step slipped.

Signage is just a wooden pole with the hole number and distance on it. There are a fair amount of blind holes that require searching for the basket before you can throw because you have no way of knowing where it is. There are also no directional signs anywhere which makes it difficult at times to figure out where you go next; the course layout results in you having to double back or take a decent walk to the next teepad. There is also no sign at all for hole 4.

The course is on a fairly small plot of land so overlap between holes is inevitable. For the most part it is minimized by the layout but on holes 5 and 14 there is actually a teepad IN the fairway.

Holes 1 and 10 have a somewhat interesting finish due to the basket being placed slightly into the woods but except for the last 75 feet they are nothing more than throwing in a wide open field. Making them 5-700 feet long just makes them long field practice instead of short field practice.
Other Thoughts: If I was rating the course purely on what happens between the teepad and the basket it would rate 3.5 easily. Unfortunately the signage, teepads, a couple poor design choices, and the problems inherent with only having nine baskets for an 18 hole course really bring the rating down. I understand the desire for a full 18-hole course with long holes but not every plot of land has the capacity for that. This course would probably have turned out significantly better as either a long 9-holer or 18 short, technical holes. If proper teepads and better signage is installed in the future I will update my rating to a 3.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Such a beautiful course.

5+    4/5/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: pking25
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 4/30/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Thank you so much Tampa parks and rec. What a nice surprise this course is. Located at the 22nd Street Park, King Oaks Canopy DGC is such a beautiful course. Hidden away in the middle of Tampa, this course is in the heart of an amazing stand of very old live oak trees. Some of these trees must be 300+ years old. The course meanders through all of these giant oak trees in a very nice way. The Hillsborough River is also another beautiful addition to the course atmosphere. I felt like this course was very challenging, but also very fair. Good shots will be rewarded, and bad shots will be punished. There are some water hazards with the Hillsborough River, but for the most part, it's hard to lose a disc here. Many long holes, with a handful of fairways that are over 400+ feet, one that is over 500+ feet, and an opening shoot of over 700 feet.


Cons: It would be nice if there were concrete tee pads and better signage for directions.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.