Snyder, TX 
Towle Park Share
Uploaded By: P-Katt Hole #18 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 337ft.   3 / 377ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Typical Park 18 Holer

2-4    4/1/2014   4/1/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 75  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is great to see a full 18 hole course in this relatively small town in West Texas.

This is a typical city park, with lots of mowed grass and mature trees, but no underbrush. A large pond is utilized, but only for a single hole.

With little elevation or vegetation to work with, the designers did a good job of laying out the course. Available trees were used to either shield the baskets or provide an obstacle off of the tee.

Good variety of hole lengths, from 207' to 565', with most between 250' and 400'.

Simple but adequate tee signs give hole #, distance, and in some cases the name of the hole sponsor. Since baskets can be seen from all but one tee there is no need for additional information.

Good parking and restrooms in park.

Hole 9 plays beside the large pond (on your left), and for RHBH players presents an interesting risk/reward. A birdie try will have your drive fading toward the pond, along with the prevailing south wind which also pushes toward the pond.

There are two baskets at Hole 18. The longer pin requires either a big hyer around the pavillion, or an attempt to drive through the open walls of the pavillion.
Cons: There are no standout holes, and a lot of similarity. Other than the different hole lengths and a few trees there is not much in the way of variety.

While I didn't have the same strong dislike for the teepads that some previous reviewers noted, they could be better. When I played the sandy material had set up to an almost concrete-like consistency. Unfortunately the surface was uneven and somewhat lumpy. I am mostly a "stand-and-deliver" player so I was able to use the pads without issue. But if you utilize a significant run-up you won't care for them.

There are a couple of poor holes. The worst example is Hole 17 which is a straight throw over flat ground to the basket 207' away. Nothing even remotely creative about that.

This is a multi-use park with a lot of different facilities. I imagine that many holes are essentially unplayable during busy times. I played on a weekday morning, and had a couple of young children digging in the sand at one teepad. So look out for non-players.
Other Thoughts: This is West Texas, and the surrounding area has a large number of power generating windmills. So the wind blows hard out here, and often. The wind represents the greatest challenge that you'll encounter on this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

"Meh"

1    7/23/2012   1/16/2013
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The biggest pro may be that you have a half decent course to play in the middle of nowhere, which can serve as a great pit stop between Abilene and Lubbock. The course has plenty of open holes for you to air things out, and even with the subpar markings and stretched layout you can still navigate the course fairly easily.

The park has bathrooms, and my guess is things don't get too crowded, so this is a great place to break in new drivers without fear of losing them.

BEST HOLE/S: #9
Cons: I appreciate a course where people try to make it good and work with what they have, but man does this place have its issues. First, the tee boxes are complete crap. It boggles the mind to think of the effort put in to place the rail ties and dump tons of sand when the hard packed ground next to it still serves as better footing.

Signage is poor, but you can see the tees from a mile away it's not a huge issue. Only a few places on the back nine may seem confusing since a lot of the pins and tees in close proximity to each other. The second issue is the transitions between holes. The front nine suffers from nine holes being squished in on a very thin piece of land, which means you play a few holes - cross a street in search of the next few.

Finally, the biggest issue is this place is boring and unimaginative. Every hole is straightforward and open with little thought into forcing different lines. You simply grip, rip, and repeat. The barren landscape doesn't help, especially on the back, and only the final few holes on the front nine offer anything different. I finished this course with a resounding "meh."

WORST HOLE/S: #17
Other Thoughts: I wanted to like this course, I really did - and was excited reading some of the reviews thinking it may have some good redeeming features. Unfortunately by the end, I was simply happy to have finished and moved on. Ultimately, if an open course where you get the same throw every time is your thing, and you are a fan of sand tees - then give this place a whirl and you may enjoy it. Echoing other reviews, I do believe this is probably the best course within 70 miles, but it's still a pit stop at best, and I'd rather save my time arm for places like Mackenzie Park in Lubbock instead.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trippin'

1    10/7/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: ClayParrot
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice multi-use public park. The city and designers did very well with what they had to work with. Brand new DisCatcher baskets make sure that if you're disc is there, it is dropping in. No graffiti on signs that mark length to hole. Mostly laid out logically, so not too difficult to follow course. Good mix of short and long-ish holes, with several holes having challenging basket placements - especially considering the sparse number of trees. While the park is mostly on flat land, there are a few raised areas (gazebo and softball park?) that the course takes advantage of making you think your shot through. I didn't think I'd like the sand/gravel tee pads, but they worked out pretty well and will help on wet/muddy days.
Cons: Now, while I'm still giving this course a 3 out of 5, there are numerous cons, several noted by Boom762 below. Back to the tee pads, while I was mostly pleased with them, they will require regular maintenance. Several already were developing holes in them near where you'd want to plant your foot at release. No signs showing path to next tee and no hole layout signs (this latter one is not a huge negative as the course is pretty wide open). Long walks between a few holes and the next tee. A bit too many "grip it and rip it" holes.
Other Thoughts: Located just a couple of miles off of US 84, a route one would take between Lubbock and Dallas, this is a great pit stop on a road trip. In fact, this is just what my friend and I did on our way back from the OU v Texas Tech game. This is an enjoyable course and if ever in the neighborhood again, I'll be stopping to play again. Hopefully, some more work will be done to make it a bit more technical.
Now, while I played very poorly on this day (first cold blast of the year, ~43F and windy), my rating was not influenced by more score.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Finally a course

1    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: Monhae
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Good use of the park.
Cons: Not a very complicated course. Things are in the works to make it a little more technical.
Other Thoughts: There is an ACE race scheduled and a bag tag group planned.

http://www.facebook.com/DiscGolfSnyderTexas

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Within 70 miles

5+    6/18/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Boom762
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Scenery "pond, gazebo, new park"
- 19 Holes "2 Optional 18's"
- Brand New "Equipment is all in good condition"
- In nicer part of town
- Police patrol often
Cons: - Sand + Wood Post Tee's
- Water fountains have yellow water
- No ultra long or super difficult holes
- Tee Signs only show feet to hole
Other Thoughts: My friends and I believe this is the best course for this area. It's fairly new so you don't have to wait for people to play through very often. Hole 9 is tricky as its positioned along the edge of the pond which has eaten a few of our discs already. There's word that a tournament is in the works which will hopefully open up the community a little more to the course. Best time to go here in dawn or dusk and make sure to bring your own drinks. Hole 7 is my favorite so far as it's a short 200 ft hole that requires a anhyzer right from the tee. I've been to 5 courses in the area and this one takes the cake so far. I rated it a 4 out of 5 because I think better tee signs "map, par scores, etc." are needed and more trees and trick shots wouldn't hurt.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.