Disc Golf Store
Woodbury, PA 
Woodbury Twp. Community Park Share
Uploaded By: obi1keno Hole #1 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 120ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Small course, but hey, it's still a course

2-4    9/25/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: obi1keno
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you live 15 miles or so from here, this is the closest place to you! A great place for newbies looking to hone their skills.
Cons: The course is small with only 5 holes (currently the course info says 4, but hole 5 goes back to basket 1). The tees are rubber and have become rather lumpy so be careful when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: There is actually a 5th hole on this course. What the photos show as hole #1, is now hole 5. There is a new tee for hole #1 that is near the kiddie playground on the side of the main building. It's the only hole with big trees you'll have to maneuver around. The basket for hole 5 is actually the same basket for hole 1. So basically the course now takes you in a cooking pan-type path. The course is behind the main building so you can't see it from the road. I've driven past this course on my way to work for years and never knew it existed! Now I'll be stopping for a quick fix on my way home. To be honest, if I didn't pass it everyday, I probably wouldn't stop to play it. Especially if I was a more experienced player. I image if anyone was ever playing baseball there, it would be difficult to play a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Open Course

1    8/21/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: kman812
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice open field to play. Great for beginners (such as myself) to practice various shots.

Baskets in great shape.

Good rural location and little chance of losing a disc on the course.
Cons: Course has only 4 holes but can easily be played in a short amount of time.

Other Thoughts: Not a course to drive a great distance to reach, however, if in the area a nice place to get in some DG holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hopefully it introduces people to the game.

2-4    5/23/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: Jimb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful area "in the middle of nowhere" PA. Only about a 5 minute drive to a market & McDonalds. In a nice little park with some playground equipment, swings, picnic tables, a baseball field, a basketball court and a tether-ball pole.

Brand new Discraft chains with the hole #s marked on the poles.

The simple nature of the layout caters to beginners. It could definitely get a new player more interested in the game. And many people who frequent the park might be seeing disc golf baskets for the first time.
Cons: Stating the obvious... there are only 4 holes. The distance is very short. The one hole that's over 300' plays well down-hill, thus shortening the effective length.

The rubber tees aren't marked in any way. They are approximately 3' x 8'. Unfortunately, they are just laid on top of the grass & nailed down. (Maybe these are just temporary "test" tee locations?)

All 4 holes play around the baseball field. Hole #4 might not bring the ball-field into play, but #1-3 definitely will. There are virtually no obstacles to throw around. #1, #2 & #4 are basically open air shots to mostly/completely open baskets. Only #3 forces you to throw around an obstacle, the baseball back-stop.

The hole #1 & #4 fairways cross. But here's the biggest con in my opinion...

With the current layout, the basket for #2 is directly in the line of play for your tee shot on #3. (Check out the pictures.) There is room to the right to throw a RHBH hyzer out and around the #2 basket. But if you want to go straight at the #3 pin, forget about it.
Other Thoughts: I think that it's great that a small community park put in some chains and I really do hope that the course will serve to introduce many new players to my favorite sport. Personally, I will probably never go back since it really isn't close to any other serious attractions for me. But I don't regret that I went.

#1 is fun to just throw drives down the hill from. #2 is my favorite hole. It's short, but has farmland to the left and the baseball field to the right. I would assume that both are OB. And then you have to contend with getting around the backstop, from left to right. Good anhyzer approach practice for me.

I wouldn't recommend that you go out of your way to play here. But if you find yourself within <10 miles of Woodbury and really need a little dg fix, there are 4 baskets here. I, for one, can always use putting practice. And tee #1 starts just past the community center building that's on the right of the parking lot as you pull into the park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Four Corners of DG!

1    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course plays in the heart of Woodbury, a small town in Northern Blair County. The course currently contains four baskets that play in a rectilinear pattern around a baseball field.

- Super new/shiny Discraft Chainstar baskets!

- A nice putter or midrange-only round.

- Nice asset for the community
Cons: - Only four holes, and sadly, it doesn't look like the township has much land with which to add more.

- Short holes. I didn't measure them, but the longest can't be more than 200 feet.

- No teepads. Tees are only marked with orange spray painted poles--although I couldn't find one for hole #2.

- Plays around a baseball field, so any games would interrupt the play on the dg course.

- No real variety in shots (all open and pretty static in elevation) and there aren't even enough baskets for half of a round of nine.

- No info about the course (signage, kiosk, or even tees). I'm not even sure I played the right tees, but I assumed the orange markers were supposed to correspond to the appropriate baskets.
Other Thoughts: There's not really much to say about the course because there isn't a whole lot there. Only four holes that play in an open area around a baseball field. However, any form of disc golf is welcome in this area and I'm happy that people in the Southern Blair/Northern Bedford County area have a place to play now.

I don't suggest making this a destination, but worth a visit if you're ever traveling on PA-36.

The best use I can see for this park is to get a bunch of people to just putt-around. It'd be kind of cool to get 4-8 people and just practice a million putts. As far as playing a full round, however, go to Canoe Creek or Shawnee or even Bedford Middle School.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.