Course Extinct
Petersham, MA 
Ross's Run Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #9 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The best bombing course in MA!!

5+    4/6/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 114  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.7 Years
Pros: - Beautiful wide-open field that shares with ball golfers. The ONLY course in MA that has both ball golf and disc golf courses.

- The only course in MA that you can able to do super long rollers or super long bombing drives. #11 and #13 are the best holes for making awesome bombing drives. Grass are always cut short due to ball golf's needs.

- Some holes requires correct placement shots to make it a par or deuce.

- Can rent golf cart to drive around.
Cons:
- Have to share the course with ball golfers. Need to watch out for flying balls.

- Some tees needs work.

- Limited shop/clubhouse/bathroom hours.
Other Thoughts: Too bad that Ross' Run will be closed down this year (2013) due to legal issue with Harvard U.

RR could have been one of the best courses for all skill level players to play in MA. Hardly to lose discs in the wide-open fields.

 The first of its kind in MA!!!

1    4/26/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Defiantly one of the cooler courses in Central/Western MA. It has quite a few of nice add-ons that defiantly make this course unique. The pro shop on site is fully stocked with cold drinks and snacks, plus a liquor license!!!! There is also a curling club that is on the property is you are into that sort of thing.
The course is defiantly a good mix of all kinds of shots and varied distances. There are a couple of nice long holes that you can bomb it on, some short ace runs and several in between. One hole even has a pond the throw over. The tee pads are evolving and most should wind up being made of some snap together Vibram material which is nice and grippy. The other ones will be grass. They are all in really nice shape. There is a practice basket near the putting green right before hole 1. The signage is pretty impressive for such a young course. There are tee signs on every hole, next tee signs when needed and "Kamikaze" signs (aluminum squares with red dots) guide the way on longer holes. There are water jugs full of ice cold water on 8 and 16. There is also a retrieval device on the water hole. Maps/scorecards are available in the clubhouse. Golf carts are available for rental for you old/lazy guys:)
Cons: Some of the tees are narrow. A few areas need some clearing and brush dragging. Thorn bushes are abundant in and near the rough. There are a couple of switchbacks and crossing the ball golf fairways; but as long as you pay attention it shouldn't be an issue. There is no parking lot so you have to park on the road, but there is a wide breakdown lane.
Other Thoughts: The designer of the ball golf course was the father of design (it has been here since the early 1900's). There is also some of the old equipment that they used when building it scattered on the course which is pretty cool. I am not a fan of the Discnation baskets here: Portables are necessary but I would have preferred another type.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/9/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean, professional atmosphere with friendly staff, and a pro shop. A couple fun downhill drives.
Cons: A lot of design concessions were made to accommodate fitting both ball and disc golf on the same plot of land. Quite a few uninteresting straight holes along the perimeter of the property, followed by longer than normal walks to the next tee. Long straight and open drives to a pin protected by one or two trees.

The course is by no means easy, but most of the challenge came from close proximity to punishing woods/rough from which you will never find a lost disc.
Other Thoughts: I'm always happy to have a new course available, but can't imagine paying to play here more than once a year, when the vastly superior (and free) Tully is so close nearby. This course will surely improve over time though.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun New Course

1    5/31/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: Schneau
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of wide open holes and technical woods shots. Some of the open drives over ball golf fairways are the longest and cleanest I've seen in the area, especially two or three long downhill drives that are just gorgeous. Quite a few of the holes stand out as memorable, including the huge downhill drive on 11 and the combination tight drive / open approach on 18.
Cons: If you stay on the fairway you'll be fine, but there tends to be very dense and thorny foliage just off the fairway on many holes. Since many of the holes have narrow fairways, this lead to quite a few forays into the underbrush to retrieve lost discs.
Other Thoughts: I definitely found this course to favor RHBH throwers, with not many reasons to breakout my forehand. The ball golfers never were in the way while we were playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  worth the trip

1    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: siekman123
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: designed by ball golfers, so it has a professional type feel. signage good in general. great fun to unleash on a couple ball golf fairways holes 11-15 fantastic. #5 has to be best hole
Cons: the woods sections need some work. great job clearing out, but its very uneven and tough to walk through. also very easy to lose a disk here..thick thorny woods=lost blizzard boss
Other Thoughts: great potential here. lots of flexibility with holes, will only get better with time. great work done all around completely worth the trip

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 DG + Beer + Golf Carts = Hell Yes

2-4    4/28/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: Dylan Courtney
Played: 83  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ross's Run, named after famous golf course designer Donald Ross, flows through and around a 9 hole ball golf course. There are of course areas where the two sports intersect but it was executed much better then the only other BG/DG course I have played: The now extinct Emerald Isle in Oceanside, CA.

