Abilene, TX 
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: P-Katt   (Taken 4/2012)



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cactus Hell

1    5/23/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros:
- Mowed, well-defined fairways
- Easy to navigate
- Nice baskets
- Near a lake
Cons:
- Thick cactus patches along every fairway
- Very repetitive
- Too easy to just hyper bomb every hole instead of following the fairway
Other Thoughts:
I can't recommend this course. On the first hole, you're like, "cool, look at all the cactii," but by hole 18, you're like, "I never want to see another cactus for the rest of my life." they would honestly be better off ripping out all the baskets and starting over somewhere else. Either that, or napalm all the cactus, thorn bushes, and fire ants.


1    7/14/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is plenty of parking and bathrooms. I really appreciated the course map at hole 1 and the quality signs. You can either play a nine hole loop or all 18 holes. The first 6 holes are the same for both loops. The course was a lot of fun and was a quick play. The course makes you use all types of shots hyper/ straight/ anhyzers.
Cons: I assume it was so windy because we were in abilene, but it was almost unbearable when I played. I also couldn't stand how much cactus there was. I know it is not the course designers fault but the roughs are extremely rough. There were thorns/ cactus every where.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course but I would try to play it on the least windy day there is to get the full experience and enjoyment that you can.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ouch Ouch Ouch

2-4    9/10/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great new baskets
Great signs
Course map at #1
Good solid natural tees
Good directionals
Well laid out
Good for beginners to advanced
Some challenging tight fairways
Some long slightly open air it out shots
Good risk/reward
Cactus makes you place your shots accurately
Plays fairly quickly
Is set up to play a 18 hole loop or a 9 hole loop
Not crowded at all
Bathrooms
Good parking
A few decent views
Nice day at the lake
The lake doesn't come into play at all

Favorite Hole(s): #11, #5, #18
Cons: The lake doesn't come into play at all
Natural tees
No distance on the tee signs
Ouch cactus hurts
Wind off the lake can be a big factor
No trash cans/benches
Other Thoughts: This will challenge your placement as well as a little distance. Lots of fun, but, if you get in the cactus mounds it can get a little tricky. Ouch ouch ouch.
Bring water if you need any. There's not a place to get any here. All in all if I get a chance to play this course again, I will. I recommend anyone in the area give at least one round. Maybe two... Wear long pants and good shoes if you don't want to be crippled out in the cactus patch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: joe4ney
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Brand new course, with new baskets. Not too long, well taken care of. Some fairways are very tight and technical. Lots of natural OB areas - watch out for the cactus... The lake never comes into play.
Cons: Natural TEE areas, no distances posted.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course in the area to help get your shots straight and on the money...

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.