Wallingford, CT
Lufbery Park Share
Uploaded By: leviathanman Hole #4
3 / 285ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Tough Course

5+    9/25/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: Ample free parking. Some fun, challenging holes with lots of trees. Played often during the week and seldom saw others on the course.
Cons: Long walks between some of the holes. Enough brush and fallen trees to make a lost disc possible.
Other Thoughts: Have not played since the other 9 holes were added. With a full 18 this course definitely should be checked out.

Wally World

5+    1/10/2014   1/10/2014
Review By: AgentJ
Played: 123  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 1/16/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Free to play public park course with plenty of free off street parking.
* Right off the Merritt parkway
* Large info kiosk/sign showing you where the course starts.
* Excellent use of elevation,
* There are tee signs on the original 9 and they are very nice. I'm sure the new round of tee signs will be done soon.
* Foliage is generally kept in check unless you go way off the fairway.
* Great use of space between the established walking trails.
* Good up versus down balance
* Nice/interesting holes 6, 8, 10, 14, 18
* Hole 14 is an obvious signature hole.
Cons: * Natural tee areas are not flat, and some have rock/root issues.
* No benches
* Few garbage cans
* So tight
* Some awkward tee shots
* A few too many blind shots
* No bomber/open shots
* Not so interesting holes 1, 3, 4, 5, 17.

Other Thoughts: * Chainstars are in great shape.
* Flow is pretty good, there's a walk from 7-8 and a walk from 15-16, nothing too bad.
* Restrooms are usually locked.
* The newer back 9 holes up the challenge from the front
* Holes not mentioned above are okay, not bad by any definition, but not the most memorable.
* A few tee position tweaks, a couple basket tweaks, and some more tree cutting could really improve my experience.
* 2.5 for now...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

awesome course

1    12/24/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: connecticutsfinest
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fairways were very clear and defined. Very challenging great lines love the ravine holes the back 5 reminded me of paw paw
Cons: When you get into the rough you are in the rough lol wish the whole course was finished
Other Thoughts: I loved it

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Under rated course!

2-4    8/3/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: polishedmarvel
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, technical holes aren't for everyone but it's a great little course in the woods, very rewarding to play, well marked with good paths between holes
Cons: The woods are a little dense, 1-2 trees I would take down on most holes, and the underbrush could be cleaned up a bit. Might lose a disc if you're not paying attention.
Other Thoughts: Other reviewers docked this course for being 9 holes... that's only because they liked the first 9 so much! Everyone's reviews say it's a great little course, but it's only 3 stars. I think it's very under rated, a short, high quality 9 holes of disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great find

2-4    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: oceancountydg
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Found this course 1mile away from my wife's parents house. With low expectations I went there along with 3 first timers. Had a really good time. Really fun wooded course. Good mix of tight wooded holes, uphill, downhill, right and left doglegs. Nice signs and maintained very well. I have played it 4 times in the past 2 months (November-December) and the walkways were raked and fairways were clean considering all the leaves and snow around. The newbs that I have brought with me got hooked and I have gotten them all pumped on dg from playing this course.
Fun holes that allow you to practice different shots with lots of trees and some elevation
Cons: No open holes/ no chance to throw a long drive.
Short holes that are too wooded. (You can throw an almost perfect drive and always seem to catch a tree somewhere along the way) I've thrown several finesse shots that seem perfect but somewhere along the way there is a random branch or twig hanging that messes up that parked shot.
Other Thoughts: Back 9 should be cool. I've walked some of the area but it seems like its going to be more wooded holes. Hope they make some longer holes that let you throw a driver. I was able to throw mids and putters the whole round.
No one in the area seems to know about the course unless they have been on dgcr. I have brought several people from the area to the course and they couldn't believe how close it was to where they lived and no one knew about it. They all said if more people knew it was there more people would go play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Potential

5+    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: S. Flavius Mercurius
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging, tight and technical. Completely wooded. Flows nicely from hole to hole, good use of terrain with a mix of elevation and turns. Navigation simple even before signs added on all holes except the majestic 8, which speaks for itself, I guess.
Cons: Tee pads are natural and mostly in great shape, but some awkward spots. Could lose a disc here if you go off line, lots of under brush. All par 3's except for one which I think could be a 4, and wish it was. The hike between 7 and 8 is funny to me but could be absurd to some. If you plan on playing through twice, don't take the long path back. Double back through hole 7 tee pad down through 6 back to the 1st hole. Don't think I'm the only one who noticed this.
Other Thoughts: Signs are new to me as of 8/20/12 and bag hooks on the posts are a plus. Anxious for the planned back 9 expansion, and would even volunteer to assist. With a great back 9 and some TLC this could be one of my favorites in the state.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/23/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: ryan35
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good mix of hyzer and an-hyzer shots. everything par 3 although one could be four imo. 2 holes downhill and 2 holes uphill. Baskets easy to find and are located well imo. Easy to find next tee even though no markers, just follow path of logs on the ground. Only 5 minutes away from exit 13
Cons: It needs 18 holes, after hole 9, backtrack to hole 7 and you will see hole 5 just beyond the basket, much quicker walk back to the beginning, otherwise the given path will take you much longer to get out to play 9 holes twice.
Other Thoughts: At times there are trees mid-fairway, can be annoying but if you prefer the challage of that aspect then you should enjoy either way. 18 holes would be great, they have the room for it, just need some funding. I frequent this one the most because its closest to me. The course in Orange is nice also but every hole much shorter, you can finish 18 there in an hour easy. Here in wallingford would take longer

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

On its way to being a 4-Star Course!

5+    7/19/2013   5/7/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 44  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging shots. Good landscape and great use of elevation changes. A few really sharp doglegs both right and left. Course is basically clean and fairways are free of debris. Tee signs include distance, par, map and distance to certain landmarks on the fairway (turn, stream, road, etc.). Navigation is intuitive. Small orange-painted concrete squares mark a fault line on the natural tees. It's short, technical, and challenging on the front 9 and the designers really upped the ante for the back 9 getting some big distance. All holes are in the woods. There's a big tee sign at the front of the course. The locals have a weekly league going and schedule regular workdays to keep the course in good condition. The designer really keeps the course in excellent condition. The course is hardly ever crowded. Easy to drive to, right off exit 64 on the Wilbur Cross Turnpike (CT-15).
Cons: Natural tees have roots, rocks or other issues for your footing. Bathrooms in the parking area seem to always be locked. As it is right now, the course ends at hole 14, with a long walk back to hole 18 which is also in. The mosquitoes here are really annoying; bug spray is a really good idea. Quite a bit of rough foliage and precariously positioned fallen trees too. Leaves on the ground in the fall make finding discs tough. A few fairways are really hard to find a line on. Could use a few longer holes and maybe one or two that are a little more wide open and a practice basket.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here and I can't wait for the back 9 to be finished. Once the course is complete this will be a great home course for New Haven-ites. Definitely the best course in the county and well on its way to 4-star caliber!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great quick 9 for CT

5+    4/10/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: leviathanman
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: challenging 9 holes with elevation and woods to conjure up all types of shots. short tight holes lead to many outcomes for a quick (dry) 9 holes of d.golf. kind of a hidden practice gem for us ct disc golfers :)
Cons: finishing hole 7 leads to a nice hike up to 8 but we all know thats part of the game!... and after 9 there is a bit of a walk back to 1, but it's just begging for 9 more. plenty of room for it too!
Other Thoughts: if you find the walk up to 8 and the walk back from 9 to be a bit of a pain, you can always play back to 5 after 7 and then return to 1 (located right next to the basket on 5) if you're looking for a longer circuit this helps too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.