Laid back and unpretentious country club (steamed hot dogs, bud cans, etc.)

Half the holes are over 400 ft, but only a few are on wide open golf fairways. Good mix of wooded technical shots and a few all-out bombers.

Beautiful scenery including the landscaping, natural edges, and wildlife. In one day we saw 4 hawks (flying above #14 tee), 1 Porcupine (#6 tee), and 2 snakes (#9 path).

Golf Carts! They are gas powered and awesome if you are trying to fit 3 rounds in like we were. If you are imbibing, it's a no brainer. There are only a few places where you park the cart to play a hole, and then return to the cart.
Cons: Although the course is new and will surely improve with maintenance and foot traffic, thorns will always be an issue at this course for poor shots. They have every kind big and small. I would have to play this course 10 more times before I dared to wear shorts.
Other Thoughts: Hole 11 is an "empty the bag" hole for me. Best tee pad surface I have thrown from. I had my longest shot ever on the 2nd round: 520ft drive, then 15ft putt for the birdie. Mind you I can only throw low 400s, so the huge hill can add 100ft to your throw. After round 3, we emptied the bags on this hole after we finished 18 since we had the cart.

They are experimenting with different tee pad surfaces right now including manicured grass BG tees, two different types of Vibram rubber tees, and some gravel ones. Hopefully they go with the Hole 11 rubber. The grass ones are great too but only work on holes that start where BG starts and would get slick in rain of course.

We did not experience any conflict or waiting around for BGers, but it was windy and not very crowded.

This course will improve quickly. They have already made changes to the course since I played 4 days ago after receiving feedback on our regional forum, including myself. A couple of 'Cons' have already been addressed; hence I have very little in that category.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ross's Run=Awesome

1    4/25/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Coop
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Ross's Run plays around the edges and fairways of an existing ball golf course. With that said the course is very clean and the fairways on the open holes are the best I've ever played. They are great fairways for rollers.

*Good mix of open bomber holes, tighter wooded shots and a couple ace runs thrown in.

*Clubhouse with proshop. They got food,drinks and I believe they serve beer there aslo. What more do you want between rounds?

* The obvious, the 9 hole golf course. You can play a round of disc and ball golf in the same day.

* Golf carts are available for disc golf.

* Flat level tee boxes. Some have gravel, a new rubber compound, all weather carpet and dirt. I list this as a pro as they were level, flat and large. I believe when they are done experimenting with material they will have it all as one type(I'm hoping that vibram rubber).

* With it being private property theft is something not to worry about as much so the baskets are not sleeved into the ground. With that being said the course designers can move them around to change up pin location.
Cons: *One real con that comes to mind on this course is that since it is played around the fairways of a ball golf course is errant shots from the ball golfers.

*The course is still a little rough around the edges, this isnt my con though as this course is new. The pickers are my con here. They are huge and sharp.
Other Thoughts: Ross's Run is a brand new course on a 9 Hole golf course. This is a pay to play course. They got a special going for April $6/round, $10/day. After that it goes to $8/round to $14/day. While the average disc golfer may find this a con I believe you get what you pay for and with Ross's Run your getting something good. I may even try my first round of ball golf soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 disc golf meets ball golf

5+    4/24/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: psullivan9854
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on a beautifully maintained and scenic ball golf course. Good signage that provides adequate hole info and hole to hole directions. Good mix of shots..some long bombers, 225 ft water carry, some nice eleavation changes.
Has a Pro shop, food and drink onsite.
**Golf cart rental, great for multiple rounds, cooler etc
Cons: Not alot of tight wooded shots- Is that a con???
Currently has a mixture of teebox surfaces; Vibram rubber material, all weather carpet, crushed aggregate, clay/dirt mix etc. They are experimenting.....
Other Thoughts: Fulltime groundskeepers are constantly cleaning and improving the course. Every time I visit it just keeps getting better and better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great New Course

5+    4/17/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: SeanMC125
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is played on and around an existing Ball golf course. Carts are available. Wide open back with a mix of shots on the front. Beautiful property and enthusiastic staff.
Cons: Prickers (course is still new, needs more traffic)
Other Thoughts: This is a MUST play course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.