Wallingford, CT 
Lufbery Park Share
Uploaded By: dtupper8 Hole #1
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/24/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: So much potential here. It's still in progress. Some tees are poured and other have yet to be done. I'm going to assume that they all get poured in the near future and raise this course to a 3.5. Plenty of fantastic holes with the highlight being a few that cross back and forth over a valley. On these the tee and basket sit at a much higher elevation then the ground inbetween. You can attempt to make it all the way across for a chance at birdie but if a tree knocks the disc down, you are suddenly looking at a long climb to the pin. (Like a mini-Richmond Hill) I love this type of hole. So much exhilaration as the disc bends around the last tree en route to the opposite high ground.
There's quite a bit of elevation here beyond the valley holes and it is all good stuff. Real disc golf elevation holes, that well-thought out flight paths can take advantage of. There aren't lot of sudden drops or overly steep climbs. (unless you go off course) I love those dramatic drop-offs from an aesthetic point of view but throwing wise, I prefer the more gradual descents that are present here. They allow the shot to be not just a drop but a coolly curving drop that bends to the right or left around a line of trees.
For a new course, the navigation is surprisingly intuitive. Often, that is one of the last things to be added to a course, but visitors should find their way around without a problem. The course is in remarkable shape for such a new project with the fairways pretty well established and the rough manageable.
Cons: Sometimes, it's hard to find cons for an unfinished course, because you don't know what's about to be fixed. Typically, I can always find something to put in cons, even for my favorite courses. But on a new place this, with so much potential, I will have to leave cons to those who play the finished version. I'll only say that, yeah, it's not finished yet and while it is already a solid play, the true value is still in the potential.
Other Thoughts:
If Lufberry continues to improve it should challenge Cranbury for the number two course in the state. The elevation available on site is just that good.

soon to be my favorite ct woods course

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: elcapitanmas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: awesome technical holes with great elevation changes
super clean course (no trash)
awesome DETAILED tee signs
nice quiet park
great baskets
great layout
work in progess (yes its a pro, its nice to see a course progressing quickly, work was being done on a SATURDAY while we were playing)
new 9 holes and paths marked, even though temporary, they were still well marked.
Other Thoughts: can't wait to play this course again!

Potential to be one of the best in CT

5+    5/29/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: chikago12
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: -Excellent use of elevation change. A lot of the holes are up, down, around, and you're often not just shooting up or down, but also left or right, further adding to the awesomeness of seeing your disc hit a tight gap.
-Chainstar baskets are brand new and are in great shape.
-Paths between holes are very well marked. Never a doubt where you're going.
-Located in a beautiful park in Wallingford, CT. Sleeping Giant State Park is right down the street, so the course + the park makes for an excellent day trip
- Has a very 'clean' feel. Fairways are very clear and obvious, and you can see the gaps that the course designer had in mind when making the course for almost all the holes. Brush and thorns are mostly cleared away if you happen to stray off the fairways.
-Some holes just feel epic because of the elevation change and the challenge. The course does a great job of making almost every hole feel important.
-A lot of really fun shots:
#8 is a cool short risk reward hole, with the pin perched on the edge of a cliff. Forehand line goes away from the cliff, but there are trees in the way. Backhand line hyzers toward the cliff, but is a little more open.
#12 is my personal favorite hole on the course. A HUGE downhill swooping right to left shot with a beautifully laid out green.
#13 is a great set up hole for #14. Very short, over an ENORMOUS canyon through a narrow gap. Super technical.
#14 is easily the signature hole on the course. You have to pure about a 10-15 foot gaps across a canyon, then you play through a clearing to a pin drilled straight into an enormous rock, to create a naturally elevated pin.

Cons: -Natural teepads, which are a real problem for such an up and down course. You're rarely throwing from a flat surface. Course just isn't completed yet. Also no benches or trash cans.
-Just a little tight here and there. A lot of holes are honestly just one tree away from being perfect, although taking down trees is easier said than done.
-Some of the holes feel like, 'Throw it and pray' shots, like #1 and #4. You can park these holes, but not without a bit of luck.
-Bathrooms are locked up.
-No open holes. There are definitely holes where you can unleash a big drive, but if you miss your gap you're gonna have a bad time. There's a big open field right next to hole #15, and every time I walk by it I wonder why it wasn't utilized.

Other Thoughts: -When this course is done, it's going to be one of the best in Connecticut. Locals seem dedicated and they're throwing tournaments left and right to raise money for tees.
-Feels a lot like Page Park, in Bristol. A lot of really fun shots and a lot of birdie shots, but any hole can ruin your round if you're not careful.

Great find

2-4    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: oceancountydg
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Found this course 1mile away from my wife's parents house. With low expectations I went there along with 3 first timers. Had a really good time. Really fun wooded course. Good mix of tight wooded holes, uphill, downhill, right and left doglegs. Nice signs and maintained very well. I have played it 4 times in the past 2 months (November-December) and the walkways were raked and fairways were clean considering all the leaves and snow around. The newbs that I have brought with me got hooked and I have gotten them all pumped on dg from playing this course.
Fun holes that allow you to practice different shots with lots of trees and some elevation
Cons: No open holes/ no chance to throw a long drive.
Short holes that are too wooded. (You can throw an almost perfect drive and always seem to catch a tree somewhere along the way) I've thrown several finesse shots that seem perfect but somewhere along the way there is a random branch or twig hanging that messes up that parked shot.
Other Thoughts: Back 9 should be cool. I've walked some of the area but it seems like its going to be more wooded holes. Hope they make some longer holes that let you throw a driver. I was able to throw mids and putters the whole round.
No one in the area seems to know about the course unless they have been on dgcr. I have brought several people from the area to the course and they couldn't believe how close it was to where they lived and no one knew about it. They all said if more people knew it was there more people would go play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

18 Holes in New Haven County

5+    4/19/2014   5/7/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging shots. Good landscape and great use of elevation changes. A few really sharp doglegs both right and left. Course is basically clean and fairways are free of debris. Tee signs include distance, par, map and distance to certain landmarks on the fairway (turn, stream, road, etc.). Navigation is intuitive. Small orange-painted concrete squares mark a fault line on the natural tees. It's short, technical, and challenging on the front 9 and the designers really upped the ante for the back 9 getting some big distance. All holes are in the woods. There's a big tee sign at the front of the course. The locals have a weekly league going and schedule regular workdays to keep the course in good condition. The designer really keeps the course in excellent condition. The course is hardly ever crowded. Easy to drive to, right off exit 64 on the Wilbur Cross Turnpike (CT-15).
Cons: Natural tees have roots, rocks or other issues for your footing. The designers have started putting in some tee boxes, and they are not to my liking. I find them to be a touch too narrow and the gravel doesn't afford good footing. Bathrooms in the parking area seem to always be locked. The mosquitoes here are really annoying; bug spray is a really good idea. Quite a bit of rough foliage and precariously positioned fallen trees too. Leaves on the ground in the fall make finding discs tough and it can be tough to find your lie on an errant shot too. A few fairways are really hard to find a line on. The longer holes could stand to be thinned out (especially 14) and a practice basket at the head of the course would be a great touch. It would also be nice to have a few holes that are a little more open too.
Other Thoughts: This is now the only 18 hole course in New Haven County. There's a lot to love here, though finding your lies can get frustrating. The new tee boxes are a bit of a disappointment, but I am happy to have this as a home course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.